Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage pinata Cook Kindle Music Deals Store Cycling Tools minions
and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 25.00
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Sonnets and a Lover's... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Sonnets and a Lover's Complaint Hardcover – Sep 28 2010


See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Sep 28 2010
CDN$ 25.00
CDN$ 14.89 CDN$ 16.31

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student


Frequently Bought Together

The Sonnets and a Lover's Complaint + Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass + Wuthering Heights
Price For All Three: CDN$ 63.27

Buy the selected items together



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Classics; Reprint edition (Sept. 28 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141192577
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141192574
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.5 x 21 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 399 g
  • Average Customer Review: 2.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #144,070 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From the Publisher

Founded in 1906 by J.M. Dent, the Everyman Library has always tried to make the best books ever written available to the greatest number of people at the lowest possible price. Unique editorial features that help Everyman Paperback Classics stand out from the crowd include: a leading scholar or literary critic's introduction to the text, a biography of the author, a chronology of her or his life and times, a historical selection of criticism, and a concise plot summary. All books published since 1993 have also been completely restyled: all type has been reset, to offer a clarity and ease of reading unique among editions of the classics; a vibrant, full-color cover design now complements these great texts with beautiful contemporary works of art. But the best feature must be Everyman's uniquely low price. Each Everyman title offers these extensive materials at a price that competes with the most inexpensive editions on the market-but Everyman Paperbacks have durable binding, quality paper, and the highest editorial and scholarly standards. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

William Shakespeare was an English poet and playwright of the 16th and 17 centuries, now widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the word's pre-eminent dramatist.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By richardpinneau.com on May 27 2003
Format: Paperback
I sought out this volume with high expectations: Shakespeare. Edited by the eminent scholar Stanley Wells. Published by Oxford University Press. Published 2003. Once again we understand why Hamlet urged, "believe none of us."
This is the same material released by Oxford with a copyright of 1985, 1986, and 1989. Therefore, the present review applies to all the following ISBNs: 0192804464, 0192820265, 0198129467. The issues differ only in cover. All have pages of newsprint quality paper, meaning that if you are really studying the poems and highlighting or annotating the works, then you'll have ink blurs from one page through to the next.
And with this edition you will NEED to make annotation - there is none provided. Even the inexpensive editions from Signet, Penguin, and Folger provide aids to understanding archaic words and obscure allusions and wordplay (which offers so much delight to the sonnets and reveals the intellectual power of their author).
There is evidence that Professor Wells *has* left his well-respected mark on editing the poems, since an appendix documents which substantive changes he made to the original 1609 printing. Unfortunately, the novice reader is not offered any of the professor's decades of scholarship regarding the ART and SIGNIFICANCE of these most personal of Shakespeare's writings (nor any of the debatable points that arise when one proclaims one knows better than the 1609 Quarto what the Bard "really meant".
RECOMMENDATIONS: For similar money, readers will reap much finer appreciation of Shakespeare from other volumes of Shakespeare's Sonnets (& other nondramatic poems):
William Burto's edition of 2002 (also from Oxford): 019281933X
G. B.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
I sought out this volume with high expectations: Shakespeare. Edited by the eminent scholar Stanley Wells. Published by Oxford University Press. Published 2003. Once again we understand why Hamlet urged, "believe none of us."
This is the same material released by Oxford with a copyright of 1985, 1986, and 1989. Therefore, the present review applies to all the following ISBNs: 0192804464, 0192820265, 0198129467. The issues differ only in cover. All have pages of newsprint quality paper, meaning that if you are really studying the poems and highlighting or annotating the works, then you'll have ink blurs from one page through to the next.
And with this edition you will NEED to make annotation - there is none provided. Even the inexpensive editions from Signet, Penguin, and Folger provide aids to understanding archaic words and obscure allusions and wordplay (which offers so much delight to the sonnets and reveals the intellectual power of their author).
There is evidence that Professor Wells *has* left his well-respected mark on editing the poems, since an appendix documents which substantive changes he made to the original 1609 printing. Unfortunately, the novice reader is not offered any of the professor's decades of scholarship regarding the ART and SIGNIFICANCE of these most personal of Shakespeare's writings (nor any of the debatable points that arise when one proclaims one knows better than the 1609 Quarto what the Bard "really meant".
RECOMMENDATIONS: For similar money, readers will reap much finer appreciation of Shakespeare from other volumes of Shakespeare's Sonnets (& other nondramatic poems):
William Burto's edition of 2002 (also from Oxford): 019281933X
G. B.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
I sought out this volume with high expectations: Shakespeare. Edited by the eminent scholar Stanley Wells. Published by Oxford University Press. Published 2003. Once again we understand why Hamlet urged, "believe none of us."
This is the same material released by Oxford with a copyright of 1985, 1986, and 1989. Therefore, the present review applies to all the following ISBNs: 0192804464, 0192820265, 0198129467. The issues differ only in cover. All have pages of newsprint quality paper, meaning that if you are really studying the poems and highlighting or annotating the works, then you'll have ink blurs from one page through to the next.
And with this edition you will NEED to make annotation - there is none provided. Even the inexpensive editions from Signet, Penguin, and Folger provide aids to understanding archaic words and obscure allusions and wordplay (which offers so much delight to the sonnets and reveals the intellectual power of their author).
There is evidence that Professor Wells *has* left his well-respected mark on editing the poems, since an appendix documents which substantive changes he made to the original 1609 printing. Unfortunately, the novice reader is not offered any of the professor's decades of scholarship regarding the ART and SIGNIFICANCE of these most personal of Shakespeare's writings (nor any of the debatable points that arise when one proclaims one knows better than the 1609 Quarto what the Bard "really meant".
RECOMMENDATIONS: For similar money, readers will reap much finer appreciation of Shakespeare from other volumes of Shakespeare's Sonnets (& other nondramatic poems):
William Burto's edition of 2002 (also from Oxford): 019281933X
G. B.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 73 reviews
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
Perfect - if you want only the bare bones April 15 2003
By Bill R. Moore - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
The Dover Thrift Edition of the Complete Sonnets is exactly that: the complete sonnets, and nothing more. Though often scorned by literary snobs, the entire Dover series does fulfill one very useful function: it provides cheap, easy-to-read, and widely-available versions of literary classics. What you get, in this case, are all of Shakespeare's sonnets (undisputably some of the greatest poems ever written and a true treasure of English literature; obviously, a review of any edition of these poems will inevitably focus not upon the work itself, which is beyond repute, but, rather, on the individual edition as presented) -- and nothing else. Much more expansive (and expensive) versions are available, featuring an introduction to the sonnets with background information, notes and annotations, a handy list of definitions for archaic and obscure Elizabethian words -- and, more than likely, at least one pretentious individual interpretation of the work. Obviously, if one is looking to study Shakespeare, really go in-depth into the sonnets for scholarly or academic purposes, then one should look into one of the editions just described. If you just want a copy of the sonnets without desiring to spend too much money, you don't need or don't want all of those extras, or you simply want to impress incredulous people by owning a set of Shakespeare's sonnets, however, then you could do worse than picking up this inexpensive little book.
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
Good, portable edition Feb. 25 2000
By Mary Jane Chaffee - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
A colleague advised that I assign my college students this edition, and I am glad she did. Rather than reading the few anthologized works together with some handouts, students now own the entire set. For anyone not familiar with Shakespeare's 154 sonnets, this gives an affordable and portable version. For anyone familiar with the works, this book offers them in a beautifully light, compressed format that itself enhances rereading and re-interpretation. The book begins with a helpful one-page background on the sonnet form and on Shakespeare's collection, and ends with an also-helpful alphabetical list of first lines. The two-page glossary of terms at the end may be too little, too late, but the drawbacks of Dover's edition--its lack of notes and its use of roman numerals to number the poems--pale compared with the book's availability. As an enthusiast myself--someone who studied at the Shakespeare Institute, England, writing a 310-page thesis on the Bard--I feel grateful to be able to help others to such an inexpensive and pleasant way to own and explore Shakespeare's entire collection of sonnets. Because I could skim the poems in sequence so quickly and easily with this edition, the interrelationships among Sonnets 113, 114, 115, and the famous 116, "Let me not to the marriage of true minds," for example, struck me in a new way as I reread them in this little book. A highly- recommended edition.
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
Left me lost - till I got a better edition April 27 2003
By Steve in Chicago - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
My English major friends kept raving about the sonnets, so I finally decided to spend a buck to get this least expensive edition. It was kind of interesting. I could tell that Shakespeare was really intense about his issues - but I was lost as to why everybody was so crazy about them. I also did not like having paper that was so thin that my highlighting and notes went right through to ruin the other side of the page :(
Finally I spent another buck to get an (almost as inexpensive) edition (used) - the Signet edition edited by Burto. That helped a lot - with definitions of terms and hints about lots of secret relationships possibly there for those who would dig further. At last I'm starting to figure out why this guy is considered so awesome. To really get an appreciation of Shake's heart and mind, beginners like me really need more than just the poems.
Now I'm borrowing an English major's copy of Dr. Vendler's edition (Art of Shakespeare's Sonnets). It's pretty heady, so I'm just trying to read her introduction. Whew! I haven't tested out all her theories, but is so much incredible care and complexity going on behind the scenes in these poems - it's no wonder people are still boggled after 400 years.
Truly amazing - but unless you're an English major I wouldn't recommend bothering with this doubtful dollar deed. Getting a copy of the Signet or Folger Library editions will make beginners much happier.
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Premium edition of the Sonnets Jan. 9 2007
By Savvy Shopper - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a nice edition, worthy of gift-giving. There is only one Sonnet per page, so you can choose one and bookmark it for a friend. The paper is quality and the binding and overall look is very good.
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Perfect! April 26 2003
By Jimmy Dao - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
The perfect pocket edition of Mr. Shakespeare's sonnets!
Of course, if you are wondering what they mean, and all that, you will have to get yourself familiar with Rowse's edition of the sonnets: A. L. Rowse: Shakespeare's Sonnets.
But once you know who the principal characters are -- Henry Wriothesley, the young Earl of Southampton, Christopher Marlowe, and Emilia Lanier -- plus young Will Shakespeare himself -- then the Dover will do fine for you and yours.
After all, this is exactly the book you could have bought on its first day of publication, four centuries ago!! :-)
ttfn
jimmy


Feedback