Specials (The Uglies) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Specials (The Uglies) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Specials [Paperback]

Scott Westerfeld , Rodrigo Corral
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $16.60  
Paperback CDN $9.87  
Paperback, Sept. 11 2007 --  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Sept. 11 2007 Uglies Trilogy
"Special Circumstances": The words have sent chills down Tally's spine since her days as a repellent, rebellious ugly. Back then Specials were a sinister rumor -- frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, breathtakingly fast. Ordinary pretties might live their whole lives without meeting a Special. But Tally's never been ordinary.
 
And now, in the third book in the series, Tally's been turned into a Special: a superamped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid.

The strength, the speed, and the clarity and focus of her thinking feel better than anything Tally can remember. Most of the time. One tiny corner of her heart still remembers something more.

Still, it's easy to tune that out -- until Tally's offered a chance to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke permanently. It all comes down to one last choice: listen to that tiny, faint heartbeat, or carry out the mission she's programmed to complete. Either way, Tally's world will never be the same.
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From School Library Journal

Grade 8 Up–This final installment in the series is a warning of the dangers of overconsumption and conformity. Set some time in the future, after a human-made bacteria destroyed the modern world, the trilogy tells of new cities established and tightly controlled through brainwashing and a series of operations leading to a compliant society. Tally Youngblood, the 16-year-old protagonist, learns in the first two books that free will and truth are more important than a false sense of security. In Specials, she has become an elite fighting machine, fully enhanced with nanotechnology and super-fast reflexes, and made to work as a Special Circumstances agent for the nameless city that she fled. As in the first two books, much of the story takes place with characters whizzing through the air on hoverboards, but Tally and her friends are in for some harsh realities here. Readers who enjoyed Uglies and Pretties (both S & S, 2005) will not want to miss Specials, but those who have not read those books will not understand much of what is happening. Westerfeld's themes include vanity, environmental conservation, Utopian idealism, fascism, violence, and love. In this trilogy, the author calls for a revolution in our hearts and minds–think The Matrix.–Corinda J. Humphrey, Los Angeles Public Library
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Scott Westerfeld’s first book in the Leviathan trilogy was the winner of the 2010 Locus Award for Best Young Adult Fiction. His other novels include the New York Times bestselling Uglies series, The Last Days, Peeps, So Yesterday, and the Midnighters trilogy. Scott’s newest book, Uglies: Shay’s Story, is a graphic novel told from Tally’s friend Shay’s perspective. Scott was born in Texas, and alternates summers between New York and Sydney, Australia. Visit him on the Web at scottwesterfeld.com or follow him on Twitter at @ScottWesterfeld.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't expecting that... June 14 2006
By SuzieQ
Format:Hardcover
First I would like to say that this book is the reason that I only got three and a half hours of sleep last night.

Much like its predecessors, specials is a book that you never want to let go until you have read it cover to cover. I highly recommend that you read the other two of this trilogy before taking on Specials (Uglies and Prittes). Simply because things will make more sense and you will understand some of the "lingo" used in this book ie. bubblehead, Icy, Bubbly ect.

The protagonist: Tally Youngblood goes through yet another surgery, this time making her special. Her life with fellow cutters (her new superhuman clique) is great; they protect the city from outside enemies. Their current assignment is to destroy the new smoke. Tally still takes the blame for her most recent boyfriend's deformities and feels that she has to fix them before they can be together again. The New Smoke is hiding more surprises than you would imagine. These people of the future who claim that they have grown past the ways of the Rusties still seem to have the basic human nature to attack and conquer one another. Will Tally's world make the same mistakes that eventually destroyed the Rusties? You will have to read to find out.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfying Conclusion Jan. 30 2008
Format:Paperback
The best and last book of the Uglies trilogy, concluding the story of Tally Youngblood. If you haven't read the first two books in this series "Uglies" and "Pretties" yet then definitely pick them up. You will need to know what happens in them in order to fully appreciate and even understand what happens here.

This is a trilogy that greatly parallels as a commentary on our society of the importance of looks and social standing, and on many things even more than that. All of the books will surprise and shock you at how well they hit home. It's definitely worth the time to read.

Don't be put off just because these are YA books. The setting for all the books may be in a sci-fi futuristic city, but it's a plausible one, with well developed characters and interesting story to tell. The unusual slang in the start may take a bit to get used to, but you'll be quickly hooked once the story starts to move and the adventures of Tally Youngblood begin to unfold.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Good unanticipated ending. June 10 2006
By SuzieQ
Format:Paperback
First I would like to say that this book is the reason that I only got three and a half hours of sleep last night.

Much like its predecessors, specials is a book that you never want to let go until you have read it cover to cover. I highly recommend that you read the other two of this trilogy before taking on Specials (Uglies and Prittes). Simply because things will make more sense and you will understand some of the "lingo" used in this book ie. bubblehead, Icy, Bubbly ect.

The protagonist: Tally Youngblood goes through yet another surgery, this time making her special. Her life with fellow cutters (her new superhuman clique) is great; they protect the city from outside enemies. Their current assignment is to destroy the new smoke. Tally still takes the blame for her most recent boyfriend's deformities and feels that she has to fix them before they can be together again. The New Smoke is hiding more surprises than you would imagine. These people of the future who claim that they have grown past the ways of the Rusties still seem to have the basic human nature to attack and conquer one another. Will Tally's world make the same mistakes that eventually destroyed the Rusties? You will have to read to find out.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback