CDN$ 40.71 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days. Sold by langton_distribution

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 47.49
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalm Import

Price: CDN$ 40.71
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Ships from and sold by langton_distribution.
3 new from CDN$ 40.71 3 used from CDN$ 40.48

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 23 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: British Broadcasting Corp.
  • ASIN: B000063COO
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The Mastersingers Of Nuremberg: Prelude To Act I
2. Idylle De Siegfried
3. Iberia: I. Par Les Rues Et Par Les Chemins
4. Iberia: II. Les Parfums De La Nuit
5. Iberia: III. Le Matin D'un Jour De Fete
6. Symphony Of Psalms: I. Exaudi Orationem Meam, Domine
7. Symphony Of Psalms: II. Expectans Expectavi Dominum
8. Symphony Of Psalms: III. Alleluja, Laudate Dominum
9. The Three-Cornered Hat: Dance Of The Neighbours
10. The Three-Cornered Hat: Dance Of The Miller

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9c81c8ac) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b90f954) out of 5 stars A grab bag of mono recordings, the best coming at the end Sept. 4 2011
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Monteux was an avowed literalist. "I have no interpretation," he is qooted as saying in the program notes. "I play the music." This stance could have led him to become Mr. Monotony like Erich Leinsdorf. Literalism has more than one face, however, and where Leinsdorf, Rodzinski, and their present-day heirs, like Mackerras and Charles Dutoit, rule over an interpretation-free zone, this seems like dullness and lack of imagination, Monteux was a very feeling conductor, just not a flashy one. He put himself second to the music, but that didn't stop him from infusing his performances with a kind of relaxed mastery. You see the smile behind that nineteenth-century walrus mustache.

BBC Legends has issued a series of Monteux concerts from his last phase, meaning his seventies and eighties. This collection is a grab bag that uses three different orchestras and ranges from Nov. 1960 to May, 1963. Since we encounter four different venues, there's no consistency to the sound except that it's all mono. The opening number, the Prelude to Act I of Die Meistersinger, happens to be in distant, mushy sound; the reading is straightforward and well handled. The second item, Siegfried Idyll played in its orchestral version, comes in better sound. But the pacing is brisk to the point of impatience, a characteristic I've observed in the aging Monteux. Strokowski was the same way more often than not, as if both wanted to prove that the passing years hadn't diminished their energies. Whatever else one might say, this no-nonsense Siegfried Idyll is energetic, and well played, too, by the Royal Phil. At 16 min., Monteux's account is 8 min. faster than Celibidache on EMI but not that far off the average, which is just over 17 min.

Monteux wanted to be taken seriously conducting German romantic music from Beethoven onward, but one notices a jump in vitality and authority when we get to the next number, "Iberia" from Debussy's Images. This is by far the most popular section of the whole work. Recording in Royal Festival Hall in 1961, the BBC Sym. plays with alertness and enthusiasm; Monteux is in best form, too, and the recorded sound, although mono, is very clear and details, the best so far. From the same occasion comes Stravinsky's Symphony of Psalms, another success. All of Monteux's postwar Stravinsky readings are more flowing, relaxed, and legato than what the composer offers on disc. This is no exception, and I particularly like the strong, emotional singing of the BBC chorus, even if Stravinsky might have greeted it with a witty barb.

French conductors are expected to have an affinity with Russian music, going back to the turn of the century, and Spain is generally included. Stravinsky, Debussy, and Falla all wrote for Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, after all, where the younger Monteux was frequently the pit conductor. It's no surprise, then, that we end with two dances from Falla's Three-Cornered Hat, played beautifully by the London Sym. in 1961; we also get the best sound, actual studio quality done in Kingsway Hall. The reading is a bit slower and more rounded than the norm, perhaps, but full of force and punctuations of passion.

At 72 min., this is a fairly generous Cd, with much to enjoy even if the Wagner items fall a bit below the rest. As an introduction to a beloved conductor who managed to be in the right place when musical history was made - and more than once - it's very satisfying.