Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden
String Quartets Nos. 1 & ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

String Quartets Nos. 1 & 2

Price: CDN$ 15.40 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 7.85 3 used from CDN$ 18.96

Product Details

  • Performer: Aviv Quartet
  • Composer: Schulhoff Erwin
  • Audio CD (April 27 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0037TTQBA
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #69,596 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Largely forgotten in the decades after his death, the wide-ranging output of the Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff has come to much greater prominence over the last quarter-century. The music featured here dates from the mid-1920s, a productive period in

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Newer music but not bad at all Sept. 12 2010
By Warren Harris - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The String Quartet No. 1 is somewhat evocative of both Bartok and Hindemith and is by turns hectic, reserved, intense, spirited, and filled with sections of harried interplay between the members of the quartet. String Quartet No. 2 is also a combination of moods and feelings - again spirited and intense and frenetic in places, but somewhat darker in places too. As for the five pieces, Piece No. 1 (Alla Valse Viennese) comes across as a bit of an unsettling waltz, the melody suggesting something of an unbalanced mental state. Piece No. 2 (Alla Serenata) is rather a slightly atonal serenade, not soothing but strangely enough not unpleasant either. Piece No. 3 (Alla Czeca) is very energetic in the same way that some of Bartok's string quartets are in sections, but there is definite lyricism present here. Piece No. 4 (Alla Tango Milonga) definitely has tango elements and pleasant interplay between the cello and first and second violins. Piece No. 5 (Alla Tarantella) is somewhat of a whirlwind of busyness and repetition.

Normally I shy away from newer classical music, but I was exposed to this CD and found it not unpleasant. This is not to say that I'll be reaching for it as frequently as I reach for my recordings of Beethoven String Quartets, but when I'm in the mood for something like the Bartok String Quartets and am not quite in the mood for Bartok, this recording will certainly fit the bill. An interesting find that will certainly take many listens to really understand and internalize.
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Schulhoff too often ignored Nov. 15 2011
By Jerry Landis - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Schulhoff is not unlike Bartok, but shows more internal inventiveness and texture, and runs deeper, in the way Shostakovich runs deep.

Look for similar items by category