Buy used:
CDN$ 11.99
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
3 used from CDN$ 11.99

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 18 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Regain
  • ASIN: B0001M6GF0
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #165,355 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Stand Ablaze
2. Everdying
3. Subterranean
4. Timeless
5. Biosphere
6. Dead Eternity
7. The Inborn Lifeless
8. Eye Of the Beholder
9. Murders In the Rue Morgue

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I finally have all In Flames albums and this one is the one that absolutely blew me away. From the second I heard it the first time it has not come out of my cd player. Probably one of the best all time albums ever made. The only song on the album I don't care for is the Iron Maiden cover. If you like melodic deathmetal, this album should absolutely be in your collection.
0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa2c7a858) out of 5 stars 8 reviews
HASH(0xa2ca93d8) out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - Great EP, not so great reissue Feb. 17 2006
By Justin G. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
1995's Subterranean was the second release by Swedish melodic death metal legends In Flames. The band had just released their debut album (1994's Lunar Strain (Dig)) and was still going through lineup changes. They didn't even have a full-time vocalist. They used Dawn frontman Henke Forss for this EP. You can hear flashes of the future In Flames sound, especially on songs like "Biosphere" and the title track, but for the most part Subterranean still closely resembles the thrashier, darker At the Gates sound.

Subterranean isn't as essential as In Flames' later albums, but it is still well worth hearing if you're a fan of the band or melodic death metal in general. Those who think In Flames got too accessible with The Jester Race and Whoracle: Reloaded will no doubt prefer the Lunar Strain/Subterranean sound.

Edition Notes: Candlelight reissued Subterranean (and, separately, Lunar Strain) in 2005. The album has been digitally remastered (a real plus) and there are four bonus tracks. The bonus tracks are a pair of later In Flames songs sung by Jocke Gothborg (Dimension Zero) plus covers of Metallica's "Eye of the Beholder" and Iron Maiden's "Murders in the Rue Morgue." The Gothborg tracks are interesting enough, though not really necessary. The Metallica cover is pretty terrible, but the Iron Maiden cover absolutely kills. The liner notes are the most disappointing element of this reissue. There are no lyrics, nothing from the band on what was going on at the time, not even any songwriting credits.

Edition Notes 2: Subterranean was reissued yet again in 2009, this time by Regain. It's the same reissue as Candlelight's, only now it comes in a digipack.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2cab9a8) out of 5 stars Swedish melodic death metal in its early creative stage. May 21 2006
By Ben Stubbs - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The Swedes clearly figured out what worked well on their first album and decided to work with their strengths. Gone are all the little transitional instrumentation (violin, cello, female vocals) and overkill of experimentation. What we're left with is melodic death metal, filled with hooks and leads along with a more fine tuned aggression. They still run with acoustic interludes and an almost folk influence on occasions, yet the transitions are far better than on their debut album.

The band hadn't yet settled on a line-up, with vocalist Anders Friden yet to join the fray. In fact, only Jesper Stromblad is still with the band today (2006) and he didn't play on the debut. So it's not completely surprising that Subterranean period In Flames is nothing like the albums released since the year 2000. Vocalist Henrik is great (also in Dawn) and Daniel's drumming is awesome, but it's once again the dual guitars of Jesper and Glenn that make this EP so good. Check out "Stand Ablaze" or "Subterranean" for exhibitions of brilliant melodic musicianship.

In Flames are reaching their peak with Subterranean, both as musicians and as songwriters. With only 5 tracks and a running time of just over 20 minutes, it was an excellent teaser for the bands next couple of full length albums that would be the pinnacle of their career. Regain's re-mastered edition of this album released in 2004 has a far superior sound and is well worth purchasing, even for the fans that own the Wrong Again Records CD from the mid nineties, particularly for the bonus tracks and covers that come included.

Overall, a step up in class for In Flames and a fine example of the Gothenburg sound that has been completely bombarded with clones for years since its release.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By J. Husband - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is one of In Flames best albums right up there with The Jester Race and Whoracle. Its a different singer but its still great. If you like In Flames and haven't listened to Subterranean you need to check it out.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2cabf60) out of 5 stars Early Melodic Death Jan. 18 2013
By Ronald R. Simpson - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This cd is an Excellent example of early melodic death metal. They should have stuck to this death metal formula.
HASH(0xa2cabc78) out of 5 stars Early in flame Dec 25 2013
By blackmarkedsign - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I like their early albums and this one is worth every penny
I saw them live last Feb 2013, and they've simplified their sound a lot