Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
Symphonie Romantique: has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonie Romantique:

6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 17.19 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
26 new from CDN$ 8.00 6 used from CDN$ 7.98

Product Details

  • Composer: Gottschalk
  • Audio CD (July 24 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nam
  • ASIN: B00004D3IV
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #136,622 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Celebre Tarantelle, Op. 67, No.5
2. Souvenir de Porto Rico, Marche des Gibaros
3. The Dying Poet, Meditation
4. Tournament Galop
5. O! ma charmante
6. Le Bananier, Chanson Negre
7. Manchega, Etude de Concert
8. Celebre Tarantelle, Op. 67, No.4
9. Berceuse (Cradle Song)
10. Symphonie romantique, 'A Night In The Tropics': I Noche en los Tropicos
11. Symphonie romantique, 'A Night In The Tropics': II Festa Criolla

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Kevin S. Currie on April 29 2002
Format: Audio CD
Every once in a while, I like to buy a CD of a composer I'm not familiar with (and with NAXOS's low prices, why not?). When I got home and listened to this one, once wasn't enough. I listened twice through. This CD is real fun!!
In his day, Gottschalk was called "the Chopin of Creoles." Most of his writing was for the piano and this CD is generally short piano pieces arranged for orchestra. The music mixes strong folk melodies and New Orleans Creole inspired syncopation with the European Classical tradition- the result being a distinctly american divertimenti.
The music as a whole is very motif oriented with a touch of variation and some interesting arrangement twists. While and orchestral CD, the piano gets a lot of attention, giving us some nice interplay between the two.
The only complaint I have is that the CD was recorded at a music festival where professional musicians are playing side by side with selected 'pre-professionals.' I'm not a snob and normally it wouldn't bother me, but Gottschalk's unusual syncopation tends to be unprofessionally slopppy at times. Fortunately, any mistakes are in the supporting insturments. No star shall be subtracted because NAXOS has done such a great job giving us a quality CD at a good price.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By F. Behrens on Feb. 15 2000
Format: Audio CD
If all of the 11 cuts on the Naxos release of <Louis Moreau Gottschalk: A Night in the Tropics> (8.559036) are listed as "arr." or "orch." by thus and so, it is because Gottschalk wrote primarily for the piano. But as it is with Gershwin and Kern, the music sounds good in any arrangement; and I found this CD to be very delightful listening indeed.
The Hot Springs Music Festival under Richard Rosenberg gives us an hour of such short selections as "Celebre Tarantelle," "Tournament Galop," "Berceuse," and the title piece "Noche en los Tropicos." There is endless fascination in hearing how this composer (who died in 1869) was "the first to capture the syncopated music of South Louisiana and the Caribbean in enduring works that anticipate ragtime and jazz by half a century" [liner notes].
I received a thank you phone call from a Florida reader who was sent by one of my reviews to a CD of Gottschalk's music in the original piano versions and who found her first exposure to this composer a revelation. Perhaps this Naxos album will have a similar effect on many of you.
Note: the title on the CD album is not the same as that listed on this website. I find that recording companies have stopped giving definite names to their sets and you will find the titles on the spines and on the covers different in too many cases. Why?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mike Shakinovsky on May 1 2000
Format: Audio CD
The orchestral arrangements of Louis Moreau Gottschalk's piano works are long overdue. Like Moritz Moszkowski, Gottschalk's music is seldom heard. This recording should certainly help provide a higher profile to this romantic and wonderful composer.
The two versions of the Celebre Tarantelle are refreshingly lyrical to the ear and the melancholic "O! ma charmante" provides soleful contrast with its beautiful melody and orchestration.
The arrangements for orchestra are light and very pleasing. Once again, Bravo to NAXOS for bringing wonderful music to the fore at affordable prices.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse