Symphonies 33 36 & 39 - M... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonies 33 36 & 39 - Musik Series

Price: CDN$ 18.83 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
4 new from CDN$ 18.83

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 13 2004)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • ASIN: B0002HACNG
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #332,096 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa2ee64e0) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
By David Saemann - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I heard Eugen Jochum conduct the Boston Symphony at Tanglewood in 1974 in Mozart's "Jupiter," a performance also enshrined on a DG LP. He was a simply wonderful Mozartian. The performances on this CD are absolutely marvelous. I believe he recorded No. 36 in stereo in Amsterdam for Philips, but the mono sound on this CD is so vivid that there really is no need to search out the later recording. Jochum was the founder of the Bavarian Radio Symphony, and what one hears here is an orchestra with a beautiful sense of ensemble playing, so crucial for Mozart. There is a glow over the performances, especially in the lovely wind playing--just the thing for No. 39. I really can't think of better recordings than these. Bruno Walter seems lumpy by comparison, and George Szell's No.39 is somewhat antiseptic sounding, too. We can only hope that more Mozart recordings by this team will surface.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa370dd8c) out of 5 stars Jochum the Great Feb. 22 2012
By Bernard Michael O'Hanlon - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The quest for immortality has led to extravagance over time - but the latter has the final say. Perhaps Jochum was hoping that his Bruckner cycles would serve as a pyramid and keep his memory evergreen. In the eyes of many - though not all by any means - the ruined Pyramid of Djedefre comes to mind (particularly in reference to the EMI set): what is the point of faux-Furtwangler?. Elsewhere, his Haydn and Beethoven are thoroughly B (to B+) grade and little else comes to mind.

But these recordings could be his monument at Giza. To my ears, it is manifestly Jochum's best disc. Joy is regnant. The power and articulation of the strings throughout are a marvel but not to the point where the woodwind is submerged in soup. The rhythmic bounce is infectious; tempi are astute and ruinous gear-changes are absent. There is no point rhapsodising on about this disc at any length: it's gun stuff.

Please note, contrary to the cover, this disc also includes the great E Flat Symphony, K 543. Jochum observes the exposition repeat in the first movement and thankfully so. With its miraculous interplay of clarinets, the slow moment would daunt Merlin. As we all know, the Trio is one of the wonders of the world: this performance is worthy of the conception. It is vividly alive.

The recordings date from the Fifties. Wizardry has transformed them into near-stereo.

Hail Pharaoh!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa370de04) out of 5 stars Magnificent Mozart March 13 2005
By Michael Brad Richman - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I am loving DG's new "Musik...Sprache der Welt" series! Sure a few of the titles feature selections that have already been or continue to be available on other CDs (see my reviews of the Schubert Markevitch and Schumann Furtwangler titles), but the vast majority of these performances have been languishing in the vaults for far too long. Of course, the fact that these discs sell at mid-price when comparable classic historical performances from the EMI and Decca archives sell on labels like Testament for full-price, makes this series all the more worthwhile.

Conductor Eugen Jochum is known to most as one of the great interpreters of Bruckner, but he also recorded wonderful accounts of the Symphonies of Beethoven, Haydn (see my reviews) and Mozart among others. This CD features him leading the Bavarian RSO in performances of Mozart's Symphonies Nos. 33, 36 & 39 from 1954-55. These mono accounts were the DG standard until Bohm's stereo recordings replaced them, and they are still wonderful to hear today fifty years later. I would like to commend DG/Universal on producing another fine classical music series in "Musik...Sprache der Welt." Thanks for reminding us that there are still some great recordings that need to be reissued, and that we shouldn't have to pay a small fortune to hear them.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa370f1b0) out of 5 stars three big winners June 17 2012
By Jon Miller ('Kirk') - Published on
Format: Audio CD
but especially the hitherto difficult to obtain #39. I wore out two or three US Decca lps of EJ's BRSO #s 39 and 40- they became uncoupled until a short lived Japanese CD (39, 40, EK Nachtmusik). Like 36 and 33 here, EJ uses a reduced orchestra whiich produces diaphonous textures and consistent clarity ( with especially great winds in the second movement. #36 is also very fine, and Jochum does take the first movement as quickly as the score directs. I would like it about 30 seconds slower. The slighter #33 encounters no such problems- it was also a favorite of Szell and both Kleibers. EJ's BRSO 40 is still scarce, alas

Peers #39: Szell, Kubelik/BRSO, Jochum/Bamberg SO, Klemperer/Testament and EMI, Sawallisch/Czech PO
#36: Jochum/RCO, Tate/ECO, Kubelik/BRSO, Dohnanyi/Cleveland
#33 Szell, Carlos Kleiber, Tate, Krips/RCO, Bohm/BPO