Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide
CDN$ 36.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Vanderbilt CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: VERY GOOD Condition CD. Includes all Artwork & Packaging. Ships from New York. Please allow 5-15 business days. Friendly Customer Service.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony in E Flat Op 33 / Symphony 4 B Flat Op 20 Import

Price: CDN$ 36.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
2 used from CDN$ 31.94

Deal of the Day: The Beatles in Mono (14LP 180g Vinyl Box Set)
While supplies last, get "The Beatles in Mono" (14LP 180g Vinyl Box Set) for $229.99 today only, as Amazon's Deal of the Day. This offer is valid today only, November 24, 2015, while supplies last. Offer only applies to products shipped from and sold by See more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 17 1998)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Chandos
  • ASIN: B000005Z6Q
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. Andante - Allegro
2. II. Menuetto - Trio: Allegro assai
3. III. Andante
4. IV Rondo: Allegro
5. I Andatino
6. II Andante con moto
7. III Scherzo: Allegro ma non troppo e tranquillamente
8. Finale: Allegro molto vivace

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Rewarding music in fine performances and slightly too reverberant sound Oct. 13 2012
By G.D. - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Johannes Frederik Frøhlich (1806-1860) was a respected figure on the Danish musical scene in his time, but seems to have been subsequently almost completely forgotten until Chandos decided to record his Symphony in E flat. The symphony was apparently never published in his lifetime but appears to date from 1830. Calling it a "masterpiece" may be to exaggerate, but it is a surprisingly engaging work in an early romantic style (Schubert, Weber, Spohr, Mendelssohn) with some truly memorable themes. It is a substantial work, but the argument is taut and coherent and nothing ever threatens to outstay its welcome. It is also excellently scored.

Niels Wilhelm Gade's music is of course much better known. Indeed, the Danish National RSO and Christopher Hogwood went on to record a complete cycle of his symphonies for Chandos. The fourth symphony is a rewarding work (though not, I think, among Gade's greatest contributions to the genre) with plenty of memorable themes and charming music. The second movement Andante may be the highlight of the work, but the whole work is eminently worth getting to know.

The performances are spirited, lively and colorful, full of energy, sparkle, charm, joie de vivre and color. I am not so happy about the sound - it is big, warm, spacious and with a big dynamic range, but in the end a little too reverberant, losing some of the details of the music. Still, this is a very rewarding release and an easy recommendation to those with a penchant for early romantic music - or good music in general.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Neglected masterpieces June 27 2014
By Allen Cookson - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
In these two wonderful symphonies, Hogwood draws sensitive and passionate music from the orchestra. The engineers allow us to hear the detailed finish attack, phrasing, etc., to an unexcelled degree.