Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Symphony No. 8/ 2 Hymn-Tune Pr

Bryden; London So; Thomson , Vaughan Williams Ralph Audio CD

Price: CDN$ 21.36 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Wednesday, September 24? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Product Details

1. Symphony No. 8 In D Minor: I - Fantasia (Variazioni senza Tema) - Moderato
2. Symphony No. 8 In D Minor: II - Scherzo alla Marcia (per stromenti a fiato) - Allegro alla marcia
3. Symphony No. 8 In D Minor: III - Cavatina (per stromenti ad arco) - Lento espressivo
4. Symphony No. 8 In D Minor: IV - Toccata - Moderato Maestoso
5. Two Hymn-Tune Preludes: I - Eventide (Monk) - Lento sostenuto
6. Two Hymn-Tune Preludes: II - Dominus Regit Me (Dykes) - Andante con moto
7. Fantasia on 'Greensleeves'
8. Partita For Double String Orchestra: I - Prelude - Andante tranquillo
9. Partita For Double String Orchestra: II - Scherzo Ostinato - Presto
10. Partita For Double String Orchestra: III - Intermezzo (Homage To Henry Hall) - Andante con moto
11. Partita For Double String Orchestra: IV - Fantasia - Allegro

Product Description

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlivening Nov. 30 2008
By David Saemann - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
This is the slowest version of the Eighth Symphony I ever have heard. It lasts over 30 minutes. Nevertheless, it never seems to drag. Thomson lovingly elucidates all the details of the score. It is arguable that this is not what Vaughan Williams wanted, since he heard performances by Barbirolli and Boult (Decca) that reached LP during his lifetime. But Thomson clearly loves this music, and has found a key to its structure. The last movement is eloquent rather than typically rambunctious, and the conclusion is very satisfying. The other works on the CD are less controversial. The Partita receives a superb performance. The plucked strings in the third movement's Homage to Henry Hall, a BBC dance band leader, are particularly evocative of lighter music. Greensleeves goes well, comparably to the famous Ormandy recording. And the Hymn-Tune Preludes are serious and telling. Add to all this superior sound engineering, and you have a fascinating slice of Vaughan Williams.
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine performances, but not the best March 2 2009
By Rudolf Dankwort - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Bryden Thomson is a fine conductor, the problem is he's not quite up to the level of Adrian Boult. However, it seems the Boult 'Partita' is not conveniently available on CD's. The 'Partita' is probably VW's greatest work, aside maybe from the 8th symphony itself. Having listened to it now a couple of times, I find Thomson excessively aggressive, too much presto, and in general not "there" in the Vaughan Williams idiom.

I just heard Richard Hickox doing the 3rd and I liked it a lot. I get the feeling he's more in tune with VW than Thomson.

Undoubtedly, the Chandos sound is light-years ahead of the Bould discs. So if that's the important thing, get the Chandos.

Look for similar items by category