Symphony No. 1/Ballade has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: All orders received by 3:00pm EDT will ship by 5:00pm EDT. Since 2011.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony No. 1/Ballade

Price: CDN$ 21.75 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
5 new from CDN$ 18.56 3 used from CDN$ 9.93

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Composer: Benjamin
  • Audio CD (July 16 1996)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: MP
  • ASIN: B00000464D
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Symphony No. 1 (1944-45): Largo
2. Symphony No. 1 (1944-45): Scherzo
3. Symphony No. 1 (1944-45): Adagio appassionato
4. Symphony No. 1 (1944-45): Introduzione ed Allegro alla marcia
5. Ballade For String Orchestra

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9aa68e9c) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a8b1b1c) out of 5 stars QUEENSLAND SYMPHONiC PREMIERE FOR EXPAT AUSSIE Jan. 10 2016
By Cody Robert at Spokane - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Arthur Benjamin (1893-1960) is recalled today mainly for two enduring works, the pops-concert staple "Jamaican rumba" (1938) and the superbly kitschy STORM CLOUDS CANTATA (1934/56) which Hitchcock commissioned to show off the Albert Hall acoustics and the heroine's showstopping scream in both versions of MAN WHO KNEW TOO MUCH. (Benjamin did other important film work too, but the scores are lost, and Benjamin is so cosmopolitan a figure in British music he needs revival by the reconstructionist conductor John Wilson. There is a limited reconstruction of the Benjamun film scores on a 2012 Chandos release, conducted by Rumon Gamba, that has some authenticity issues.)

Benjamin, born in Sydney, grew up and trained in Brisbane, whence this recording premiere. He emigrated to England in 1911 for scholarship studies at the Royal College of Music. He served in the Great War and joined the RCM faculty in 1921, where his many students included another Benjamin, the young Britten. The famous rumba and cantata (and four operas) followed and inevitably another war, which Benjamin spent comfortably but busily in Vancouver and at Reed College in Portland. The North American years yielded this serious but affirmative wartime symphony and also the lighter NORTH AMERICAN SQUARE DANCE suite. Both works appear on Lyrita's definitive but costlier Arthur Benjamin anthology, but this was the symphony's enterprising 1995 recording premiere, fittingly conducted by Maestro Lyndon-Gee with the expat composer's hometown orchestra. It's an angry and dramatic work--not without echoes of the stormy Hitchcock cantata--and a surprisingly fine one, as Benjamin had successfully mastered both lighter and more serious concert composition. Dedicated to Ralph Vaughan Williams, it drew the attention of Sir Adrian Boult who performed but did not record it. Since the Benjamin symphony was completed in wartime Canada (cf. Robert Farnon's slightly earlier "Ottawa" Symphony, recorded by John Wilson with the BBC Concert Orchestra), it has special historical interest, and in its evocation of and tribute to courageous Blitzed London you will be chillingly reminded of the bleaker moments in Vaughan Williams' or Britten's war-influenced compositions.
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a5121b0) out of 5 stars Four Stars Nov. 19 2014
By S.B. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Great British Symphony.