Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Syms 1/2/Concert Ovt Import

Price: CDN$ 21.41 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 3 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 16.47

Artists to Watch
Artists to Watch
Be the first to hear about the hottest emerging artists. Featuring ten new artists each month, Artists to Watch will help you stay in the know when it comes to up-and-coming artists. See all of this month's picks

Product Details

1. Adagio Molto - Allegro Vivace
2. Adagio - Allegro
3. Larghetto Con Moto
4. Scherzo: Allegro
5. Finale: Allegretto
6. Allegro
7. Larghetto
8. Scherzo: Presto
9. Finale: Vivace

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Engaging June 16 2008
By David Saemann - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I am ordinarily a big fan of Howard Shelley, both as pianist and conductor. One of his big accomplishments as a conductor is Michael Roll's set of the Beethoven Piano Concertos with the Royal Philharmonic. With the same orchestra, Shelley also has recorded excellent discs of Schubert and Mozart symphonies. This present offering of Ludwig Spohr is good, but not quite in the same league as his previous efforts. The music is tuneful and well constructed, but you will not mistake any of these works for masterpieces. Spohr was a popular composer in the 19th Century, and perhaps the strongest claim of this CD on your attention is as evidence of the taste of this period. The performances seem to be quite good, with much care over the softer dynamics that seem to typify much of this music. Occasionally the orchestra's phrasing is a bit slovenly, while the sound engineering, though generally good, can turn muddy in some passages. If, like me, you collect all of Howard Shelley's investigations of forgotten piano or orchestral repertoire, none of these reservations should deter you from acquiring this disc. For other collectors, caveat emptor.