Tantras: Avatar Series, Book II and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Tantras: Avatar Series, Book II on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

TANTRAS-AVATAR #2 [Mass Market Paperback]

Richard Awlinson
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $6.20  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Aug. 19 1989 Forgotten Realms Novel: Avatar (Book 2)
Heroes Stand Trial!

When Elminster, the Old Sage of Shadowdale, is apparently slain, Midnight and Adon stand trial for his murder.

When Bane, god of murder, and his allies seek the lost Tablets of Fate, a slender dark-haired woman is all that stands between Faerûn and disaster.

When a friend betrays them, Midnight and her companions can trust no one.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

About the Author

Scott Ciencin is the author of numerous novels, including Shadowdale, Tantras, and books set in the world of Dinotopia.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
Forester had lived in Shadowdale all of his life, and in the recent battle against the forces of Zhentil Keep, he had fought bravely to defend the bridge over the Ashaba River on the western edge of the dale. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING TRILOGY!!! June 4 2004
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Definitely a great fantasy epic and one of my personal favorites, The Avatar Trilogy- Shadowdale, Tantras, and Waterdeep, is about the Time of Troubles when the Gods walked the Earth (in this case Toril). The books are so incredibly well written that the reader feels that they have been transported to another plane of existence and are actually present among the characters, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel, sensing what they sense. The authors have truly outdone themselves and have presented us with a masterpiece of literature the likes of which we have seen only in JRR Tolkien's work, RA Salvatore's The Dark Elf and Icewind Dale trilogies, and in authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies. Love, honor, bravery, magic, and heroes are all about. In conclusion, it's what Fantasy reading SHOULD be. A GREAT trilogy indeed and a "must read" along with James Lowder's Prince of Lies and Troy Denning's Crucible: The Trial of Cyric! DON'T MISS IT!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars The Search for the Tablets of Fate Continue! Feb. 23 2004
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This books is a major improvement over Shadowdale. I got into this book alot faster than it took me to get into Shadowdale. I think most people who had gripes with the previous novel in the series would agree. The author has definatly improved since then.
My only gripe in this novel is how Cyrics attitude change is so sudden. It should have been a gradual thing but it it not.
Heres some info on the book
**Spoilers if you have not read SHADOWDALE!**
At the end of Shadowdale Mystra was destroyed. Lord Banes Avatar was blow into a bloody pulp, and Elminster was sucked into a rift and killed.
Now Midnight and Adon are on trial for the Murder of Shadowdales sage. Kelemvor who we have found is cursed to turn into a Panther if he tries to do anything that is not in his own best interest cannot do anything. Cyric has changed drastically, he thinks himself better than all in the group.
Bane takes a new avatar and with the help of Myrkul continues his quest to regain the Tablets of Fate.
The Time of Troubles continues!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A Major Improvement May 5 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This is a classic Forgotten Realms trilogy, and reading it is pretty necessary if you want to make sense of a lot of the goings-on in the Realms. This is especially the case if you care a whit about the FR pantheon, since a lot of the material comes from these books. I have to admit, this was really the only reason I picked them up, and I went ahead and got all three at once.
After reading Shadowdale, I seriously regretted it. Frankly, I couldn't (and still can't) believe that book is the start of a classic anything- let alone a FR trilogy. Compared to any of Salvatore, Denning, or Cunningham's novels, it is utterly pathetic. The characters are flat, and the book reads like a transcript from some Dungeon Master's game (and not a very good DM, at that). Despite the fact that I already had the other two, I was somewhat reluctant to continue.
Fans of the Realms, take heart. This book is good enough that I've forgotten most of the unpleasantries of Shadowdale. I'm pleased to say that Tantras is a huge improvement over its predecessor. It is supposedly written by the same author, Scott Ciencin (a.k.a. Richard Awlinson) and if this really is the same author's work, then he has seriously improved. It's true that the characters are still a bit undeveloped, but at least they don't act like cranky, somewhat deranged children anymore. I'm still not quite sure why Adon is even present, but he does at least do something useful in this book. Additionally, some of the perplexing, seemingly random events that took place in Shadowdale are given at least a partial explanation. For example, the haunted woods that appeared out of nowhere to waylay our heroes was just nature gone bad. Oh.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Light Fantasy, Not Too Bad, Weak Characters April 17 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Tantras continues the adventures of Midnight, Kelemvor, Cyric, and Adon started in Shadowdale. I feel that the quality of this book is slightly better than the first in the series. The action is swift and the plot doesn't really drag at any point in the book. Cyric is actually my favorite character, even though he is turning toward the evil side. The other characters are too inconsistent. Kelemvor is supposed to have a curse that prevents him from helping anyone without the promise of payment, a trait that leads the supposed hero of the series to being decidedly unheroic. Midnight, who is supposed to be carrying the remaining power of Mystra the Goddess of Magic, really gets on my nerves. You just want to shout 'Are you really that stupid?!' at her at some points. Adon is really a non-character for most of this book as he does nothing but get abused by Cyric. It seems to me that when you want to write heroic fantasy, you need a hero. I'm having trouble finding one here. Elminster, one of the great characters in the Forgotten Realms, is even drug in to try to liven things up. Anyway this book isn't actually too bad if you can handle this cast of characters. I actually am looking forward to reading Waterdeep, the final book in the trilogy. Good for fans of Feist or Brooks (but not of their quality). Recommended to any fans of the Forgotten Realms RPG or other novels in the series.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars An okay Realms books ever.
This story is very interesting. I think it has some of the best charecters i've ever read. Its cool that they put the gods into the story. Read more
Published on May 20 2004
3.0 out of 5 stars second part, more of the first
This is necessary reading if you are a fan of the Forgotten Realms simply because this is the actual explanation of what happens to cause the Time of Troubles. Read more
Published on Feb. 1 2002 by Cameron Case
3.0 out of 5 stars OK. Better...
OK. So here we have the second installment in a series in which I didn't have much faith in after finishing the first book SHADOWDALE (Refer to my review for it. Read more
Published on Jan. 30 2002 by Eduardo Luis Costas
4.0 out of 5 stars Plan Your Reading time wisely! You WONT Want to put it down!
This is an excellent book completely filled with action, adventure, romance and riddles along the way. Read more
Published on Jan. 9 2001 by Spike Durden
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Follow-up to Shadowdale...
After voraciously reading Shadowdale, I quickly picked up Tantras in hopes of learning whether or not Midnight and the heroes can find the Tablets of Fate and if Elminster was... Read more
Published on Oct. 4 2000 by Meleriel Riley
4.0 out of 5 stars Good bridge between "Shadowdale" and "Waterdeep."
The Gods of the Forgotten Realms still wander among the mortals, since the Tablets of Fate have not been returned to the Gods' overlord, Lord Ao. Read more
Published on Sept. 27 2000 by "bulldog51"
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the FR/D&D player; so-so for the casual reader
I mainly read this book because I play D&D in the Forgotten Realms system, and the history of Forgotten Realms fascinates me. Read more
Published on Aug. 18 2000 by Lori L. Ceangailte
4.0 out of 5 stars The fall from grace
"Tantras", second in the epic Realms shattering Avatar Trilogy, continues where "Shadowdale" left off. Read more
Published on Feb. 24 2000 by Christopher J. Cavallo
2.0 out of 5 stars Man....
This book totally failed to impress me. It's the first book I've ever read that really strikes me as bad. Not that Shadowdale was a stellar book, but this.... Read more
Published on Jan. 20 2000 by Stefan Kalgraf
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback