Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Tallis Fantasia/Adagio [Hybrid SACD]

L-Saint Louis Symp Orc Slatkin Audio CD

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

1. Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis, for 2 string orchestras
2. Adagio for strings (or string quartet; arr. from 2nd mvt. of String Quartet), Op. 11
3. Pavane, for orchestra & chorus ad lib in F sharp minor, Op. 50
4. Fantasia on Greensleeves, for harp, flute & strings (arranged by R. Greaves; from the opera 'Sir John In Love')
5. Canon and gigue, for 3 violins & continuo in D major, T. 337: Kanon
6. Serenade for strings (or piano, 4 hands) in C major, Op. 48: 1. Pezzo in forma di Sonatina, Andante non troppo
7. Serenade for strings (or piano, 4 hands) in C major, Op. 48: 2. Walzer Moderato. Tempo di Valse
8. Serenade for strings (or piano, 4 hands) in C major, Op. 48: 3. Élégie Larghetto elegiaco
9. Serenade for strings (or piano, 4 hands) in C major, Op. 48: 4. Finale (Tema Russo) Andante - Allegro con spirito
10. Irish Tune from County Derry (Londonderry Air), folk song for string orchestra with 2 horns ad lib. (BFMS 15)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Works for Orchestra April 18 2009
By Neaklaus - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This Telarc SACD is a reissue of some of Leonard Slatkin and the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra's recordings of some orchestral favorites that
originally appeared on Two separate CDs. They were recorded back in the
early days of digital recording, using the Soundstream System. Unfortunatly the CD could not recreate the full sound being recorded, but the SACD can finally bring us the full sound of these great performcances
of music by Vaughan Williams, Pachebel, Barber, Faure, Tchaikovsky, and Grainger. They are all beautful works of music very well played by the
Saint Louis Symphony under Mr. Slatkin. I'm glad that Telarc is going back and remastering and issuing these Soundstream recordings on SACD.
They are well worth investigating. The whole disc makes for a most pleasant 75 mins plus listening to. The Tchaikovsky is worth the price of the disc alone.
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars Aug. 17 2014
By Peggy J. Mahan - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Look for similar items by category