Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden
Telemann G.P.: Tag Des Ge... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Telemann G.P.: Tag Des Gerich

Price: CDN$ 25.82 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
5 new from CDN$ 25.82

Product Details

  • Performer: David | Jochens, Wilfried | Kleine Konzert, Das | Max, Hermann | Monoyios, Ann | Rheinische Kantorei | Schrecke Cordier
  • Composer: Telemann Georg Philipp
  • Audio CD (April 15 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cap
  • ASIN: B001UUN998
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
a voice teacher and early music fan May 5 2011
By George Peabody - Published on
Format: Audio CD

Georg Philipp Telemann's (1681-1767) oratorio "Der Tag Des Gerichts" (The day of Judgment) is one of Telemann's later works and definitely has a Handelian flavor. It is less ornate and daring than his "Capriccio" recorded by the same forces, but in this work the choruses are grander and contains more expressive writing for trumpets, chorus and timpani. It is divided into four sections (labeled 'reflections' by Telemann), in which the soloists take on character roles such as 'unbelief', 'reason', 'religion' and 'devotion'. Jesus appears in Reflecton Four. This work ends in a blaze of musical glory as 'The Right Hand of god is Raised'. This is certainly a highly dramatic work and to my thinking seems ominous and prophetic in nature.

The soloists acquit themselves well, both vocally and dramatically. Ann Monoyios never disappoints with her lovely 'clear as a bell' soprano whose lone aria 'I am awakened in Wisdom'(Reflection Four) is magnificently rendered. Wilfred Jochens is outstanding in his opening tenor aria (only one) 'Now I Know' is resonant and intense and provides a great listen. David Cordier, countertenor, displays his even, strong and pleasing tone quality in his only complete aria in the First Reflection 'The Storm's Thunderous Voices Resound'. Stephen Schreckenberger, bass, although skilled, seemed to be 'edgy' and 'rough' in his aria in the First Reflection, but his final aria in the Third Reflection 'Away Out of my Sight' was delivered smoothly and subsequently was perhaps the best of his five arias. However, the soloists were also featured in numerous ariosos and recitatives. There was also considerable ensemble singing and combos of the solo singers.

Max's direction of this work was precise and vigorous, and the twenty-four piece chamber period orchestra plus the small choir of sixteen singers with continuo were ideally balanced; a pleasant exception to some of the recorded music of this period. The singing is in German; the accompanying informantion includes the text in German and English.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Clara July 17 2012
By Clara - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A very poor version of Teleman's Day of Judgement. I bought it for a friend and was surprised when we listened to it. It didn't sound like the composer's work.

Look for similar items by category