CDN$ 18.50
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Art of Racing in the ... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Art of Racing in the Rain Low Price CD Audio CD – Audiobook, Unabridged

4.6 out of 5 stars 115 customer reviews

See all 26 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Audiobook, Unabridged
"Please retry"
CDN$ 18.50
CDN$ 11.51 CDN$ 15.00

Valentine's Day Gifts in Books

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Audio CD: 192 pages
  • Publisher: HarperAudio; Unabridged edition (June 9 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061780308
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061780301
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 2 x 14.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 200 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 115 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #252,739 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

If you've ever wondered what your dog is thinking, Stein's third novel offers an answer. Enzo is a lab terrier mix plucked from a farm outside Seattle to ride shotgun with race car driver Denny Swift as he pursues success on the track and off. Denny meets and marries Eve, has a daughter, Zoë, and risks his savings and his life to make it on the professional racing circuit. Enzo, frustrated by his inability to speak and his lack of opposable thumbs, watches Denny's old racing videos, coins koanlike aphorisms that apply to both driving and life, and hopes for the day when his life as a dog will be over and he can be reborn a man. When Denny hits an extended rough patch, Enzo remains his most steadfast if silent supporter. Enzo is a reliable companion and a likable enough narrator, though the string of Denny's bad luck stories strains believability. Much like Denny, however, Stein is able to salvage some dignity from the over-the-top drama. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Review

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.” (Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants)

“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.” (Portland Oregonian)

“Splendid.” (People (3 ½ out of 4 stars))

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.” (Entertainment Weekly)

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.” (Jodi Picoult)

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.” (Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants)

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.” (Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Enzo knows he's different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul, he has educated himself by watching TV and listening to his master, Denny Swift, an up0and-coming race car driver- Art of Racing in the Rain (Front Flap)

Enzo is convinced that he will come back in his next life as a man. On the last night of his death, he looks back on his life and the struggles that Denny had. The loss of his wife Eve and the custody battle for his daughter Zoe, against Eve's wealthy parents. Enzo knows that he did his part to reunite the family and has the hope that Denny can still become a champion race car driver.

I received a copy of this as an advanced read from Harper Collins Canada. I was just about to start reading this book when my precious dog, Robbie died. Because of the nature of this book, I couldn't get myself to pick it up until now. It was difficult for me to get through the parts where Enzo described his health and his passing. I had a good cry.

Garth Stein has an amazingly creative and fresh writing style. Using a dog, as narrator not only works, I don't think the book could have been written any other way.

This may sound like it has the potential to be saccharin sweet and I must confess it has a little bit of that. The ending was also quite predictable, however, don't let these little "flaws" keep you from this book. There are moments of great sadness, moments that are laugh out loud funny, and moments of great joy. This book is a gem!
13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I absolutely loved this book. It has been some time now since I have read a book that I just couldn't put down. It sounds like such a cliche and perhaps it is but this was truly a wonderful book. I found myself laughing, crying and actually talking out loud as I read the book. I surprised and somewhat startled my husband a few times as I quietly sat reading and then came out with comments like "Way to go Enzo!" or I moved suddenly to sit on the edge of my chair or I just started to laugh or cry. At one point I actually had tears dripping off my chin. This is so much more than a book about a dog. This is a lesson in life, but not in a preachy way. Other reviewers have commented that you will never be able to look at a dog in the same way again and I agree, but I must add that I will never look at a stuffed zebra in the same way again either. "The zebra is the worst part of us..." This story is about good (Denny, Eve, Zoe and Enzo) as well as evil (the 'twins"). It is about love, understanding, perseverance, forgiveness, friendship, courage, faith and so much more. If you read only one book this year, make it his one.
3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Wow, this truly is an unforgettable book that will leave you (kinda wrecked) and unable to look at dogs in quite the same way ever again. Garth Stein has managed to capture the inner workings of the dog perfectly here, the attention to detail and why dogs do certain things is amazing. This really is a look at our human lives as only a dog could see it. Enzo and his family will tear at your heart in many ways and on many different levels. Containing a wonderful, gripping storyline and characters that you'll become deeply attached to, this is a sad yet ultimately uplifting book.

Don't be scared away by the title. The "racing in the rain" part of this book is a metaphor for life. Yes, one of the main characters races cars for a living and yes, Enzo refers to everything in his life by way of racing metaphors, but this book is so much more. It's about life and family, heartbreak and loss and ultimately joy, all as seen through the eyes of a dog named Enzo. Think (Marley & Me) only narrated by Marley not the humans.

Enzo, wants nothing more than to be a man. On the eve of his death he tells what will amount to his master's life's story. Enzo has educated himself by watching too much TV, in particular Speed Channel and The Weather Channel. In his own words "the weather channel is not about weather it's about life."

His happy family includes; Denny, an up and coming race car driver, Eve, his wife and their young daughter Zoë. Enzo's life is cheerfully routine until the day he smells the cancer that has come to rest in Eve's head.
Read more ›
3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Amazing Read! I had just finished reading Marley & Me, & this just seemed to be a natural followup by showing the dog's point of view.
Very philisophical & thought inspiring! Fantastic ending, wouldn't have it any other way!
Will most definitely read it again & again! A Keeper!
Bravo Garth Stein for a wonderful look into our human failings. A True lesson to be learned!
4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Art of Racing in the Rain
I am a professional columnist, a some-day novelist who really earns his living as a conflict management specialist and as a personal coach. From that perspective, it is perhaps the best book I have ever read. Mr. Steins' novel functions as a cracking good story, replete with humor and tragedy, and a joy for all of us for who love dogs or might have dreamt of racing cars. On a totally different level, it is also a powerful teaching tool. In the pages of this book, I learned a life lesson simple and powerful that I have incorporated it into my professional practice and personal life. This is- without doubt- a must-read book.
8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback