The Beloved Dead (The Arthurian Mysteries) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Beloved Dead (The Arthurian Mysteries) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Beloved Dead [Hardcover]

Tony Hays

List Price: CDN$ 31.00
Price: CDN$ 24.80 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.20 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 2 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $24.80  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

March 10 2011 Arthurian Mystery (Book 3)

Malgwyn ap Cuneglas was one of King Arthur’s earliest companions and now is his most trusted counselor.  Despite the malice of his enemies, who fear Arthur’s power, and the machinations of the still powerful druids who mightily resist him, Malgwyn knows that Arthur will stop at nothing in his efforts to lead his people to Christ and help to bring civil law and justice to a people who have known little such.

To consolidate his power, Arthur decides that it is time to take a noble wife.  But in this Malgwyn knows not only his lord’s ambition but his personal grief, because in order to take a queen Arthur must set aside his love Guinevere, because he believes that the scandal surrounding their affair has tainted her for the crown. 

Malgwyn is sent north to fetch the young woman who is to be Arthur’s bride.  The way is fraught with tension and disaster for there are forces who would not see the king wed.  When Malgwyn discovers a string of killings involving young virginal women who are slaughtered in a horrific manner—not unlike a ritual sacrifice—he is left with a question that he must answer quickly. 

Are these murders portents of the gods taking vengeance on the intrusion of a new faith? 

Or mortal men plotting to unseat the king?

 


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Forge Books (March 10 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765326280
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765326287
  • Product Dimensions: 21.6 x 15 x 3.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 499 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,258,360 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Medieval mystery fans and readers who enjoy Peter Tremayne, Cora Harrison, and Bernard Cornwell will love this.”—Library Journal, starred review on The Divine Sacrifice

 “This heady concoction of suspense and legend will appeal to a broad cross-section of historical-fiction and whodunit fans.”—Booklist on The Divine Sacrifice

“Sure to appeal to fans of medieval intrigues and stirring battles.”—Kirkus Reviews on The Divine Sacrifice

“Political intrigue and ancient superstition loom large in this excellent mystery…History buffs as well as mystery fans will be amply rewarded.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review on The Killing Way

About the Author

The Beloved Dead is Tony Hays’s third book in his much acclaimed Arthurian mystery series. Hays is a former journalist who has covered topics as varied as narcotics trafficking (earning his newspaper the Tennessee Press Association award for Public Service in 2000), political corruption, Civil War history, and the war on terror. He currently resides in Tennessee.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  4 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Arthurian mystery April 1 2011
By Harvee L. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I enjoyed this book on two fronts - the romantic relationship that King Arthur has with his lover Guinevere, which is about to be snapped in two when Arthur decides to marry another woman for political reasons and to secure his power. The other aspect of the book is the mystery - the killing of young women which may or may not be a challenge being made to the new Christian faith supported by Arthur and opposed by pagan beliefs. The ritualitic style murders were a little overwhelming in their violence. The setting is steeped in history and legend - an excellent novel for lovers of the Arthurian storie and especially to medievel mystery buffs.
4.0 out of 5 stars The series keeps getting better Jan. 18 2012
By Daniel Granados - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Tony Hays has done a fantastic job with this series. Each novel features a murder that must be solved by Malgwyn, advisor to Arthur the high king. Hays uses these murders and their various subplots to advance the overarching Arthurian storyline. There is enough action to keep you entertained and enough intrigue to wonder who is plotting against Arthur and how Malgwyn will reveal them. Very much looking forward to the next. As always there are those looking to take the crown from themselves, while the Saxons continue to press ever westward and try to take Britain for their own.
Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Steven Saylor.
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cloak and Dagger Whodunnit March 11 2014
By Love2Read - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I'm not sure how I skipped over this book in the series but I'm glad I happened upon it. What a great mystery filled with characters that have grown on me. I only wish another book would be coming out soon. Malgwyn, as always, is a fine investigator even if at times he does not want to face the truths uncovered. There are many twists and turns, with "plot-thickening" moments and I for one love that I didn't figure out the true culprit until the end. It read like a Poirot mystery and I hope Mr. Hays will treat us to a new addition soon!
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb Malgwyn fifth century whodunit April 1 2011
By Harriet Klausner - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Acquiescing to the demands of the Lords, High King of Britannia Arthur ap Uther assigns his long time trusted supporter Malgwyn ap Cuneglas to escort his fiancée, the fourteen years old daughter of Lord Aircol, to Castellum Arturius where their marriage of political convenience will take place. The night before the one-armed scribe is to leave to escort back the future queen who is less than half the age of her fiancé; someone rapes and murders a woman. Although he would prefer to investigate in order to bring the predator to justice, he has no time as he departs on his escort duty.

Two other women are assaulted and killed while Malgwyn is on the road. When he returns to Castellum Arturius, he learns his cousin Guinevere is the prime murder suspect and she has fled to a monastery having a difficult time accepting her beloved Arthur is marrying someone else.

The third superb Malgwyn fifth century whodunit (see The Killing Way and The Divine Sacrifice) is once again a fantastic historical tale that brings to life Britannia in a way in which readers will believe they are at Arthur's court along side the hero and Merlin. The whodunit is engaging and the reactions to the High King's betrothal enjoyable and insightful as Tony Hays captures the essence of the Arthurian mythos yet puts his spin on it (through Malgwyn). Besides the Camelot crow, with a strong sense of time and place, fans of the Sister Fidelma mysteries also will enjoy this brisk saga to the Arthurian mythology.

Harriet Klausner

Look for similar items by category


Feedback