The Beloved Dead (The Arthurian Mysteries) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 24.80
  • List Price: CDN$ 31.00
  • You Save: CDN$ 6.20 (20%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Beloved Dead Hardcover – Mar 10 2011


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 24.80
CDN$ 6.58 CDN$ 2.96

2014 Books Gift Guide
Yes Please is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Forge Books (March 10 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765326280
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765326287
  • Product Dimensions: 15.1 x 3.4 x 21.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 499 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,380,477 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Medieval mystery fans and readers who enjoy Peter Tremayne, Cora Harrison, and Bernard Cornwell will love this.”—Library Journal, starred review on The Divine Sacrifice

 “This heady concoction of suspense and legend will appeal to a broad cross-section of historical-fiction and whodunit fans.”—Booklist on The Divine Sacrifice

“Sure to appeal to fans of medieval intrigues and stirring battles.”—Kirkus Reviews on The Divine Sacrifice

“Political intrigue and ancient superstition loom large in this excellent mystery…History buffs as well as mystery fans will be amply rewarded.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review on The Killing Way

About the Author

The Beloved Dead is Tony Hays’s third book in his much acclaimed Arthurian mystery series. Hays is a former journalist who has covered topics as varied as narcotics trafficking (earning his newspaper the Tennessee Press Association award for Public Service in 2000), political corruption, Civil War history, and the war on terror. He currently resides in Tennessee.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Intriguing Arthurian mystery April 1 2011
By Harvee L. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
I enjoyed this book on two fronts - the romantic relationship that King Arthur has with his lover Guinevere, which is about to be snapped in two when Arthur decides to marry another woman for political reasons and to secure his power. The other aspect of the book is the mystery - the killing of young women which may or may not be a challenge being made to the new Christian faith supported by Arthur and opposed by pagan beliefs. The ritualitic style murders were a little overwhelming in their violence. The setting is steeped in history and legend - an excellent novel for lovers of the Arthurian storie and especially to medievel mystery buffs.
The series keeps getting better Jan. 18 2012
By Daniel Granados - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Tony Hays has done a fantastic job with this series. Each novel features a murder that must be solved by Malgwyn, advisor to Arthur the high king. Hays uses these murders and their various subplots to advance the overarching Arthurian storyline. There is enough action to keep you entertained and enough intrigue to wonder who is plotting against Arthur and how Malgwyn will reveal them. Very much looking forward to the next. As always there are those looking to take the crown from themselves, while the Saxons continue to press ever westward and try to take Britain for their own.
Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Steven Saylor.
A Cloak and Dagger Whodunnit March 11 2014
By Love2Read - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
I'm not sure how I skipped over this book in the series but I'm glad I happened upon it. What a great mystery filled with characters that have grown on me. I only wish another book would be coming out soon. Malgwyn, as always, is a fine investigator even if at times he does not want to face the truths uncovered. There are many twists and turns, with "plot-thickening" moments and I for one love that I didn't figure out the true culprit until the end. It read like a Poirot mystery and I hope Mr. Hays will treat us to a new addition soon!
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
superb Malgwyn fifth century whodunit April 1 2011
By Harriet Klausner - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
Acquiescing to the demands of the Lords, High King of Britannia Arthur ap Uther assigns his long time trusted supporter Malgwyn ap Cuneglas to escort his fiancée, the fourteen years old daughter of Lord Aircol, to Castellum Arturius where their marriage of political convenience will take place. The night before the one-armed scribe is to leave to escort back the future queen who is less than half the age of her fiancé; someone rapes and murders a woman. Although he would prefer to investigate in order to bring the predator to justice, he has no time as he departs on his escort duty.

Two other women are assaulted and killed while Malgwyn is on the road. When he returns to Castellum Arturius, he learns his cousin Guinevere is the prime murder suspect and she has fled to a monastery having a difficult time accepting her beloved Arthur is marrying someone else.

The third superb Malgwyn fifth century whodunit (see The Killing Way and The Divine Sacrifice) is once again a fantastic historical tale that brings to life Britannia in a way in which readers will believe they are at Arthur's court along side the hero and Merlin. The whodunit is engaging and the reactions to the High King's betrothal enjoyable and insightful as Tony Hays captures the essence of the Arthurian mythos yet puts his spin on it (through Malgwyn). Besides the Camelot crow, with a strong sense of time and place, fans of the Sister Fidelma mysteries also will enjoy this brisk saga to the Arthurian mythology.

Harriet Klausner


Feedback