The Book Against God: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 13.68
  • List Price: CDN$ 20.00
  • You Save: CDN$ 6.32 (32%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Book Against God: A Novel Paperback – Jun 1 2004


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 13.68
CDN$ 8.63 CDN$ 0.01

Best Books of 2014
Unruly Places, Alastair Bonnett’s tour of the world’s most unlikely micro-nations, moving villages, secret cities, and no man’s lands, is our #1 pick for 2014. See all

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Picador; First Edition edition (June 1 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312422512
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312422516
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 1.5 x 21.6 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 295 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,495,963 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Joining the select company of critics who write serious fiction-and do it well-New Republic book critic Wood produces a novel in the tradition of Hazlitt's Liber Amoris and Sainte-Beuve's Volupt‚. Like his predecessors, Wood is interested primarily in portraiture, and the portrait he draws here is of a feckless philosophy student who must come to terms with the shambles of his life. Tom Bunting begins his narrative with a survey of his miserable bed-sit in London. He is in exile from the wonderful flat in Islington he used to share with his wife, Jane Sheridan, who earned the rent from her work as a pianist. Penniless and hopelessly given to lying, Tom has also been neglecting his dissertation to scribble little impious apertus in various notebooks. This he rather grandly calls his "Book against God"-a sort of anti-Pens‚es. The book-and in a sense his whole wretched life-is a muffled rebellion against his father, Peter, a charming, learned, blissfully married vicar in North England. Another source of resentment is Tom's best childhood friend, Max Thurlow, who not only is an important columnist for the Times but has been talking to Jane about Jane's connubial unhappiness. Though on the surface Tom might seem a thoroughly pathetic, despicable character, Wood succeeds against the odds in making him sympathetic and even charming. Muddling through his breakup with Jane, the drift of his ambitions and his father's death, Tom wrestles disarmingly with metaphysical and religious dilemmas that Wood gives fresh urgency and meaning. Like Iris Murdoch, Wood is the rare novelist able to dramatize the life of ideas and give it human dimension.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

*Starred Review* It will come as no surprise to readers of literary critic Wood's brilliant essay collection, The Broken Estate (1999), that his first novel is a comedy of faith, given his fascination with the nexus between traditional religion and the modern sense of the sacred in art. Drawing on his British heritage, Wood presents Thomas Bunting, a would-be philosopher at odds with his village priest father's seemingly complacent Christianity. Tom is supposed to be completing his Ph.D. while his beautiful and forbearing pianist wife, Jane, supports them, but he is a self-indulgent laggard who hates to bathe and loves to tell lies, and instead of working on his dissertation, this doubting Thomas has been obsessed with a project he calls "The Book against God," or BAG for short, a long theological rant against the church. While this erstwhile atheist struggles through a prolonged crisis of faith, Wood proves himself to be a delectably witty writer. Sounding a bit like the Amis boys but with a civilizing touch of Barbara Pym, his dialogue is crisp and his characters irresistible while in his lush descriptions of everything from rain-drenched landscapes to Jane's expressive ponytail, every judiciously selected word carries emotional, moral, or spiritual weight. Donna Seaman
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
I DENIED MY FATHER THREE TIMES, twice before he died, once afterwards. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars

Most helpful customer reviews

Format: Hardcover
If I had read some of Wood's previous work, perhaps I would have some context for this book and be more forgiving, or at least more understanding. As it is, I picked it up simply because I'm an atheist and a quick scan showed the promise of an engaging story with an existentialist bent. That promise was not fulfilled.
The book starts and ends with the character at the same point in space and time. The middle is all backstory. There's no discernible character arc and no resolution whatsoever - which would lead some to quibble with the author's assertion that this book is "a novel." This book is a portrait of a rather unsympathetic character who reveals himself slowly but doesn't seem to change. Mostly, this book is a discussion on religious belief, hung on the sad scaffolding of a narrator who is both unreliable and ambivalent.
In addition, the book's tone swings wildly between realistic, down-to-earth dialogue and character depictions, and the most overwrought descriptions I have ever read. As regular as clockwork and usually in chunks, you get descriptions like this gem: "As the cows sighted us, they pricked a swaying wander over the sucking mud, came to the fence and snorted faint figures of steam. Their mooing noises buzzed deep down in their unemotional throats." Self-conscious passages like that managed to jerk me out of any tenous connection I might have had with the character and the ongoing story, such as it was.
On the whole, this book reads more like an author's idea and notes for a book. (That is certainly what the narrator would argue, but acknowledging a flaw doesn't make it less flawed.) I'm sure existentialism and narrative flow can be successfully married, to great effect. "The Book Against God" doesn't manage it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Hardcover
For the past ten years (I'm 26) I've read something on the order of a novel a month. In that time, Wood's is the only one that has made me cry. When Bunting starts his final paragraph, I lost it and literally wept into my pillow.
I am Jewish, not religious. I have no gripes with Christianity, nor am I particularly well versed in the New Testament. Saint Peter denied Jesus three times, as does Thomas Bunting his father. Wood's religious-philosophical musings propel the narrative, but it's the relationship between a son and his earthly father that lies at the heart of Wood's and Bunting's so-called "BAG." A better twentieth century story of father and son you'd be hard pressed to find. (I realize this is from the 21st... it is, in my opinion, that good.)
Wood's criticism has a preternatural quality (how could someone so young be so well read?), and the Book Against God, while flawed and self-consciously limited, displays a profound understaning of literature, its roles, capabilities and power. I'm grateful he's made the move to fiction and look forward to future works.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Hardcover
God is alive and well as portrayed in James Wood's The Book Against God. He is kept alive by the author's protagonist, Tom Bunting. Tom doesn't like to bathe, doesn't pay his bills on time, is frightened of fatherhood, and has trouble getting along with his wife. But most of all he is a non-believer in God and in Christian dogma. In fact he spends most of his time in the novel filling his notebooks with diatribes against The Almighty instead of working on a Ph.d he has started. Why hasn't God created a more perfect world, Tom asks, "a kingdom where the skies were safe, and the stormy wind was made mild, and mountains did not erupt and murder had been abolished, and violence was defunct...illness ...rare as the unicorn...no more death...a kingdom where we shall be given beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness."
There are many things the reader may not like about author Wood's protagonist, Tom Bunting, but his thoughts here strike a universal and idealistic cord that resonates well. In fact, author and literary critic Wood has created in Tom a very human and believable character. The Book Against God functions well on both the theological and human level. Not only Tom but other characters in the novel contain verisimilitude--particulary Tom's father, who is a minister in the English village where our hero grew up. Much of the novel is taken up with Tom's rebellion, not only against God, but also against the Christian beliefs of his parents. In addition, many of the villagers are presented in a warm, sympathetic, and idiosyncratic way by Mr. Wood.
If you like an novel that blends the ordinary and the profound (to say nothing of the controversial), you will find The Book Against God to be thought-provoking and entertaining.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on July 14 2003
Format: Hardcover
The Book Against God serves as a modern novel written through the use of many old techniques. Instead of being consumed with flashy magical realism or strange postmodern techniques, Wood writes the (purposefully unreliably narrated) story of Thomas Bunting--and he does it well. The writing is spectacular, using nuanced Jamesian metaphor and descriptions to achieve mutable yet distictively believeable characters. Wood is truly an amazing writer, as his criticism shows. In his first novel, he succeeds in telling an interesting while sometimes disturbing story. Had he used a third person narration technique, it is possible the characters could have been even more vivid and complex. If you like a novel that bursts with packed prose, yet is a fun read, The Book Against God will suit your fancy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback