Auto Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG boutiques-francophones Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden
CDN$ 23.96
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
The Book of Hadith: Sayin... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Book of Hadith: Sayings of the Prophet Muhammad from the Mishkat al Masabih Paperback – Nov 1 2008

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"
CDN$ 23.96
CDN$ 13.61 CDN$ 25.48

Black Friday Deals Week in Books

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 100 pages
  • Publisher: The Book Foundation; 1 edition (Nov. 1 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904510175
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904510178
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 1.3 x 22.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 295 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #368,673 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

About the Author

Charles Le Gai Eaton is the author of Islam and the Destiny of Man, King of the Castle, Remembering God, and The Richest Vein.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 17 reviews
55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
A Great Volume Dec 31 2008
By A. Living Creature - Published on
Format: Paperback
I just finished reading this volume of Hadith selected by Charles Le Gai Eaton. It is a real treasure! A great book for readers of English or Arabic (this volume is bi-lingual) to enter into studying the enormous body of collected oral traditions in Islam. The twenty page introduction by Jeremy Henzell-Thomas is excellent, and well-suited to preparing those who wish to endeavor in studying Hadith to proceed with necessary discernment. Here is a passage from his introduction, reprinted on the back cover:

"In the process of discovering and exploring the profound utility of these Prophetic sayings, we discover many levels. They show the deep humanity, kindness, and beneficence of the Prophet at a time when there is a pressing need to correct not only the many distortions about him, whether motivated by ignorance or malice, but also the widespread misconceptions about the intrinsically beautiful Islam which he revealed to us. We also find that the Hadith enunciate and clarify doctrine and offer commentary upon it. They offer guidance for the deepening of knowledge, the improvement of conduct and character, and the strengthening of faith. Finally, and above all, they remain a luminous spiritual source of inspirational material for the transformation of Hearts, for without the Heart no injunction can ever be fully internalized, lived and embodied."

The selections of Hadith are very well chosen and arranged. The English translations are clear and beautiful. Topical groups included are as follows:

On Islam, Iman (Faith), and Ihsan (Righteousness)
Afflictions and Death
Generosity, Kindness & Zakat (Charity)
The Station of the Qur'an
Pilgrimage (Hajj)
Human Transactions
Matters of Dress and Appearance
Dreams and Divination
Character, Behavior, and Adab (Courtesy)
The Afterlife
The Prophet
The Mi'raj (Night Journey)
The Death of the Messenger of God

Highly recommended for anyone who is interested increasing their knowledge and understanding of Islam.
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
An excellent addition to your library Jan. 19 2009
By M. Himed - Published on
Format: Paperback
I read this book in one day and it was an enjoyable read. Many times I have read negative things when it comes to Hadith and sayings of the Prophet which talk about war and fighting. There is also a humanistic side of Hadith which encompasses all of things we do in life and this book brings it out to some degree.

The chapters that describe the behaviors of the Prophet Muhammad are the most enjoyable and refreshing to read. But it is the introduction by Jeremy Hezel Thomas that I think is the most important part of the book, especially when he talks about two of the most controversial topics; apostasy and offensive jihad. The one verse from the Quran that is dissected is 9:29 and Muhammad Asad is quoted as saying that it does not command unprovoked aggression against non-believers. Even Ibn-Tamyia, one of the most conservative Muslims in history, said that apostasy is only punishable by death when it involved "enmity and aggression towards Muslims."

After the Prophet died, Abu Bakr did not start a war for the sake of waging war and forcing people to convert to Islam or gaining territory. "Rebellious tribes marched on Medina" and rejected paying the zakat and rejected the authority of Abu Bakr because they refused to follow anyone besides the Prophet. War was waged to uphold the authority of the state and to keep the Islamic ummah intact.

Lastly, the book tells us that Muslims are a community of the middle way which is quoted from verse 2:143 and also a hadith and that should draw us to be moderate in every respect of life and this is exemplified when the Prophet told Abu Bakr to raise his voice while Umar was told to lower it.
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
sweet! Feb. 15 2013
By Robert M. Flegal - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm a Muslim who relies on the Qur'an alone for my understanding and practice of Islam. I'm not a big fan of the various Hadith as the Qur'an states that it alone is sufficient (45:6 These are God's revelations that we recite to you truthfully. In which Hadith other than God and His revelations do they believe?).

However I so enjoyed this collection of the saying of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) as they point to his compassionate character, his incredible wisdom and the sweet spirit of Islam.

I highly recommend this book to Muslims, Christians, and Jews alike.
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
The Book of Hadith A Good Start July 25 2013
By Klemens Metternich - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
With thousands of hadiths on the books--many volumes of books--this book provides a good start to understand hadiths themselves, whence they came, and how to go about collecting or using them. The Saudi downloadable collection of hadiths from Bukhari, Malik, Muslim, and Dawud by itself contains 18,000 hadiths. Understanding the Quran is a great achievement in Islam--many who can recite it from memory do not always understand it; however, a collection and understanding of the hadiths may be more practical. The Chinese say that the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. This step is one worth taking.
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
The Book of Hadith Oct. 18 2012
By Saeed - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Well written. Very Informative. For understanding Islam, it is important that Hadiths be studied. But the strength of Hadiths should be investigated. This book provides this information fully.