Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Book of Hadith: Sayings of the Prophet Muhammad from the Mishkat al Masabih Paperback – Nov 1 2008


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Nov 1 2008
"Please retry"
CDN$ 11.42 CDN$ 30.07

2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen, adapted from the wildly popular web site beloved by Gwyneth Paltrow ("This might be my favorite thing ever"), is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Join Amazon Student in Canada


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 100 pages
  • Publisher: The Book Foundation; 1 edition (Nov. 1 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904510175
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904510178
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 1.3 x 22.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 295 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #402,521 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

About the Author

Charles Le Gai Eaton is the author of Islam and the Destiny of Man, King of the Castle, Remembering God, and The Richest Vein.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 13 reviews
51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
A Great Volume Dec 31 2008
By A. Living Creature - Published on Amazon.com
I just finished reading this volume of Hadith selected by Charles Le Gai Eaton. It is a real treasure! A great book for readers of English or Arabic (this volume is bi-lingual) to enter into studying the enormous body of collected oral traditions in Islam. The twenty page introduction by Jeremy Henzell-Thomas is excellent, and well-suited to preparing those who wish to endeavor in studying Hadith to proceed with necessary discernment. Here is a passage from his introduction, reprinted on the back cover:

"In the process of discovering and exploring the profound utility of these Prophetic sayings, we discover many levels. They show the deep humanity, kindness, and beneficence of the Prophet at a time when there is a pressing need to correct not only the many distortions about him, whether motivated by ignorance or malice, but also the widespread misconceptions about the intrinsically beautiful Islam which he revealed to us. We also find that the Hadith enunciate and clarify doctrine and offer commentary upon it. They offer guidance for the deepening of knowledge, the improvement of conduct and character, and the strengthening of faith. Finally, and above all, they remain a luminous spiritual source of inspirational material for the transformation of Hearts, for without the Heart no injunction can ever be fully internalized, lived and embodied."

The selections of Hadith are very well chosen and arranged. The English translations are clear and beautiful. Topical groups included are as follows:

On Islam, Iman (Faith), and Ihsan (Righteousness)
Purification
Prayer
Afflictions and Death
Generosity, Kindness & Zakat (Charity)
The Station of the Qur'an
Supplucations
Pilgrimage (Hajj)
Human Transactions
Marriage
Animals
Food
Matters of Dress and Appearance
Dreams and Divination
Character, Behavior, and Adab (Courtesy)
Foretelling
The Afterlife
The Prophet
The Mi'raj (Night Journey)
The Death of the Messenger of God

Highly recommended for anyone who is interested increasing their knowledge and understanding of Islam.
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
An excellent addition to your library Jan. 19 2009
By M. Himed - Published on Amazon.com
I read this book in one day and it was an enjoyable read. Many times I have read negative things when it comes to Hadith and sayings of the Prophet which talk about war and fighting. There is also a humanistic side of Hadith which encompasses all of things we do in life and this book brings it out to some degree.

The chapters that describe the behaviors of the Prophet Muhammad are the most enjoyable and refreshing to read. But it is the introduction by Jeremy Hezel Thomas that I think is the most important part of the book, especially when he talks about two of the most controversial topics; apostasy and offensive jihad. The one verse from the Quran that is dissected is 9:29 and Muhammad Asad is quoted as saying that it does not command unprovoked aggression against non-believers. Even Ibn-Tamyia, one of the most conservative Muslims in history, said that apostasy is only punishable by death when it involved "enmity and aggression towards Muslims."

After the Prophet died, Abu Bakr did not start a war for the sake of waging war and forcing people to convert to Islam or gaining territory. "Rebellious tribes marched on Medina" and rejected paying the zakat and rejected the authority of Abu Bakr because they refused to follow anyone besides the Prophet. War was waged to uphold the authority of the state and to keep the Islamic ummah intact.

Lastly, the book tells us that Muslims are a community of the middle way which is quoted from verse 2:143 and also a hadith and that should draw us to be moderate in every respect of life and this is exemplified when the Prophet told Abu Bakr to raise his voice while Umar was told to lower it.
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
sweet! Feb. 15 2013
By Robert M. Flegal - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I'm a Muslim who relies on the Qur'an alone for my understanding and practice of Islam. I'm not a big fan of the various Hadith as the Qur'an states that it alone is sufficient (45:6 These are God's revelations that we recite to you truthfully. In which Hadith other than God and His revelations do they believe?).

However I so enjoyed this collection of the saying of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) as they point to his compassionate character, his incredible wisdom and the sweet spirit of Islam.

I highly recommend this book to Muslims, Christians, and Jews alike.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
The Book of Hadith A Good Start July 25 2013
By Klemens Metternich - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
With thousands of hadiths on the books--many volumes of books--this book provides a good start to understand hadiths themselves, whence they came, and how to go about collecting or using them. The Saudi downloadable collection of hadiths from Bukhari, Malik, Muslim, and Dawud by itself contains 18,000 hadiths. Understanding the Quran is a great achievement in Islam--many who can recite it from memory do not always understand it; however, a collection and understanding of the hadiths may be more practical. The Chinese say that the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. This step is one worth taking.
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
You got to love the prophet. Dec 28 2012
By marlon jay cook - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Muhammad was a real person, and he actually had a funny sense of humor. Yes, he was inspired. Yes, he changed the world. These are stories collected by his friends and families.

My favorite: Muhammed sent his wife to get his prayer mat from the temple. His wife commented that she was during menses, (and it might not be appropirate for her to go to temple, and touch his prayer matt, while she was on her period. She was "unclean". "Typical Jewish Red Tent Thinking.") Mohammed's answer, "You aren't menustrating with your hands, are you? Go get my matt."

Very enlightening treatment of women at a time, when women weren't always treated well. Not what we think of in Islam. Funny sayings for everything from kids stealing from his garden, throwing rocks at his house, dealing with relatives. dealing with drunk servants.


Feedback