Start reading The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller
 
See larger image
 

The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller [Kindle Edition]

Robert Swartwood

Print List Price: CDN$ 16.04
Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.52 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 10.52 (66%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.52  
Paperback CDN $16.40  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

When eighteen-year-old Christopher Myers’ parents are murdered, something is written on his bedroom door, a mark in his parents’ blood that convinces the police the killer has targeted Christopher as the next victim. To keep him safe, he travels away with his estranged grandmother and uncle to the small town of Bridgton, New York. And it’s in Bridgton that he meets an extraordinary young man who has come with his father to stop an unrelenting evil. Soon Christopher learns of the town’s deep dark secret, and how his parents’ murder was no accident, and how he has been brought to Bridgton by forces beyond his power—forces that just may threaten the destruction of all mankind.

THE CALLING is a 100,000-word supernatural thriller in the vein of Peter Straub and Dean Koontz.

Advance Praise for THE CALLING:

“THE CALLING is a powerful, gripping and terrifying novel, the sort that possesses your whole life while you’re reading it; it’ll stalk you through the day, and inform your dreams. Swartwood has delivered a novel that will become a classic.”

— Tim Lebbon

“Robert Swartwood’s THE CALLING is a diabolical rocket sled of a psychological thriller. Told through the vivid, almost druggy point of view of a young man on the edge, tangled in a web of tragedy and surreal horror, Swartwood’s novel gets under the skin and stays there. Highly recommended.”

— Jay Bonansinga

BONUS CONTENT: excerpts from SPOOKY NOOK and THE DISHONORED DEAD

About the Author

Robert Swartwood is the author of several novels and the editor of Hint Fiction: An Anthology of Stories in 25 Words or Fewer. He lives with his wife in Pennsylvania. Visit him online at www.robertswartwood.com.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 543 KB
  • Print Length: 342 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: RMS Press (Nov. 27 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004SYNSN0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #140,546 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  51 reviews
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint of heart. March 23 2011
By A.M Donovan - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I actually got done reading this book yesterday, and had to think about it. I really liked the book, and will read it again, but for as few pages as it contains, Robert manages to get a lot of substance into a small space. Unlike some authors we all know, that use a lot of pages to say very little. Yes, the book is, technically, a horror, but the themes dealt with are not simplistic. They are (and this is just from the first time through, I'm sure I can find more with a second read)choices, consequences, growing up, loss and faith. He approaches these in an unusual, non-preachy way while definitely being thought provoking. If you are looking for a simple book with easy answers, go to the self help section. If you enjoy a book that reads like a good steak dinner and requires a little work on your part, you will enjoy this. I did.
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read March 27 2011
By D. Falor - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Keeping the review short without rehashing the storyline. I enjoyed the novel and will recommend it to friends. I would classify it as a thriller with a style similar to Dean Koontz's Odd Thomas series. It was hard to put down as I needed to know how the story played out... and that's how you know when a book is good...lol I think I will try another novel from this author.
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intense, dangerous, emotionally-charged debut novel March 26 2011
By Samuel Rippey - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The biggest fires start as slow burns.

Okay, I made that phrase up, but it's true--at least regarding suspense novels. Robert Swartwood, in his thrilling and merciless debut THE CALLING, has proven himself a master of building suspense--feeding the fire until all the reader can do is watch as the flames grow until the blaze becomes blinding.

But this is a controlled burn, as Swartwood orchestrates his work with deftness and intelligence. The story, which is as dark as they come, avoids the pitfalls of becoming exploitative or shock-value, and reads rather as an unblinking exploration of tragedy and violence in the lives of good people.

The narrator, Christopher, is reeling from the gruesome murders of his parents. For safety's sake, he's shuffled out of his hometown in Pennsylvania to a trailer park in New York. It's here that menace and mystery grows until he finds himself embroiled in a malign supernatural plot, which holds the fate of many innocent (and not-so-innocent) lives in the balance.

Things get complicated fast. In the hands of a lesser writer, the multiple backstories and large cast of characters could have collapsed under its own weight. Yet Swartwood never overwhelms the reader, and the characters live and breathe, with most of them well-drawn enough for a novel of their own. Everyone (and everything) is connected, in compelling and often startling ways.

Tempering the book's darkness is real emotional depth. Each characters has lived and lost and paid for their mistakes, and this intense humanity spills out into the story. Especially noteworthy are an itinerant preacher, Moses, and his strange, precocious son Joey, who are both instrumental in bringing the book's paranormal themes to light.

Swartwood's prose burns bright and clear, strong without becoming intrusive. While some dialogue runs overlong, his ear for speech is an excellent one, especially in the interactions between younger characters.

All told, THE CALLING is a novel of dangerous intensity, growing in every word and chapter, hitting the reader with an emotional punch that lingers long after the last word. An outstanding and auspicious debut.

(P.S. While this is Swartwood's first full-length novel, he's published other shorter titles, all of them available on Amazon. Check out THE SILVER RING or THROUGH THE GUTS OF A BEGGAR.)
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a great book. June 2 2011
By Melissa L. Webb - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It was very reminiscence of a Koontz book. I love how Christopher was a very realistic character. He isn't a shining hero, he is a flawed individual (who of us isn't?) who simply believes he can't live with himself if he dosen't do the right thing.

The book is haunting. It has stuck with me since I began reading it and I'm sure it will stick with me over the next week or so. It is a very realistic horror. One you can almost imagine yourself stuck in.

If paranormal horror is your thing, check out this book. You'll be glad you did.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read! May 8 2012
By Naomi Smart - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Was a dark and stormy day...decided to download a couple of cheap supernatural thrillers onto my kindle and The Calling looked promising. I was rewarded. Could not put my kindle down. A well thought out plot and character driven story. I enjoyed this novel so much that while reading I stopped to check my locked doors....just in case.
I'm not going to give away any of the plot. But I cannot wait to reread this novel!

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
In every mans life there comes a time when churchyards yawn and his fate becomes dependent upon a single choice. &quote;
Highlighted by 4 Kindle users
&quote;
A preacher is somebody who tells you whats true. A teacher is somebody who shows you why its true.  &quote;
Highlighted by 3 Kindle users

Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category