summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$39.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 13, 2013
This book is an overview of the experience acquired by the author while he faced difficult situations. He often criticizes his young developer's attitude and/or actions when he looks back at situations with his current experience. It's about acting with profesionalism even in complicated and difficult situations.

Don't expect to find code. If you're looking for good pratices as a coder, I recommend Clean Code (from Robert C. Martin) that goes really deep into code and cover good/bad practices of almost every thing (from naming variables to formatting code or simply by making relevant comments.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2011
I have been freelancing for a few years and this book was a refreshing look at my business. Many of the scenarios described in this book are true to life and things I have been through before. For the remainder, the lessons will certainly benefit my business. I've already changed my methodology for doing estimates after reading this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
His advice to work 40 hours and then study 20 hours a week may seem controversial, but it is a goal that I have been trying to hit for the past year. Simply put, it has completely changed my life and my abilities as a programmer. I wish I had received this advice 10 years ago.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
And the ideas in this book owe lots to many other great developers. Bob Martin has synthesized the core of the best practices of professional programmers in this essential book for all serious professional developers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
Uncle Bob gives really good advises. It's a must read for every developer who wishes to ever become a professional in the Software development field. This book almost reads itself. Superb purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
good read. entertaining it is.
I you programm for quite a while, you will recognize a lot of situations and chuckle. And if not you'll get giid advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
The book summarizes what every junior programmer should know. It reinforces what should be common sense and provides excellent advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
An excellent book for both the experienced and novice programmer. Insightful thoughts and a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Not done yet - half way only - but already impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
Buy this book. Period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse