Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Endangered Medical Record: Ensuring Its Integrity in the Age of Informatics Paperback – Apr 1 2000


Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Apr 1 2000
"Please retry"
CDN$ 56.10 CDN$ 8.02

Join Amazon Student in Canada


NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 606 pages
  • Publisher: Tringa Pr (April 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0961525525
  • ISBN-13: 978-0961525521
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 18.3 x 3.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 1 Kg

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
YOUR PERSONAL MEDICAL RECORD is a crucial element of your personal healthcare. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 7 reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
A Timely Alert for the Health Care Field May 23 2000
By Peter Rogatz, M.D. - Published on Amazon.com
As a physician-administrator (now retired), I have observed with some dismay the disorganized state of medical record keeping, as health care providers struggle to keep abreast of developments in the era of digital information. This book is a wake-up call to physicians, nurses, health care executives, insurance managers and all others concerned with the delivery of health care and the maintaining of medical information. It covers the field of medical record-keeping in a clear and comprehensive manner and demonstrates persuasively the need for reform to assure consistent organization and coding of all medical information. It belongs in the hands of all health care leaders -- not on the bookshelf, but on the desk where it will be used.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Health Information: The basis for health care administration Aug. 17 2001
By David Z. - Published on Amazon.com
Information from the health record forms the basis for health services administration. One of the reasons for health care crisis in Canada and the United States is the lack of pertinent, reliable and valid information about health services and the results of health services.
The authors weave compelling arguments to explaine why current health information systems 1)encourage distortion of information 2) fail to capture sufficient clinical detail, 3) Use ambiguous codes and 4) use classification systems for purposes for which they were not intended.
This thoughtful book will help those who wish to understand the underlying reasons why there are major problems in American and Canadian health care delivery systems.
The recommended solutions could be helpful as clinicians and administrators attempt to gain vital information about access to care, the outcomes of care and the efficency of health care delivery.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Clear thinking on a murky subject Nov. 28 2000
By Dorothy - Published on Amazon.com
This book exhibited clear thinking and clear writing about a subject on which the authors are unmistakably experts. It presents not only the frightening state of medical records today but also a workable solution. Parts of the book can and should be used as a reference, but reading it all the way through gives a detailed overview that surely doesn't exist anywhere else. Incredibly for this topic, the book is written with good humor and interesting examples. I recommend this book highly to anyone connected with medical records, including those of us who may have them out there somewhere.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Our Medical Records Need a Doctor! July 13 2001
By Ruth Bebermeyer - Published on Amazon.com
Before I read this book, I had given virtually no thought to the state of my medical record, assuming that it is accurate, complete and helpful to any physicians who care for me now or in the future. Like most non-healthcare professionals and average patients, my concerns have revolved around whether or not I received effective and compassionate care and whether my health insurance covered the costs. This book clearly explains why and how the current electronic record system is woefully lacking in specific diagnostic and treatment information that is critical in patient care and in determining public health policy. It also spells out how these flaws can be corrected. I am appalled to think that my medical record is in such sorry state...the information in this book should be common knowledge, and something should be done to correct the problem!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Order Out of Chaos March 2 2002
By Warner V. Slack - Published on Amazon.com
Vergil Slee, Debora Slee, and Joachim Schmidt are to be congratulated on their outstanding contribution to the field of medicine and to the management of medical information. Their book is strong on diagnosis--the authors addess the many problems with the medical record as it is currently used in most clinical settings. But unlike so many treatises on the problems with medicine, their book is equally strong on what to do about these problems. They have a powerful prescription for the endangered medical record. Furthermore, in the tradition of William Strunk and E.B.White in their masterful essay on English grammar, "The Elements of Style," the authors offer their cure in the same well-written, well-organized, comprehensible, and eminently reasonable manner that they would prescribe for the medical record itself.


Feedback