Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Fifth Profession has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by WaddleShop
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Trusted US Seller. We ship the same or next day and provide a tracking number with tracking info. No Highlighting, Visible signs of use to cover and pages, photo is a catalog stock image cover may be different, accessories like attached toys, cds, dvds, cassettes may not be present.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Fifth Profession Hardcover – May 1 1990

4.1 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews

See all 20 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 36.99
CDN$ 25.96 CDN$ 1.25

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (May 1 1990)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0446515620
  • ISBN-13: 978-0446515627
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 3 x 22.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 794 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #711,308 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From School Library Journal

Gripping adventure, suspense, and espionage are standard ingredients of Morrell's novels. Hired by wealthy and powerful clients as an executive protector, Savage is assigned to rescue Rachel Stone from her sadistic husband on the Greek island of Mykonos. Joined by Akira, his Japanese counterpart, Savage discovers this case extends far beyond merely protecting and safely delivering a client. Pursued by unknown outside forces, the threesome struggle to stay alive and solve a mystery that spans continents and brings horrifying memories to the surface. Bizarre circumstances involving psychosurgery, samurai, and CIA intrigue create an incredible, fast-paced thriller. The plot--if far-fetched--is strong, and the characters are wonderfully drawn. --Nancy Bard, Jefferson Sci-Tech, Alexandria, VA
Copyright 1990 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From the Inside Flap

The Bookcassette® format is a special recording technique developed as a means of condensing the full, unabridged audio text of a book to record it on fewer tapes. In order to listen to these tapes, you will need a cassette player with balance control to adjust left/right speaker output. Special adaptors to allow these tapes to be played on any cassette player are available through the publisher or some US retail electronics stores. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
"The Fifth Profession" by David Morrell is an intriguing tale of two bodyguards stuck with "false memories". They both believe they saw something traumatic, but find that item after item in their recollections did not actually happen. I've run a feudal Japan newsletter for over 10 years, so my main interest in this story was with the Japanese samurai tradition covered, as well as the bodyguard ethics.
The main teller of the story is American, but his counterpart is Japanese, and there are many interesting aspects to his personality and background. Part of the story takes place in Japan, in various areas of both city and country. The bodyguard was trained by a skilled ninja-type (of course) and the descriptions of their fighting style are also intriguing.
The narrative examines the background of Japan as the plot wends its way here and there. Readers learn various stories such as the 47 ronin, and backgrounds of the tea ceremony, zen gardening, bushido, and more.
While this book is not really meant to teach about Japan, the writer did a good job of researching his topic and slips much of the information in as casual background to the story.
If you can accept some of the plot holes at the end of the story, and don't worry very much about details that do not quite match up, this is a very enjoyable book!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on Sept. 23 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
" The Fifth Profession " by David Morrell is a non stop page turner full of action and a twisting plot through out. The novel is about the adventure of two "Ronin" (bodygaurds) sworn to find the answer behind their nightmares. Savage is an ex American Navy Seal who is a professional bodyguard who takes high risk jobs. He specializes in security, hand to hand combat, and weaponrey. Akira who is also a Ronin is a brilliant Japaness who is a master of samuria and protection. Both men are subject to a shocking event when they meet for the first time on a job. Months later they suprisingly meet each other again and embark on a journey to find out what or who pulled them through hell and back. This book takes you from the streets of New York to Japan, this mystery is full of intrigue and great action. Thought you don't learn any morals from reading this book you learn alot about Japaness folklore and culture. A must read for any adventure/mystery reader.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Savage and Akira are superior bodygaurds known as "executive protectors". They are intelligent and brilliantly trained men who show qualities reserved for old "Comitatus" and "Ronin" type warriors of the past. Savage's lastest assignment sees him rescue a beautiful woman from the clutches of her demented Greek husband who repeatedly rapes and beats her. This assignment also marks the reunion of Akira and Savage, who previously remember seeing eachother die on another mission. Convinced that there is some foul play involved, they travel from America to Japan, trying to keep one step ahead of unknown assassins. Dirty politics coupled with violent action leads them to uncover a blood-soaked media gimmick involving top secret cover-ups and "false memory" control. Morrell's novel is well told and gives the reader an intelligent story, although it gets reppetitive along the way, it's a great novel to keep readers on their toes!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I READ HALF OF THE BOOK ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO AND UNBEKNOWNST TO ME MY EX-WIFE LOANED IT TO MY BROTHER-IN-LAW AND NEVER GOT IT BACK IT TOOK ME A WHILE BUT I FOUND IT AGAIN AND READ IT FROM COVER TO COVER IN THREE DAYS, THE SUSPENSE WAS THERE FROM THE FIRST PAGE TO THE LAST. THE ONLY THING THAT I DID NOT LIKE ABOUT THE BOOK WAS IT SEEMED THAT MR. MORRELL WAS TRUELY TRYING TO GET THIS BOOK MADE INTO A MOVIE DUE TO THE LOVE SCENES IN THE LAST QUARTER OF THE BOOK. WHEN I FIRST STARTED READING, I THOUGHT GREAT A BOOK LIKE THE BODYGUARD WITHOUT THE LOVE STORY, HER WE GO; THEN THE LAST QUARTER OF THE BOOK MADE ME WONDER IF THIS IS WERE THEY GOT THE IDEA FOR THE MOVIE, "THE BODYGUARD" ANYHOW I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TITLE AND WILL KEEP IT AMOUNG MY OTHER COLLECTION OF BOOKS THAT WILL NEVER AGAIN BE LOANED OUT WITHOUT A SUBSTANTIAL DOWN PAYMENT.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on July 30 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
First time in reading a David Morrell novel, the beginning was promising but later found it frustrating and repetitious. Skip the endless lines of 'but I saw you die' sections, you aren't missing anything. Once you know the plot questions that try to keep this novel going, be prepared to re-read these very same questions again and again and again--with no answers either. Skip those sections you aren't missing anything. If you like history, take your time through those sections, a reward for persevering through the mindless repetious sections. Skip the sections repeating 'bile rose in his throat', stopped counting how many times that came up. Skip the sections regarding the Protector's code of keeping things secretative, they didn't bother so why should you bother reading about it. All in all an easy book to read without missing anything.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The first David Morrell books that I read years ago absolutely enthralled me. "The Fraternity of the Stone" and "The Brotherhood of the Rose" blended action with logic (the reader knows the logic that the protagonist is using to make each move) and threw in touches of Western and Eastern spirituality. What a combination! Expecting the same quality of books, I recently read some of Morrell's newer books. Wow...was I disappointed! It seemed that Morrell had gone the way of Sidney Sheldon and some other talented writers. Producing quality books had given way to cranking out manuscripts as quickly as possible. "The Fifth Profession" represents some of Morrell's best writing. Most readers who enjoyed "The Fraternity of the Stone" and "The Brotherhood of the Rose" will love this one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback