Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The First Commandment: A Thriller Hardcover – Jul 17 2007

5 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 46.98 CDN$ 2.65

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Atria Books; 1 edition (July 17 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416543791
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416543794
  • Product Dimensions: 24 x 16.7 x 3.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 612 g
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #602,690 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Bestseller Thor's latest thrill-ride begins in anguish. Scot Harvath, navy SEAL turned Homeland Security superagent, sits at the bedside of girlfriend Tracy Hastings, who's in a deep coma after being gravely wounded at the end of Takedown. Meanwhile, five terrorists have been released from Guantánamo Bay as part of a secret hostage deal forced upon U.S. president Jack Rutledge. When one of the terrorists starts targeting Scot's friends and family, Scot discovers that the president won't allow the assassin to be hunted down. Soon enough, Scot is on the run from his own government and in pursuit of the killer. Many characters make appearances from earlier books, in particular Scot's ongoing nemesis, the fascinating, intelligence-gathering expert known as the Troll. It's a long, violent, shoot-'em-up, blow-'em-up pulse-pounder that will leave Thor's fans cheering and begging for more. (Aug.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"Brad Thor proves again to be a brutal master of suspense. The First Commandment is as riveting as it is relentless. A must-read for our times!" --James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of Black Order and The Judas Strain

"Brad Thor knows how to excite the senses. The First Commandment is an adrenaline-charged, slick thriller, packed with suspense, that never relents. Another winner from a proven master." -- Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Alexandria Link

"Fast-paced and action-packed. Sure to please his many fans and gain new ones. Immensely satisfying and highly recommended." -- Library Journal

"Readers who like Tom Clancy and Stephen Coonts will love Brad Thor -- quite possibly the next coming of Robert Ludlum." -- Chicago Tribune --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
President Jack Rutledge authorizes a deal with terrorists. Although the American government leaders always insist they will never negotiate with terrorists even for the release of hostages, he secretly releases five hardcore known terrorists locked away at Guantomino as part of a deal to protect at risk children. In fairness his advisors told them they could keep this quintet under control with monitoring of the isotope, they put in the blood of these killers.

The President's advisors missed another slammed dunk when they lose sight of the fearsome five. Just under six months later, an assassin shoots Homeland Security agent Scot Harvath's girlfriend Tracy Hastings, leaving her comatose and Agent Harvath is furious as isotopic blood is found at the crime scene. Soon afterward, locusts attack his mother and some friends of Harvath murdered. It all sounds like something from Moses - the movie and biblical time. That is exactly what the mastermind behind targeting Harvath's loved ones and friends intend to portray. Agent Harvath receives instructions to stay out of the investigation by the President, but goes Rogue - bent on revenge.

The Story incorporates some friends form previous novels and allows the reader an entertaining, plausible story line in terrorism.

I am really enjoying Brad Thor. Similar enthusiasm is shared with Vince Flynn and W.E.B. Griffin

Worth the purchase.
4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you enjoy movies such as the Jason Bourne trilogy, Enemy of the State or 24 TV shows, (and who doesn't!) you'll love these books - terrific series. I read them in order, and although each book stands alone, there are references and characters whom you meet in each of the books, so the continuity helps. Exceptional and very exciting - I'm so glad he wrote them. If you liked Daniel Silva, Steve Berry, Vince Flynn, Alex Berenson, Chris Pavone, and similar exciting writers, you'll love these too. I think 'The Lion's of Lucerne' is the first one. You might find the first couple of chapters of this first book to be a little clunky, but the whole thing gets better and better with each chapter and then with each book, so keep going.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Well written book. Keeps you reading cover to cover
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Fantastic Author, Love everything Brad writes!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Awesome book to add to the series.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse


Feedback