The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Jesuit Guide to on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Jesuit Guide To (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life [Hardcover]

James Martin
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 33.50
Price: CDN$ 21.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 12.50 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $21.00  
Paperback CDN $15.16  

Book Description

March 1 2010

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything by the Revered James Martin, SJ (My Life with the Saints) is a practical spiritual guidebook based on the life and teachings of St. Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Society of Jesus. Centered around the Ignatian goal of “finding God in all things,” The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything shows us how to manage relationships, money, work, prayer, and decision-making, all while keeping a sense of humor.  Filled with user-friendly examples, humorous stories, and anecdotes from the heroic and inspiring lives of Jesuit saints and average priests and brothers, The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything is sure to appeal to fans of Kathleen Norris, Richard Rohr, Anne Lamott, and other Christian Spiritual writers.


Frequently Bought Together

Customers buy this book with God's Voice Within: The Ignatian Way to Discover God's Will CDN$ 12.24

The Jesuit Guide To (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life + God's Voice Within: The Ignatian Way to Discover God's Will
Price For Both: CDN$ 33.24

One of these items ships sooner than the other. Show details

  • This item: The Jesuit Guide To (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life

    Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • God's Voice Within: The Ignatian Way to Discover God's Will

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product Details


Product Description

Review

“[The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything] becomes like a read-along spiritual director, someone to prompt you with questions, redirect your gaze and help you, Martin says, to ‘discern where God might be speaking to you.’” (USA Today)

“User-friendly...The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything…helpfully unpacks core precepts like ‘finding God in all things.’” (Time.com)

“An excellent introduction to Jesuit spirituality for a general reader.... [Martin’s] writing is accessible, comprehensive, and often humorous.” (Commonweal)

Writing beautifully, and with frequent touches of humor, James Martin, SJ, shows us what he’s learned in religious life, and in the process offers us a rich spiritual feast. (Catholic Digest (Editor's Top Pick of the Month))

From the Back Cover

St. Ignatius Loyola (1491-1556), the founder of the Society of Jesus (aka the Jesuits), was known for his practical spirituality. The "way of Ignatius" has helped millions of people—from the doubtful seeker to the devout believer—find freedom, make friends, live simply, work sensibly, fall in love, experience joy, and enter into a relationship with God.

The Ignatian goal of "finding God in all things" eans that every part of our lives can lead us to God. The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything shows us how this is possible, with user-friendly examples, humorous stories and anecdotes from the heroic and inspiring lives of Jesuit saints and average priests and brothers, as well as examples from Martin's twenty years as a Jesuit. The traditional wisdom that Jesuits use to help other people in their daily lives is easily applied, but not often explained well to the general public. The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything translates these insights of St. Ignatius for a modern audience and reveals how we can find God—and how God can find us—in the real world of work, love, suffering, decisions, prayer, and friendship.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
1 star
0
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Contemplatives in Action" our Jesuit brethren. Aug. 4 2011
By Cynthia Danute Cekauskas, LCSW TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
I first became aware of this book when it was featured on some television talk show I had been watching. I must admit at first I was disappointed because I thought it was going to be a much lighter read perhaps even a humorous account of some religious blunders a certain religious order had been found guilty of. On the contrary, I found the book to be very thoughful in nature, deep and philosophical. At first it intrigued me intellectually. Father Martin begins by informing the reader how the Catholic religious order of the Jesuits was founded by a recuperating soldier (Inigo de Loyola) in mid-sixteenth century Spain. Inigo, whose name in Latin is Ignatius, was ordained in 1537 and founded the Society of Jesus, officially approved by Pope Paul III, in 1540. What I personally liked was that although Ignatius "counseled the Jesuits always to carve out time for prayer, they were expected to lead active lives...they were to be active people who adopted a contemplative, or meditative stance to the world. The "contemplative in action", according to St. Ignatius Loyola, "not only contemplates the active world and sees wonderful things but also sees in those wonderful things signs of God's presence and activity. The contemplative in action is deeply aware of God's presence even in the midst of a busy life. It is a stance of awareness. Awareness of God."

The more I read this book the more I liked it. My favorite chapters, for instance, Chapters Twelve "What Should I Do? The Ignatian Way of Making Decisions" and Thirteen "Be Who You Is! Work, Job, Career, Vacation...and Life." were in the second half of the book.

Father Martin has a remarkable ability to reach others through his writing in a most compassionate and understanding way. I truly believe this is a gift he received from God.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I purchase the book to complement the audio book version as reference to specific topics. I had gone thru the audio book version several times and when I want to understand a specific topic, I read and re-read that portion in the book. It is a very helpful , practical and down to earth piece of literature on spirituality . Ironic as it may sound. But that is in my opinion. It had helped me understand and answer the many questions and doubts about my faith.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome reading April 7 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Excellent and insightful. A delight to read. Recommended for everyone. James Martin takes you through a captivating journey that will benefit everyone and give sense to our daily lives.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jesuit Guide to (almost) Everything July 4 2010
Format:Hardcover
A thoroughly fantastic read. Having seen an interview with the author I was intrigued with what he had to say and found the book informative, entertaining, and very easy to read. You don't have to be 'religious' to enjoy this book. For me, it pointed to everyone's intrinsic spirituality even for the cynical, although it might not be a book for those who would rather be 'right' than happy. I am very glad I bought it as I refer to it often.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring April 24 2010
Format:Hardcover
Bought it on Good Friday, bored of it by Easter Sunday. There is too much history about the Jesuits, and I frankly got bored.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xb0d9ac0c)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback