Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Journey Prize Stories 18: From the Best of Canada's New Writers [Paperback]

Steven Galloway , Zsuzsi Gartner , Annabel Lyon
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
List Price: CDN$ 17.99
Price: CDN$ 13.13 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 4.86 (27%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, October 23? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.
Join Amazon Student in Canada

Book Description

Nov. 14 2006 Journey Prize Stories (Book 18)
Discover the intriguing and diverse voices of Canada's new literary writers in this popular and nationally acclaimed annual anthology

"There's nothing else like it in Canada. . . . The Journey Prize anthology has become the proving ground for new, young Canadian writers, a who's who of the coming generation. . . . I, for one, owe everything to the Journey Prize." - Yann Martel, author of Life of Pi

The $10,000 Journey Prize, now known as The Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, is awarded annually to a new and developing writer of distinction for a short story published in a Canadian literary publication. This award is made possible by James A. Michener's generous donation of his Canadian royalties earnings from his novel Journey, published by McClelland & Stewart in 1988. The Journey Prize itself is the most significant monetary award given in Canada to a writer at the beginning of his or her career for a short story or excerpt from a fiction work-in-progress.

The winner of the Journey Prize is selected from among the stories that appear in the current volume of The Journey Prize Stories, published annually in the fall by McClelland & Stewart.

For over a decade The Journey Prize Stories has established itself as one of the most prestigious anthologies in the country, introducing readers to the best new Canadian writers from coast to coast. It has become a who's who of up-and-coming writers, and many of the authors whose early work has appeared in the anthology have gone on to distinguish themselves with acclaimed collections of stories or novels, and have won many of Canada's most prestigious literary awards, including the Governor General's Award, the Trillium Award, the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award, and The Giller Prize.

The anthology sets itself apart from others in that it comprises a selection of stories that editors of literary publications from across the country have chosen as what, in their view, is the most exciting writing in English that they have published in the previous year. In recognition of the vital role literary publications play in discovering and promoting new writers, McClelland & Stewart gives its own award of $2,000 to the literary publication that originally published and submitted the winning entry.

McClelland & Stewart acknowledges the continuing enthusiastic support of writers, literary publication editors, and the public in the common celebration of the emergence of new voices in Canadian fiction.

In this anthology:
Heather Birrell, “BriannaSusannaAlana” (The New Quarterly) (Winner)
Craig Boyko, “The Baby” (from Descant)
Craig Boyko, “The Beloved Departed” (Grain Magazine)
Nadia Bozak, “Heavy Metal Housekeeping” (subTerrain Magazine)
Lee Henderson, “Conjugation” (Border Crossings)
Melanie Little, “Wrestling” (PRISM international)
Matthew Rader, “The Lonesome Death of Joseph Fey” (Grain Magazine)
Scott Randall, “Law School” (The Dalhousie Review)
Sarah Selecky, “Throwing Cotton” (Prairie Fire)
Damian Tarnopolsky, “Sleepy” (Exile)
Martin West, “Cretacea” (PRISM international)
David Whitton, “The Eclipse” (Taddle Creek)
Clea Young, “Split” (The Malahat Review)

Product Details

Product Description


“Tomorrow’s shortlists for the Giller and the Governor General’s prizes invariably start with today’s Journey Prize Stories.”
Globe and Mail

The Journey Prize anthology has become the proving ground for new, young Canadian writers, a who’s who of the coming generation. . . . There’s nothing else like it in Canada. . . . I, for one, owe everything to the Journey Prize.”
— Yann Martel, previous Journey Prize winner and the author of the Booker Prize-winning novel Life of Pi

About the Author

Steven Galloway is the author of two novels, most recently Ascension. He lives in Vancouver, where he teaches creative writing at the University of British Columbia.

Zsuzsi Gartner is an award-winning magazine journalist and the author of the fiction collection All the Anxious Girls on Earth. She lives in Vancouver.

Annabel Lyon is the author of two fiction collections, most recently The Best Thing for You. She is a frequent contributor to the Vancouver Sun and the Globe and Mail. She lives in Vancouver.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

5 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Am really enjoying this collection! Aug. 26 2013
By J. Teal
Verified Purchase
I bought this collection on the strength of the judges. I knew such talented writers would chose excellent stories and indeed they have. This is an eclectic mix of modern literary fiction short stories. Really worth a purchase and a read. Looking forward to reading more from all of them.
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category