The Juan Doe Murders: A Smokey Brandon Thriller and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Juan Doe Murders Library Binding – Nov 2000


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Library Binding
"Please retry"
CDN$ 59.12 CDN$ 1.45

2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen, adapted from the wildly popular web site beloved by Gwyneth Paltrow ("This might be my favorite thing ever"), is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.


Product Details

  • Library Binding: 221 pages
  • Publisher: Five Star (November 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786228970
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786228973
  • Product Dimensions: 22.3 x 14.6 x 1.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 399 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,191,395 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

About the Author

Edgar Award Nominee If you love CSI or NCIS, you'll love the mysteries of Noreen Ayres. This Edgar Award finalist was writing memorable and compelling crime fiction with a focus on forensics long before those shows emerged on the scene. She broke new ground in the crime fiction genre with The Juan Doe Murders and her two prior suspense novels featuring Smokey Brandon, an ex-Las-Vegas-stripper-and-police-officer-turned forensic criminalist. Smokey finds herself involved cases that cut a little too close to home - and Ayres' plucky heroine is as sunny and complex as the Southern California world where she solves crimes. In addition to her novels, Ayres is also an acclaimed short-story writer. Her stories have been featuring in many mystery and suspense anthologies and earned her an Edgar Award nomination for "Delta Double Deal," her contribution to the collection The Night Awakens. For gritty police procedurals with a fun and sexy twist, Noreen Ayres' Smokey Brandon series can't be beat. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

Format: Library Binding
Although part of a series, this book works as a stand-alone, (although if you're planning to read the series, I recommend starting with A World the Color of Salt.) Smokey Brandon, one-time stripper and now an evidence tech for a California crime lab, faces her toughest challenge yet in The Juan Doe murders. A couple of new characters are introduced, including the adult son of Smokey's older divorced lover. This book is edgy and suspenseful, as are all of Noreen's books, but this one took a dark, unexpected twist at the end. As always, Noreen's writing is crisp and true. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy her graphic detail.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Library Binding
Noreen Ayres adds to her Smokey Brandon series with the darkest and most moody installment yet. The suspense is as heavy as fog, and the menace of the narrative is unrelenting. The novel asks you in, and it won't let you leave.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
the best yet in the smokey brandon series Jan. 30 2004
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Library Binding Verified Purchase
Although part of a series, this book works as a stand-alone, (although if you're planning to read the series, I recommend starting with A World the Color of Salt.) Smokey Brandon, one-time stripper and now an evidence tech for a California crime lab, faces her toughest challenge yet in The Juan Doe murders. A couple of new characters are introduced, including the adult son of Smokey's older divorced lover. This book is edgy and suspenseful, as are all of Noreen's books, but this one took a dark, unexpected twist at the end. As always, Noreen's writing is crisp and true. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy her graphic detail.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
and I really quite enjoyed it. The voice of the book is pleasant ... Nov. 5 2014
By Tyler - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is the first Smokey Brandon novel I've read, and I really quite enjoyed it. The voice of the book is pleasant to read, and the author goes into quirky little details that make Smokey vibrant and alive. I'd recommend this book to adult friends, but not teens or younger because of some mature language.
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Smokey Brandon's Back March 27 2001
By Gerald Duff - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Library Binding
Noreen Ayres adds to her Smokey Brandon series with the darkest and most moody installment yet. The suspense is as heavy as fog, and the menace of the narrative is unrelenting. The novel asks you in, and it won't let you leave.


Feedback