The Juan Doe Murders: A Smokey Brandon Thriller and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Juan Doe Murders: A Smokey Brandon Thriller on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Juan Doe Murders [Library Binding]

Noreen Ayers , Noreen Ayres
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $3.34  
Library Binding --  
Paperback CDN $12.31  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

November 2000 Five Star Mystery Series
“Tough, hip, visceral and lusty.” – Kirkus Reviews

Someone is killing illegal, Hispanic immigrants and leaving their bodies strewn like trash across Orange County, the playground of Southern California’s rich and privileged. But the murders go largely unnoticed, the anonymous, “Juan Doe” victims as invisible in death as they were in their hidden lives, toiling in low-wage jobs serving the wealthy…. until forensics specialist Samantha “Smokey” Brandon sees the gruesome pattern.

“A swift descent into sunburned decadence.” – Booklist

Smokey is an ex-cop and former Las Vegas stripper, a childless widow who has seen a lot of death in her job. But it hasn’t dimmed her compassion or dedication. These victims aren’t invisible to her. She won’t stop until she finds the killer, even if it means confronting her darkest demons and sacrificing herself to them.

“Moody, rich, impressive…the most distinctive new crime professional since Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta.” - Washington Post
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Product Details


Product Description

About the Author

Edgar Award Nominee If you love CSI or NCIS, you'll love the mysteries of Noreen Ayres. This Edgar Award finalist was writing memorable and compelling crime fiction with a focus on forensics long before those shows emerged on the scene. She broke new ground in the crime fiction genre with The Juan Doe Murders and her two prior suspense novels featuring Smokey Brandon, an ex-Las-Vegas-stripper-and-police-officer-turned forensic criminalist. Smokey finds herself involved cases that cut a little too close to home - and Ayres' plucky heroine is as sunny and complex as the Southern California world where she solves crimes. In addition to her novels, Ayres is also an acclaimed short-story writer. Her stories have been featuring in many mystery and suspense anthologies and earned her an Edgar Award nomination for "Delta Double Deal," her contribution to the collection The Night Awakens. For gritty police procedurals with a fun and sexy twist, Noreen Ayres' Smokey Brandon series can't be beat. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars the best yet in the smokey brandon series Jan. 30 2004
Format:Library Binding
Although part of a series, this book works as a stand-alone, (although if you're planning to read the series, I recommend starting with A World the Color of Salt.) Smokey Brandon, one-time stripper and now an evidence tech for a California crime lab, faces her toughest challenge yet in The Juan Doe murders. A couple of new characters are introduced, including the adult son of Smokey's older divorced lover. This book is edgy and suspenseful, as are all of Noreen's books, but this one took a dark, unexpected twist at the end. As always, Noreen's writing is crisp and true. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy her graphic detail.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Smokey Brandon's Back March 27 2001
Format:Library Binding
Noreen Ayres adds to her Smokey Brandon series with the darkest and most moody installment yet. The suspense is as heavy as fog, and the menace of the narrative is unrelenting. The novel asks you in, and it won't let you leave.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best yet in the smokey brandon series Jan. 30 2004
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Library Binding|Verified Purchase
Although part of a series, this book works as a stand-alone, (although if you're planning to read the series, I recommend starting with A World the Color of Salt.) Smokey Brandon, one-time stripper and now an evidence tech for a California crime lab, faces her toughest challenge yet in The Juan Doe murders. A couple of new characters are introduced, including the adult son of Smokey's older divorced lover. This book is edgy and suspenseful, as are all of Noreen's books, but this one took a dark, unexpected twist at the end. As always, Noreen's writing is crisp and true. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy her graphic detail.
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smokey Brandon's Back March 27 2001
By Gerald Duff - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Library Binding
Noreen Ayres adds to her Smokey Brandon series with the darkest and most moody installment yet. The suspense is as heavy as fog, and the menace of the narrative is unrelenting. The novel asks you in, and it won't let you leave.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback