Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Justice Riders Hardcover – Jan 15 2006


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, Jan 15 2006
CDN$ 32.10 CDN$ 0.04

Best Books of 2014
Unruly Places, Alastair Bonnett’s tour of the world’s most unlikely micro-nations, moving villages, secret cities, and no man’s lands, is our #1 pick for 2014. See all

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 295 pages
  • Publisher: Broadman and Holman (Jan. 15 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805440321
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805440324
  • Product Dimensions: 23.4 x 16 x 2.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 599 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,311,493 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
Captain Ezra Justice dove for cover just as the vanguard of General Joe Johnston's Confederate Army rounded the bend, coming out of the small North Carolina town of Bentonville, headed northward toward Richmond. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 21 reviews
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
A new hero from Chuck Norris Jan. 4 2006
By Chadwick H. Saxelid - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
Ezra Justice's orders from General Sherman are simple. Form a small, elite team of soldiers and make things difficult for the Confederacy. If caught, no one will claim knowledge of Justice, his men, or their orders. The Justice Riders are off and disrupting the Confederate's supply lines as best they can. But the team attracts the attention of Mordecai Slate and his "Death Raiders," and the battle becomes a far more personal one.

Former action star Chuck Norris and his team of writers have come up with an entertaining adventure novel with a simple message of faith mixed in. Fans of Walker, Texas Ranger (or of Norris's earlier films) will not be disappointed with The Justice Riders. It's nothing more than a Norris movie put to paper and, on that level, it's every bit as fun. Recommended.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Good but Flawed Dec 11 2006
By Mark Baker - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
Captain Ezra Justice has been put in charge of an elite task force during the final days of the Civil War. Their mission is to wreak havoc wherever they can behind the Confederate's lines. The more confusion they can create, the better the chance the Union has of bring the conflict to a conclusion.

Even after the war is over, their job isn't done. There are pockets of resistance left that refuse to surrender. One of these is led by Mordecai Slate. His path seems to cross Ezra's on multiple occasions.

Ezra's current mission, however, is to help with the transportation of prisoner of war. Most of them are weak or sick from their times in the Confederate's prison camps. They are so close to returning home. Yet major danger lurks in their way.

I am not a huge Chuck Norris fan, but have caught a few episodes of his TV show. This book reads like what I know of the show. The emphasis is on the action, and there are several great action scenes. The characters are a little short, but they are still interesting. The line between good and evil is clearly drawn. The story, while interesting, could have used some better focus. The time in history came to life, and I enjoyed the focus on a little known historic event. This is obviously a first novel, however, as the writing is weak.

Some more polish would have made this book much better. Hopefully, as the series progresses, the flaws of this debut will vanish.
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
A refreshing change April 18 2006
By Dennis Long - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
It is refreshing to read an action book on the old West and Civil War era that is not laced with profanity. The book seemed to start slow, but the steamboat scene had me rapidly turning pages and visualizing the horror of what was happening. The ending left the door open for future writings on the "Justice Riders". All in all, a very good book.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Color without development Dec 16 2007
By E. J. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
"The Justice Riders" succeeds in its efforts to create colorful characters and exciting action scenes. The book could be interesting, but it fails badly in the area of character development. Ezra Justice and his motley band of raiders fail at various levels to seem solidly grounded in reality. They, of course, take themselves seriously, but some readers may struggle to believe that such people truly exist anywhere in the world. Ezra is intended to develop spiritually during the book's course yet fails miserably in that area. Yes, Ezra learns a few lessons, but generally by being suddenly told, not through the natural progression of the book's plot. An additional concern for some readers, especially Southerners and those who strongly believe in the rules of just warfare, is that, while Ezra briefly questions the consequences of Sherman's March to the Sea, his concern is the bitterness it might cause, not that plunder and arson are war crimes, committed by war criminals. At any rate, readers who appreciate high-quality literature may want to avoid this book. Though in different hands it might have potential, "The Justice Riders" as it is reads like a dime novel.
A solid and well written western novel. Oct. 4 2014
By Joseph J. Truncale - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I have become a fan of western novels over the years, (mostly Longarm and Jonah Hex) but this is the first western book, The Justice Riders” I have read by Chuck Norris (Ken Abraham, Aaron Norris & Tim Grayem). This one begins around the time the Civil War was ending and is about General Sherman giving a secret assignment to Captain Ezra Justice. He is ordered to form a secret group of dependable union soldiers who will disrupt the confederate army in order to end the war sooner.

Justice has just the men in mind to recruit for this secret project. They include an African-American, Nathaniel York, a British sharpshooter, Reginald Bonesteel, Harry Whitecloud, an Indian warrior, a fighting Irishman, Shaun O’Banyon, the two Gypsy brothers, the Hawkins twins.

This 293 page novel has a little bit of everything you might want in a western action novel. This book flows smoothly beginning when Captain Justice seeks out his team to join him in the secret mission. There are fights, shoot-outs, and dramatic incidents in this book that keep you turning the pages. I especially enjoyed the character development in this novel. The one thing I did not like about this book which was the constant references to Jesus Christ and God. I thought there was way too much religious commentary in this book.

I never give away too much when I write a review of a novel because it spoils it for the reader. If you enjoy a solid western tale which takes place at the end of the civil war you might want to check out this book.

Rating: 4 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Martial Art Myths)


Feedback