The Keeper of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Keeper of Lost Causes: A Department Q Novel Hardcover – Aug 23 2011


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Aug 23 2011
CDN$ 28.00 CDN$ 2.19

Best Canadian Books of 2014
Stone Mattress is our #1 Canadian pick for 2014. See all

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Dutton Adult (Aug. 23 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525952489
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525952480
  • Product Dimensions: 16.1 x 3.3 x 23.6 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 680 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #241,517 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction."
(-Library Journal, (starred review))

"The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir."
(-The Times (London))

"The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book."
(-C.J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind)

"Gripping storytelling."
(-The Guardian)

"Jussi Adler-Olsen tells his stories as wickedly as Dean Koontz and has his detectives work as hard as Stieg Larsson."
(-Jydske Vestkysten (Denmark))

"This novel is for every Scandinavian crime fiction fan a must-read!"
(-Hannoversche Allgemeine (Germany))

"As impressive as it is unnerving."
(-The Independent)

"An unusually fine and extremely fascinating thriller, which will keep you breathless till the very last page."
(-politiken.dk)

About the Author

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's #1 crime writer. This novel has already appeared at the top of bestseller lists in Denmark and Germany, and subsequent entries in the series debuted at #1.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on Sept. 12 2011
Format: Hardcover
Yes, there is a plethora (I love that word) of Nordic and Scandinavian authors making their names known in North America lately, but here's one you want to take note of and write down - Jussi Adler-Olsen. Adler-Olsen is the author of the "Department Q" series featuring Carl Morck. The Keeper of Lost Causes is the first in the series and newly released in North America.

"Twenty-five years on the police force and ten in the homicide division has hardened him. That's how things had gone until the day when a murder case pierced his armour." Both figuratively and literally.

Carl has just returned to the force since a situation gone terribly wrong leaves his partner paralyzed and Carl seriously wounded. His usual inability to get along with others gets even worse as he attempts to come to terms with his guilt. His superior, under pressure to deal with cold cases, see a win-win situation. Assign Carl to head up what will be the new 'Department Q'. And the department consists of only Carl until he demands an administrative assistant. Assad is assigned to work in the basement with Carl. Assad is a bit of a mystery as we come to discover.

The interplay between these two characters is fantastic. Carl's skills as a detective really are unparalleled in the department. Assad's myriad set of skills are revealed as the two work together reopening the case of a missing politician, gone for five years and presumed drowned.

The politician's fate is slowly revealed in flashback chapters as Carl and Assad uncover more and more that indicates the case was never properly investigated the first time.

"She was going to look after herself. For them she was the woman in the cage, but she was the one who decide how far apart the bars would be.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Nicola Mansfield HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on Sept. 3 2011
Format: Hardcover
Reason for Reading: The plot just screamed "read me!" and I'm a fan of Scandi Crime.

Outstanding! The first chapter had me hooked on the case and the second chapter had me fascinated with the main character, Copenhagen detective Carl Morck. Usually I'm into the serial killer type of crimes but this case involves a kidnapping/missing persons case that is incredibly taut and gripping. Carl Morck has just come back to work after being in a shoot-out where he was injured and each of his two partners were either killed or seriously impaired for life. Carl has never been a lovable guy and this emotional event has not helped matters. He is sent to the basement, given his own department, Department Q, where he will work on cold cases. The first one that he and his Syrian assistant choose is that of the missing persons case of a prominent young female politician who has been missing, presumed accidentally drowned, five years ago. But Carl and Assad find out that many things were not properly investigated at the time. Everyone assumes that she is dead, but Merete isn't dead and won't be until her kidnapper's appointed time of execution.

Carl is a flawed character with many problems but one that the reader routes for and agrees with as he fights against the establishment. His Syrian assistant, Assad, is both comic relief and a very intriguing character as he demonstrates great insight into detective work and has amazing contacts and capabilities which provoke interest in his mysterious past. Carl and Assad make a great team, their opposing characters bounce off each other as each gains great respect for the other.

The case was fabulous! Everything one can want in a thriller. Full of twists and turns and fantastic descriptions of the victim's suffering.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Len TOP 100 REVIEWER on Feb. 27 2013
Format: Paperback
Carl Morck has recently returned to work after he was injured in a shoot-out and his partner was left paralyzed. Racked with guilt and self-doubt, he does little all day and his superior doesn’t know what to do with him until the government provides funding for his department to reinvestigate unsolved cases. Assad, a Muslim of mysterious origins, has been hired as his assistant. Life and his work develop meaning when Assad tells him of a case he’s read about a beautiful politician that went missing off a boat five years previously. The reason for her disappearance is questionable to Carl and as he investigates further, he develops more questions. With the help of Assad, Carl slowly unravels the terrible realities of the woman’s disappearance. An enjoyable, captivating read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really liked the main characters. I found that there're portrayed very realistically, although Assad is an interesting character I would like to know more about. The main story was excellent. I had a really hard time putting the book down. It was also nice to be able to relate to the place in Denmark. After finishing I immediately logged onto. Amazon.ca and purchased the three Dept. Q books in 'stock'. This author is as enjoyable as Jo Nesbo.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Francine Deschenes on April 15 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I have enjoyed it. I intend to read the other ones, and the complete serie of books from the same author.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This author is just fantastic. I find these books super interesting and so different from everything else out there. I have an intense interest in the characters that I normally don't feel at all in the average mystery. This is a terrific book and arrived quickly and in super condition. I am very very happy with this purchase.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback