The Last Of The Angels: A Modern Arabic Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Last Of The Angels on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel [Paperback]

Fadhil al-Azzawi

List Price: CDN$ 22.99
Price: CDN$ 16.78 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.21 (27%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 2 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $8.77  
Hardcover CDN $25.50  
Paperback CDN $16.78  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

July 22 2008

From a legendary writer both beloved and banished by Iraq -- a fine work of Arabic literature in the vein of Naguib Mahfouz and Elias Khoury, and a magical and moving comic novel about the birth of modern Iraq.

Kirkuk, Iraq, the 1950s. The day Hameed Nylon loses his job, and gains an unfortunate nickname, is the day that his life begins: dismissed as a chauffeur when rumors surface that he propositioned his British boss's posh-tart wife, Hameed finds his true calling as a revolutionary in an Iraq that is destined for a sea change. Also bent on bucking the system is Hameed's brother-in-law, the money-scheming butcher Khidir Musa, who runs off suddenly to Russia to find two brothers who have been missing since World War I. And the key to their fate is held by a seven-year-old boy, Burhan Abdallah, who stumbles upon an old chest in his attic that allows him to speak with three white-robed old men, beings who inform him that they are, in fact, angels.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Free Press (July 22 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416567453
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416567455
  • Product Dimensions: 21.2 x 13.8 x 2 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 281 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,098,410 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Al-Azzawi left Iraq in 1977 for exile in Germany. This 1992 novel about 1950s Kirkuk was banned in Iraq: it covers a series of hilarious, surreal and sometimes horrifying adventures in a neighborhood of Arabs, Turkmen and Kurds during the fall of the monarchy and the rise of the Ba'ath Party. Hameed Nylon—a nickname born of rumors that he lost his job with the Iraq Petroleum Company after offering his English boss's wife a pair of stockings in exchange for sex—becomes an unlikely leader of a people's revolution. Khidir Musa, a butcher suffering midlife crisis, has a vision that starts him on a quest to find his two brothers, missing in the Soviet Union since WWI. A barber killed by an errant bullet during a demonstration becomes a saint whose mausoleum attracts worshippers from afar. Young Burhan Abdallah comes upon three angels who promise to bring rebirth to Kirkuk: he waits for them to keep their word through the rise and fall of one cruel tyrant after another. With comic coincidence as a major plot device, Al-Azzawi explores politics, religion, culture and self-interest with very little inhibition (except where it comes to women, who are mostly absent) in this rollicking, bittersweet satire. (July)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"The Last of the Angels is a life experience....The novel's language is an unbroken flow that seduces you right up to the final page of this magnificent tale. And in telling the story, its details sparkle with every description, every sentence, and every page." -- Al-Zaman (London)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  4 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of wonders . . . Feb. 16 2010
By Ronald Scheer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Wonderful novel (meaning both an object of wonder and full of wonders) by Iraqi poet Fadhil al-Azzawi, about a poor-but-proud, mostly Kurdish community in the city of Kirkuk. The time is the 1950s, as hope of a post-war spring enlivens the aspirations of a ragtag cast of characters. Hopes, however, are dashed over and again despite the occasional triumph against all odds, like the retrieval by zeppelin of two long lost brothers who never returned from WWI. Magical realism is an overused word and doesn't do justice to the flights of perfectly plausible fantasy that propel the narrative forward. Meanwhile, the readiness to suspend disbelief among the inhabitants of the neighborhood makes them susceptible to any far-fetched possibility - like the ascension into heaven of a barber after being shot during an attempt to prevent a road being built through a cemetery by a British-owned petroleum company. Or the appearance of Death as a character, or of angels, both full-size and small.

Politics informs much of the story, as one character instigates a people's revolution (modeled after Mao's), which embarrasses the local do-nothing communists. The young monarch Faisal II makes an appearance, before he is assassinated, and the Ba'ath party dictatorship begins to assume prominence. The latent bloodthirstiness of the mob, as it emerges at times, is countered with increasingly brutal force by those in power, and we read accounts of torture in prisons, drawn from al-Azzawi's own experience as a political prisoner of Saddam Hussein before the author's eventual exile in the 1970s.

The final chapters flash forward to the 1990s, which are represented in an apocalyptic vision reminiscent of Revelations. Hope struggles in mortal combat with despair, and it is not until the last sentence that we fully appreciate the book's title. The story, as it is told, ranges from playfulness and comedy to scenes of utter horror. That it embraces so much without losing its coherence is a considerable achievement, and a generously rich translation has been provided by William Hutchins. The Free Press edition includes a brief glossary, a study guide for group discussion, and an interview with the author.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oddly mystical, magical, and ultimately confused July 8 2008
By David W. Nicholas - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This is billed as an Arab novel in the tradition of Naguib Mahfouz. Since I've read some of Mahfouz and enjoyed his work, I thought I might give this book a try. The book starts promisingly enough, but wanders off into irrelevance and incoherence by the end.

Hameed, the main character, works for a British petroleum company as a driver. The time (you guess from later in the book) is the early 1950s. When he propositions the wife of one of the people he drives around, he's fired, and this incident (which leads to his being nicknamed Hameed "Nylon", because he offered her a pair of them as a gift) is the starting point for the novel.

Hameed, you see, is blameless. After all, he was driving this woman around half-naked, and she regularly visited a lover who wasn't her husband. As a result, it was only natural that a man would proposition her, and completely unfair for him to be fired as a result. His firing results in demonstrations and even rioting, though of course everyone ridicules him about the nylons.

So the story starts there, and wanders all over the landscape. Magical things happen at various parts of the book: there are mythical people inside a box in one person's attic, ghosts inhabit various rooms in buildings, and Death himself makes an appearance several times. One of the main characters journeys to Russia to find his long lost brothers, missing since the First World War, and returns with them, in a blimp which he pilots himself, and which is just not mentioned after he lands it at home. As the book progresses, things get more and more unbelievable, more and more incoherent, more and more just silly.

I did enjoy parts of this book, but I must say that overall I didn't enjoy it that much. I would recommend it only to those who are interested in Arab culture and society.
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed first third only Jan. 5 2011
By Leland Embrey - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Due to my age(old), I am quick to toss any book(or video) that doesn't sustain a high level of interest/entertainment. In the first third there were many tidbits, even moments of unexpected poetry. Then I found it too tedious.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amussing angels... April 5 2008
By Patricia J. Gordon - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the comedy of the every day life of the arab in this book.
It has opened up a view of life in a part of the world I did not know anything about. Some of the stories were entertaining and some were very sad. This is a good read.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback