CDN$ 12.63
  • List Price: CDN$ 13.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 1.36 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Library Of The Dead Paperback – May 3 2010


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 12.63
CDN$ 5.24 CDN$ 0.56

2014 Books Gift Guide
Yes Please, the eagerly anticipated first book from Amy Poehler, the Golden Globe winning star of Parks and Recreation, is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Frequently Bought Together

The Library Of The Dead + Book Of Souls
Price For Both: CDN$ 25.22

One of these items ships sooner than the other.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Weekend (May 3 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1554683106
  • ISBN-13: 978-1554683109
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.4 x 18.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 272 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #57,678 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Glenn Cooper's Library of the Dead marks the debut of a startling new talent. Here is a story both incandescent and explosive.A seamless blend of modern-day thriller and historical mystery with an ending that left me breathless. A debut not to be missed.

(James Rollins ) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

GLENN COOPER is the author of three internationally bestselling novels: Library of the Dead, its sequel, Book of Souls, and The Tenth Chamber. He graduated from Harvard with a degree in archaeology and received his medical degree from Tufts University. After practicing medicine, he was the chairman and CEO of a biotechnology company in Massachusetts. He is also a screenwriter and film producer. Visit him online at glenncooperbooks.com.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars

Most helpful customer reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on July 17 2009
Format: Paperback
Library of the Dead is a debut novel for author Glenn Cooper.

The book opens to a flashback from the year 777. It is the 7th day of the 7th month, and a village fearfully awaits the birth of a 7th son is born to a 7th son.

Fast forward to 1947. An discovery so unprecedented and considered a danger to the civilized world is secreted away in Nevada - in Area 51.

Fast forward again to present day New York City. FBI Agent Will Piper, once renowned with the agency for his success in profiling and capturing serial killers, has fallen from favour and is now counting down the months to retirement. But circumstances get him called in to deal with what the press is calling the Doomsday Killer. Victims are receiving plain white postcards with a date. That date is the day they die - and it's happened seven times so far.

How could these three scenarios be connected?

Cooper has created an intriguing plot, plausibly combining past and present. The flashbacks from 777 are especially gripping, feeding us snippets that may explain who or what Will is chasing. The premise is good and the action totally captured me from the first to last page.

Will as a personality blew a little hot and cold for me. I did like him as a character, but he seemed a little inconsistent sometimes, as did his partner Nancy. I think Cooper's character development will improve. He has already written the sequel, called Book of Souls, and I will definitely be picking it up.

Fans of James Rollins, Dan Brown and Brad Thor would enjoy this book
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By sianacap on May 29 2009
Format: Paperback
I loved this book! It is without question a terrifying thriller in the true sense of the word but also sophisticated and incredibly well-written- not generally a hallmark of this genre. Once you get into it you literally can't put it down, except of course to give your heart a break from racing out of your chest. The structure transitions seamlessly from modern day New York to 8th century England to post WWII, in what initially seems like an attempt to solve a serial killer on the loose. Nothing seems to connect the victims, except they each received a postcard accurately predicting their date of death. We are gradually drawn into a much more complicated and seriously disturbing underworld, and the attention to detail and historical accuracy helps us suspend any semblance of disbelief and go along for the ride. Taps into the fascinating yet irritatingly irrational belief that when it comes to our own mortality, somehow, our days are numbered.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By L. D. Godfrey TOP 500 REVIEWER on July 26 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Library Of The Dead was a first novel for Glenn Cooper. I thought this book had an interesting plot line. The author took an event on the Isle of Wight in the year of 777AD, linked it with two seemingly unrelated events in 1947, and then to the year 2009 with a serial killer being chased through the streets of New York. As you might expect the book jumps around a lot between the different time periods which I felt took away from the flow. Although the writing seems almost mechanical in places the book certainly has it good points. This book left me feeling a little flat in the end but not enough to stop me from buying other novels by Cooper. I will be watching for the sequel.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I'm only giving this a one star because I thought it was a new book by Glenn Cooper and bought it. It's "Library of the Dead" which was great.

I see now that it's the same cover but obviously didn't notice when I ordered it. Not sure why it would be published under different titles.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback