Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Library Of The Dead [Paperback]

Glenn Cooper
3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 13.99
Price: CDN$ 12.59 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 1.40 (10%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, July 28? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback CDN $12.59  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $8.65  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

May 3 2010
In New York City, Will Piper investigates the high-profile Doomsday serial murders. Taken off the case just as he’s making progress, he continues to search for answers -- and finds links to Area 51, and an ancient mystery that is the government's greatest secret.

Frequently Bought Together

The Library Of The Dead + Book Of Souls + Tenth Chamber
Price For All Three: CDN$ 41.23

Show availability and shipping details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Book Of Souls CDN$ 12.59

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Tenth Chamber CDN$ 16.05

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

Glenn Cooper's Library of the Dead marks the debut of a startling new talent. Here is a story both incandescent and explosive.A seamless blend of modern-day thriller and historical mystery with an ending that left me breathless. A debut not to be missed.

(James Rollins ) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

GLENN COOPER is the author of three internationally bestselling novels: Library of the Dead, its sequel, Book of Souls, and The Tenth Chamber. He graduated from Harvard with a degree in archaeology and received his medical degree from Tufts University. After practicing medicine, he was the chairman and CEO of a biotechnology company in Massachusetts. He is also a screenwriter and film producer. Visit him online at glenncooperbooks.com.


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid debut - will be watching for the sequel July 17 2009
By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAME TOP 10 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Library of the Dead is a debut novel for author Glenn Cooper.

The book opens to a flashback from the year 777. It is the 7th day of the 7th month, and a village fearfully awaits the birth of a 7th son is born to a 7th son.

Fast forward to 1947. An discovery so unprecedented and considered a danger to the civilized world is secreted away in Nevada - in Area 51.

Fast forward again to present day New York City. FBI Agent Will Piper, once renowned with the agency for his success in profiling and capturing serial killers, has fallen from favour and is now counting down the months to retirement. But circumstances get him called in to deal with what the press is calling the Doomsday Killer. Victims are receiving plain white postcards with a date. That date is the day they die - and it's happened seven times so far.

How could these three scenarios be connected?

Cooper has created an intriguing plot, plausibly combining past and present. The flashbacks from 777 are especially gripping, feeding us snippets that may explain who or what Will is chasing. The premise is good and the action totally captured me from the first to last page.

Will as a personality blew a little hot and cold for me. I did like him as a character, but he seemed a little inconsistent sometimes, as did his partner Nancy. I think Cooper's character development will improve. He has already written the sequel, called Book of Souls, and I will definitely be picking it up.

Fans of James Rollins, Dan Brown and Brad Thor would enjoy this book
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an intelligent thriller... May 29 2009
Format:Paperback
I loved this book! It is without question a terrifying thriller in the true sense of the word but also sophisticated and incredibly well-written- not generally a hallmark of this genre. Once you get into it you literally can't put it down, except of course to give your heart a break from racing out of your chest. The structure transitions seamlessly from modern day New York to 8th century England to post WWII, in what initially seems like an attempt to solve a serial killer on the loose. Nothing seems to connect the victims, except they each received a postcard accurately predicting their date of death. We are gradually drawn into a much more complicated and seriously disturbing underworld, and the attention to detail and historical accuracy helps us suspend any semblance of disbelief and go along for the ride. Taps into the fascinating yet irritatingly irrational belief that when it comes to our own mortality, somehow, our days are numbered.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Library of the Dead July 26 2009
By L. D. Godfrey TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Library Of The Dead was a first novel for Glenn Cooper. I thought this book had an interesting plot line. The author took an event on the Isle of Wight in the year of 777AD, linked it with two seemingly unrelated events in 1947, and then to the year 2009 with a serial killer being chased through the streets of New York. As you might expect the book jumps around a lot between the different time periods which I felt took away from the flow. Although the writing seems almost mechanical in places the book certainly has it good points. This book left me feeling a little flat in the end but not enough to stop me from buying other novels by Cooper. I will be watching for the sequel.
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I'm only giving this a one star because I thought it was a new book by Glenn Cooper and bought it. It's "Library of the Dead" which was great.

I see now that it's the same cover but obviously didn't notice when I ordered it. Not sure why it would be published under different titles.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback