Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

The Recorder: 4 Centuries of Recorder Music

Pro Arte Recorder Ens of Argen Audio CD

Price: CDN$ 20.72 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Product Details

1. Two Canticles
2. 7th Royal Estampie
3. Le Ductia
4. Salterello
5. Danse
6. 5th Royal Estampie
7. Royal Danse
8. Lonc le rieu de la fontaine-Regnat
9. Tant Con Je Vivrai
10. Or est Baiars en Hure!
11. Canzona la Bernardino
12. Fantasia
13. Fantasia For Two Basses
14. If Love Now Reigned
15. En vray amoure
16. Torre de la nina - Meu Naranjedo
17. 'Pavana y Gallarda D'Angleterre'
18. Suite For Five Instruments
19. La Alfonsina
20. Canon ad Nonam
See all 30 tracks on this disc

Product Description

This is a sumptuous collection of recorder solos, duets and ensemble pieces from the Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque periods performed by the Conjunto Pro Arte de Flautas Dules (Pro Arte Recorder Ensemble) of= Artgentina. Medieval Estampies, arrangements of the Cantigas de Santa Maria del Sabio, Christmas Songs, Canzonas and other ensemble works by such composers as Josquin Des Pres, Henry VIII, Garvalse, Van Eyck, Finger and others, all expertly performed on various recorders of different registers and period.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  5 reviews
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview Aug. 18 2000
By Sandra Sterrenberg - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
I was introduced to this collection at an institute of The California Arts Project which focused on teaching beginning recorder. This CD has an excellent variety...using the different types of recorders, and music of different periods. This CD is good for developing listening skills and for appreciating the importance of the recorder throughout musical history.
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!! Just wonderful. (if you like ancient music) Dec 17 2006
By Paul D - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I was not sure about this, but saw another 5 star rating, and decided to take the gamble. This is a really nice CD. It has all sizes of recorders played, and lots of various percussion instruments of the day. This has lots of happy ancient dance songs and more solumn sounding but beautiful peices. The cover says the group is from Argentina. I am now looking for more of their CDs.
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beauty and Variety Feb. 16 2008
By Kenneth J. Dillon - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
When I first played this CD, my downstairs neighbor came up and begged me to lend it to him. I know why. It contains one hauntingly lovely piece after another, all played with exquisite taste. The recordings were made a long time ago, so this may be the only CD that will ever become available from this Argentinian group. I plan to give it as a gift to special people, including my composer brother, who writes for the flute--to encourage him to write for the recorder, too. Highly recommended.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recorder music March 29 2014
By Sid Nuncius - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
This is a rather out-of-the-way recording which I happened to stumble across, and I'm very glad I did. It's a fascinating, often lovely and always hugely enjoyable disc of music for recorder ensemble from the 13th- to the 17th Centuries.

Much of this music was unfamiliar to me but several of the composers are very familiar - Josquin, Weelkes, Henry VIII, Marcello and Couperin to name just a few. It's a great programme, tracing the development of recorder music through the period but never sounding like an instructional treatise. The Pro Arte Recorder Ensemble are excellent throughout, using, as they proudly tell us, seven different sizes of recorder from the 10cm exilent to the 1.3 metre Grand Bass. They make a wonderful sound together, delicately augmented by a little percussion and viola da gamba or clavicord continuo in places. My sole reservation about the disc is that I find if I play it all the way through the sound of the recorder ensemble begins to get a little samey, but shorter sections at a time are an absolute joy.

I think anyone with any interest in early music will love this disc. It's fine music, excellently played and very well recorded. The presentation is attractive and the notes very informative (if a little on the dry side). This was a very happy find for me and I recommend it warmly.
5.0 out of 5 stars The Recorder: 4 centuries of recorder music Feb. 20 2010
By Barbara F. Aslakson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I bought this as a gift for a recorderist friend of mine. I saw him yesterday and he said he loved it. Nuff said.

Look for similar items by category