Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Serpent's Shadow [Hardcover]

Rick Riordan
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 21.99
Price: CDN$ 15.87 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.12 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Friday, August 29? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover CDN $15.87  
Paperback CDN $9.50  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged CDN $13.13  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

May 1 2012 Kane Chronicles, The (Book 3)
He's b-a-a-ack! Despite their best efforts, Carter and Sadie Kane can't seem to keep Apophis, the chaos snake, down. Now Apophis is threatening to plunge the world into eternal darkness, and the Kanes are faced with the impossible task of having to destroy him once and for all. Unfortunately, the magicians of the House of Life are on the brink of civil war, the gods are divided, and the young initiates of Brooklyn House stand almost alone against the forces of chaos. The Kanes' only hope is an ancient spell that might turn the serpent's own shadow into a weapon, but the magic has been lost for a millennia. To find the answer they need, the Kanes must rely on the murderous ghost of a powerful magician who might be able to lead them to the serpent's shadow . . . or might lead them to their deaths in the depths of the underworld.
Nothing less than the mortal world is at stake when the Kane family fulfills its destiny in this thrilling conclusion to the Kane Chronicles.

Frequently Bought Together

The Serpent's Shadow + The Heroes of Olympus - Book Three The Mark of Athena + The House of Hades
Price For All Three: CDN$ 44.73


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

Storytelling that will get readers hooked -- Philip Ardagh The Guardian Witty and inspired. Gripping, touching and deliciously satirical. Times Sure to become a classic Sunday Express --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Rick Riordan (www.rickriordan.com) is the author of the # 1 New York Times best-selling The Heroes of Olympus, Book One: The Lost Hero; The Heroes of Olympus, Book Two: The Son of Neptune; the #1 New York Times best-selling The Kane Chronicles, Book One: The Red Pyramid; The Kane Chronicles, Book Two: The Throne of Fire; as well as the five books in the #1 New York Times best-selling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. His previous novels for adults include the hugely popular Tres Navarre series, winner of the top three awards in the mystery genre. He lives in San Antonio, Texas, with his wife and two sons.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By Alison S. Coad TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
"The Serpent's Shadow" is the final novel in Rick Riordan's Egyptian trilogy known as The Kane Chronicles, and if anything, he manages to ramp up the action even more than he did with the two prior books, "The Red Pyramid" and "The Throne of Fire." Siblings Carter and Sadie Kane, channeling the powers of Horus and Isis respectively, must go on a quest to find the shadow of Apophis, the personification of Chaos, with the intention of using the serpent's shadow to destroy it once and for all. The only thing at stake is the survival of the entire universe, and the siblings have only three days to accomplish the task. In the meantime, Carter is trying to wrestle with his feelings for Zia, an Egyptian magician, while Sadie feels conflicted between Walt, who is dying, and Anubis, the god of death, and when those two become closer to one another, she doesn't know what to think. Can the siblings resolve their personal lives and save the universe, all in three days? Only by reading the book can one find out.... I don't find this series as compelling as Riordan's "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" books, but it contains his usual snarky humour mixed in with some poignant scenes and a whole lot of very fast action. As such, it's an enjoyable rollercoaster of a read, and therefore is recommended - but you need to read the first two books in the trilogy in order to understand this one!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK EVER July 16 2013
By R
Format:Kindle Edition
This book is a awesome book this is my fifth time reading it and I still love it BEST BOOK EVER
Was this review helpful to you?
By CP
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Rick Riordan did it again. All of his books are good, including this last book of the series.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars  894 reviews
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good ending for the story arc, hope there are more! May 9 2012
By Mom of Two - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I thought this was a great ending for the trilogy. I just hope we will see more of the Kane family if another series soon. Loved the cameo appearances from Camp Half Blood at the school dance! :-) I hope we might see a story arc mixing the demi gods and the magicians at some point?!
52 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riordan's Fans Won't Be Disappointed May 3 2012
By Leigh - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
With "The Serpent's Shadow," Rick Riordan sticks with his winning formula: gods and heroes (or magicians) must work together to save the world--and they only have a few days to do it. In the final book of the Kane Chronicle, Carter and Sadie have to complete a quest to stop Apophis and the forces of chaos before they destroy all of the created order. Along the way there's plenty of humor, a little romance, some crazy outfits, and lots of fun twists as Riordan brings Egyptian mythology into the modern world. Fans of Riordan's Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series will notice a couple cameos--and some hints of more adventures to come. It's a fun romp of a read. Highly recommended.
43 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again! May 6 2012
By writingnow - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Honestly, I was a bit apprehensive going into this. Rick had left far more questions than answers at the end of TOF, and I had a horrible feeling that I was going to be disappointed with some of the resolutions.

I don't know why I doubted his abilities for a second.

Packed with the humor, action, and romance we've come to expect (not to mention including a suble nod or two to our friends in Manhattan), the final instalment in the Kane Chronicles Trilogy is guarenteed to keep you on the edge of your seat till the very end. An absolute must-read!
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of the series May 13 2012
A Kid's Review - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I've got to admit that the first two books in the Kane Chronicles I was not crazy about. They werent quite on the Percy Jackson level that i love- But this one is incredible. I love it. It is easily the best part of the trilogy. Rick Riordan tied in some stuff from Percy's world, too-Piper McLean's enemy Drew is the local mean girl and Lacy (also from the Aphrodite cabin) is a friend of Sadie's. The characters reach the depth they need in this book. The ending is great.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic conclusion May 8 2012
By Andy Shuping - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Apophis is rising and chaos is about to destroy the world. And only Carter and Sadie Kane can stop him. But the only ones left to stand with them are the young magicians of Brooklyn House as their allies are being attacked, the House of Life is divided and on the brink of the civil war, and the gods themselves stand apart. To put an end to Apophis they need to find a spell that has been lost for a millennia and the only one that can lead them to it is the ghost of a deadly magician. Can Carter and Sadie do the impossible one last time? Or will the world fall into chaos?

In this third and final book in the Kane trilogy, Riordan once again weaves his magic to create an epic battle and a memorable story. Riordan weaves a tale that will keep the reader on the edge of the seat through the twists and turns that are created, wondering and hoping that all of our heroes survive to do battle one more time. There's plenty of humor, some romance, the return of old friends, and lots of fun twists in this tale. And possibly a hint or two of future adventures to come. It's an epic read and I highly recommend it.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback