Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Toynbee Convector Mass Market Paperback – May 1 1989


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 39.64 CDN$ 0.01

Join Amazon Student in Canada


--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Spectra; Reprint edition (May 1 1989)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553279572
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553279573
  • Product Dimensions: 17 x 10.7 x 2 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 91 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,864,063 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
I was disappointed when I read One More For the Road. That was not on of Mr. Bradbury's better collections. But The Toynbee Convector is full of all the tales and ideas we know Mr. Bradbury is capable of.
We begin with the title story involving time travel. Next we get a dark tale of mysterious trapdoor. From there we meet ghosts, banshees and things that are not there. We return to Green Town, see romances, experience jealousies. and meet writers.
The stories cover a very broad spectrum of Mr. Bradbury's work. Because of that, some who read the collection straight through (as I did) might feel bounced around a little by the changing themes. Others, like myself, will savor each story for what it is, from literary popcorn to written gem.
If you like the author's older collections, then this is one for you. If you thought One More For The Road was his best, there will still be something in her for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Hardcover
By reading the information on the copyright page, the reader will note that the stories in this book have been culled from over a half dozen publications, possibly many more. As such, it seems reasonable to assume that they were written over a span of a great number of years. I would have found it helpful had the original copyright dates of each entry been included so one could, in some ways, track Bradbury's development as a writer.
Having said that, I did enjoy this book for the very variety that seems to have put off some of the reviewers here. There are stories that are pure Sci-Fi, others that are perfect examples of the horror genre, some that make us want to laugh and/or cry, and many that combine several of these aspects.
One of the latter that I found particularly moving is "Lafayette, Farewell." In it, an elderly man who knows that he is to die soon begins to relive the air battles he fought as a fighter pilot over France during World War I. Every night, he sees and hears the planes of those brave young men who died as he successfully shot their planes out of the sky. He now feels guilty over taking the lives of those innocent young pilots who, like himself, were sent into a war not of their own making.
He fears that he will be consigned to hell for what he has done, and he asks his neighbor how he can, at this late date, be forgiven. His neighbor suggests that, since they, in their planes, are appearing over his house nightly before parachuting to their deaths in his back yard, he plainly and simply, ask them for their forgiveness. In a very moving scene, he does just that and they indicate that he is forgiven.
This is really a touching story, one of my favorites in the book.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on April 12 2002
Format: Hardcover
If Ray Bradbury had never writeen anything but "The Laurel and Hardy Love Affair," a short story which is in this book, he'd be my favorite writer. Of course, I'm a huge fan of those two comedians, and one of their best movies is the "subject" of the article, but the story is just great...I'll bet I've read it at least once a month for over 20 years. Buy this book to read that story!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book the 'Toynbee Convector' is a very clever collection of Bradbury's works. Each story is unique and it is well worth searching used book stores for this one. I enjoyed this one tremendously as it continues in the tradition of 'The Martian Chronicles' and 'The Illustrated Man' with it's creativity.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Hardcover
Ray Bradbury's tales in this book are both inspiring and entertaining. My favorite aspect of these stories is that in many of them, Bradbury seems to take a common event and throw a slight twist of science fiction into story. Each story paints a picture that part of me takes to heart everytime I read it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Mike on March 9 2000
Format: Hardcover
The Book "The Toynbee Convector" by Ray Bradbury is a very good title. This might be his best collection of short stories ever. Every story is unique in its own way, each having a different ending. Like Bradbury's most famous piece, "Fahrenheit 451", most stories take place in the future. This is a great read for any type of reader.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback