Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The White Woman and Her Valley Paperback – May 1987

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"
CDN$ 134.77 CDN$ 11.58

Cyber Monday Deals Week in Books

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Publisher: Empire State Books (May 1987)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0932334881
  • ISBN-13: 978-0932334886
  • Product Dimensions: 21.4 x 14.9 x 1.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 358 g
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
A pleasure again! May 3 2000
By Jacque Antinore - Published on
Format: Paperback
I recently re-read this Arch Merrill classic. His use of language has a flair that is rarely experienced in modern novels. He paints a picture of the Western New York locales that I, as a native, find to be accurate yet remindful of a time when these hills, valleys, and the gorge of the Genesee River must have been so pristine and even more beautiful than today. Merrill tells of the raw truth of savage times without the gore that modern stories find necessary to include. He leaves much to the imagination while describing a multitude of detail. I love the book and the authors quaint style.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Echoes of the valley April 30 2001
By Kerrie - Published on
Format: Paperback
I am a student of history and local history is especially interesting to me so I love the Arch Merrill books. His writing style is informative and at the same time very easy to read. Every time I travel to Letchworth Park I am reminded of this book and Merrill's vivid description of the beauty and the story of Mary Jemison. Merrill's books should not be out of print because they are the most valuable resource we have in keeping the history of Western New York alive! I aspire to write local history in the tradition of Arch Merrill and I respect him as a role model.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Favorable Comments June 25 2012
By Judy Morris - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is one more book written by Arch Merrill that I have enjoyed reading. I believe why this book is so awesome is because the setting is in the early days of the Indians and their settlements in the area that is home to me....western New York State. I have always wanted to know more about the history of this area and era.
the seller was very prompt is mailing this book to me and the condition of the book was excellent!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
History Made Interesting Sept. 23 2013
By Laurinda Wallace - Published on
Verified Purchase
Arch Merrill has a long held reputation for writing history that's engaging and downright interesting. This book is no exception. With a storyteller's finesse this collection of vignettes from the early days of the Genesee Valley delivers a good read while sharing the colorful history of the beautiful valley (Genesee). While Merrill may not have been an official historian, his ability to capture the interesting tidbits of people's lives from the 1700s and 1800s make a good read for those interested in Western New York history.

Laurinda Wallace, Author of Family Matters
Four Stars Aug. 11 2015
By gordy wickham - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Quality item

Look for similar items by category