march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$55.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 18, 2009
I am using this book for a Masters level group development course. It is honestly a book I could and would want to read on my own. It does not read like a textbook which is refreshing and Yalom puts the information across in such a way where you can follow and feel attached to what he is saying. Much of what he says feels like it was said in discussion and the questions he asks are reflective and introspective, not at all the usual questions you find in textbooks. i would recommend this book to any professor and any student or individual who wants to learn about group development.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
As usual Yalom writes in a way that is easy to follow, but keeps you thinking all the while.
Great text for Group Psychotherapy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
We used this book for class, I liked the price but found it difficult to read at times the author talks only to promote his other books. Also some topics presented only the authsor way of doing things which is fine but as a intro to group counselling book I felt it should present multiple views. Overall there are a few things I will reference in future but Iwould not make this my go to reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
Good book for learning about theory behind group counselling techniques. Yalom is an engaging writer and provides some good anecdotal material to illustrate his points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
great book, every counsellor/counselling students should have it. The price is reasonable. It's worth to have it in your shelves
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2015
All was great. Prompt courteous service. Happy with the book.
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
This is for everyone. A timeless, and invaluable reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2011
This text may be considered the "gold standard" to use in gradate counseling group psychotherapy classes, but it only offers Yalom's perspective, which is very different from other theoretical orientations. This book was extremely difficult to read, and too excessive - 600+ pages. Just a ridiculous amount of reading. What's worse is that Yalom likes to ramble and does not necessarily get to the point. I ended up resorting to other texts to help me understand how to conduct group psychotherapy. Don't WASTE YOUR MONEY on this book - buy Corey & Corey's text on Group Psychotherapy. It's a much easier read, half the size, and you actually LEARN how to conduct and facilitate groups, and learn what you're supposed to learn in graduate counseling!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse