Start reading Tiger's Claw: A Novel on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Tiger's Claw: A Novel
 
See larger image
 

Tiger's Claw: A Novel [Kindle Edition]

Dale Brown
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: CDN$ 11.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers CA
This price was set by the publisher

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $18.80  
Paperback, Large Print CDN $18.89  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $10.79  
Audio, CD, Audiobook CDN $35.19  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

Former Air Force captain and New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is an acknowledged master when it comes to bringing military action to breathtaking life and he has received glowing accolades since his debut publication, Flight of the Old Dog.

Tiger’s Claw proves once again that every rave has been well deserved. Set in the near future, Tiger’s Claw imagines a scenario in which tensions escalate between an economically powerful China and a United States weakened by a massive economic downfall, bringing the two superpowers to the brink of total destruction. Brown’s popular protagonist, retired Air Force lieutenant-general Patrick McLanahan (of A Time for Patriots, Rogue Forces, and other Brown bestsellers), is back and preparing for the impending apocalyptic clash of men and military technology.

The incomparable Dale Brown scores again with a frighteningly possible story of war and global politics that’s ideal for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor.

From the Back Cover

Former Air Force captain and New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is an acknowledged master when it comes to bringing military action to breathtaking life,and he has received glowing accolades since his debutpublication, Flight of the Old Dog. Tiger's Claw provesonce again that every rave has been well deserved.

Set in the near future, Tiger's Claw imagines a scenario in which tensions escalate between an economically powerful China and a United States weakened by a massive economic downfall, bringing the two superpowersto the brink of total destruction. Retired Air ForceLieutenant General Patrick McLanahan is back andpreparing for the impending apocalyptic clash of men and military technology.

The incomparable Dale Brown scores again with a frighteningly possible story of war and global politics that's ideal for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor.


Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 657 KB
  • Print Length: 605 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062128280
  • Publisher: William Morrow; Reprint edition (Sept. 4 2012)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers CA
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007BCFAVE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #24,873 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars a very good book April 26 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
It shows how much trianing it takes to get crews ready and the decision that have to make on moments notice
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Another in a great series March 12 2013
By Alex
Format:Kindle Edition
A good read. Not quite as action packed as many of the previous titles, but a good plot. Surprise ending in many ways
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars The end of Patrick McLanahan Nov. 10 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Sadly this will be last Patrick McLanahan novel - what began with FLIGHT OF THE OLD DOG is over. TIGER's CLAW is okay, but really no action until the very end of the book - Dale Brown's earlier books were far better - this one has lots of political intrigue in China, a lot of What-If's - enjoyable but not exciting.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  234 reviews
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Brown Sept. 4 2012
By wbentrim - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Tiger's Claw by Dale Brown

Dale Brown plucks his plots out of newspaper headlines. This thriller postulates China as our new deadly foe. Obviously that is not much of a fictional stretch.

One of the subtleties of Brown's books is the need to read between the lines. The book points out that with the intertwined nature of the global economy it would be difficult for any conflict to escalate to war.

Even noting that, Brown clearly details how minor events can snowball into making conflict nearly inevitable. I haven't read any Dale Brown lately and I found this book a bit more formulistic than I recall. It could have been one I read several years ago with the names of the players being changed.

I do enjoy the reoccurring characters as that provides a familiarity to the story that is quite pleasant. The nature of the plot does not provide a lot of warm and fuzzy feelings but more of a sense of trepidation. The specific details sometimes get overwhelming but overall and entertaining read.

I recommend the book.
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad Sept. 8 2012
By Douglas E. Wilson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fairly exciting book, but not in the same calibar as flight of the old dog or cheeta, not one of his greatest books but good
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, but at least it's plodding Sept. 14 2012
By Raymond L. Sanford - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Lots of long-winded explanations about technical details. Very little story telling in the last few Dale Brown novels. It feels like he's just knocking something out to satisfy his publisher, not his audience.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiger's Claw by Dale Brown Oct. 4 2012
By Frank - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Tiger's Claw is a tipical Dale Brown written book.I collect his book's so I guess you would say I really like them. (Smile) I just wish he would write more.....Yes, I really did get this book from Amazon.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work Sept. 26 2012
By Cheflanu - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really liked the earlier works by Brown better...

I thought the plot was predictable and the techno-speak was done better in the earlier books like Flight of the Old Dog. I thought that Patrick was not as strong in this story as well. You would have thought with the death of Masters in the last book that he would have been a little more assertive with the company.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category