Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Tigertown Pictures [Import]

Comet Gain Audio CD

Price: CDN$ 19.16 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Product Details

1. Record Collection
2. Skinny Wolves
3. Jack Nance Rising
4. Deficient Love
5. Germ Of Youth/Ghosts Of Sulphate
6. Radar
7. Transmission Lost
8. Hate Soul
9. When You Come Back I'll Feel Like Jesus Coming Off The Cross
10. Dreaming Of Tigertown
11. Saturday Night Facts Of Life
12. The Ballad Of The Arms Of Cable Hogue
13. Jasper Johns
14. The Final Anesthetic

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack Nance was lost inside this song. Jan. 25 2011
By Stargrazer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Tigertown Pictures finds Comet Gain in a nascent, formative stage (following the departure of most of the original line-up a year earlier), suggesting their later bold strokes but not quite there. Songs and themes that they would later nail down appear here ("Jack Nance Rising," "Germ Of Youth/Ghosts Of Sulphate"), as does a surfeit of youthful idealism and mic-spitting, heart-on-sleeve energy. A lot of the shortcomings of Tigertown Pictures could easily be chalked up to the mix, with the insistent guitar pushing everything else backward -- and going along with that argument, T.P. is in fact another fine album in the Comet Gain mold: impassioned, informed, a late-night liaison between innocence and experience.

Tigertown Pictures continues the Comet Gain mythos of record-collecting music obsessives driven to make music, art-as-politics, pop music as salvation. In that regard, it works, even though it is really just a hint of things yet to come from this excellent British collective. On its own, it's a bit loose, even deliberately so, to stand as more than a stepping stone on the way to greater things. Those looking for a starting point with Comet Gain might want to start with the Broken Record Prayers collection of singles, which gives an excellent cross-section of their bewitching powers.

Look for similar items by category