CDN$ 52.85 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item is very good condition.We are going to ship from Japan, the delivery time is about 14-21days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tippett: Concerto for Double Import

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 52.85
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
2 new from CDN$ 41.95 4 used from CDN$ 24.58

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 27 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: British Broadcasting Corp.
  • ASIN: B000056P0P
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Son Pian E Forte. Alla Quarta Bassa: Adagio - LSO/Leopold Stokowski
2. Con: I. Allegro Con Brio - LSO/Leopold Stokowski
3. Con: II. Adagio Cantabile - LSO/Leopold Stokowski
4. Con: III. Allegro Molto - LSO/Leopold Stokowski
5. Mephisto Waltz No.I, S.110/2 - LSO/Leopold Stokowski
6. Sym No.6 'Sinf Semplice': I. Tempo Giusto - New Philharmonia Orch/Leopold Stokowski
7. Sym No.6 'Sinf Semplice': II. Humoreske. Allegretto - New Philharmonia Orch/Leopold Stokowski
8. Sym No.6 'Sinf Semplice': III. Proposta Seria. Adagio - New Philharmonia Orch/Leopold Stokowski
9. Sym No.6 'Sinf Semplice': IV. Tema Con Variazioni (Tema: Allegretto Un Poco) - New Philharmonia Orch/Leopold Stokowski

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

When most conductors reach a certain age they tend to stick with the tried and true and rarely learn new works. For Leopold Stokowski learning new works was his bread and butter till the end of his life. In his 80's he was still seeking out new works as can be heard on this cd. The Gabrieli (in a Stokowski arrangement) and Lizst were works he performed often but the Tippett and Nielsen were one time affairs for the concerts recorded here. Tippett's luminous string tone appealed to Stokowski's love of rich string sounds. He draws out a sound that is both luminous and very solid. The shifting rhythms and moods of Nielsen's 6th Symphony have tripped up many a young conductor
but Stokowski's ear for detail in his 80's was as sharp as in his 20's . The result is a performance that nicely captures Nielsen's
quirky orchestral flow. The performance are all in mono but don't
let that hold you back. The sound is quite full and detailed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa0a1436c) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1e10d2c) out of 5 stars Intriguing choices for Stokowski, but the performances are average Feb. 1 2006
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
This odd batch of works doesn't date from one concert, although all are live performances with the London Symphony (from 1961)and Philharmonia (from 1965). Despite the late date, the entire CD is in mono, recorded fairly far back. This deprives even the splashiness of Liszt's Mephisto Waltz #1 from having much impact. I admire Stokowski for taking up the Nielsen Sym. 6, an enigmatic work that few conductors can bring together convincingly--he doesn't do better than most, either. There is no deep involvement, although the finale summons some extra energy; the Scherzo is taken too quickly to bring out the details that make it a Humoreske - it simply flies by.

The rest of the program consists of bits and pieces. Stokowski's arrangement of a Gabrieli sonata is genteel and soothing. Tippett's early Concerto for Double String Orchestra gave pleasure to a British audience when Stokowski did this one-of-a-kind reading, but neither the work nor the performance catches one's attention. Stokowski puts energy into the orchestrated Mephisto Waltz, but this is a work that really demands the best recorded sound possible; here it gets much less than that.

In all, a lackluster collection despite some memorable moments in the Nielsen, which alone rises to the level of four stars.