Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Today I Feel Silly & Other Moods That Make My Day [Hardcover]

Jamie L Curtis
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (58 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 19.99
Price: CDN$ 14.43 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 5.56 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, July 31? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover CDN $9.95  
Hardcover, Sept. 15 1998 CDN $14.43  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Sept. 15 1998
Today I feel silly. Mom says it's the heat.
I put rouge on the cat and gloves on my feet.
I ate noodles for breakfast and pancakes at night.
I dressed like a star and was quite a sight.

Today I am sad, my mood's heavy and gray.
There's a frown on my face and it's been there all day.
My best friend and I had a really big fight.
She said that I tattled and I know that she's right.

Silly, cranky, excited, or sad--everyone has moods that can change each day. Jamie Lee Curtis's zany and touching verse, paired with Laura Cornell's whimsical and original illustrations, helps kids explore, identify, and, even have fun with their ever-changing moods.

Here's another inspired picture book from the bestselling author-illustrator team of Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born and When I Was Little: A Four-Year-Old's Memoir of Her Youth.


Frequently Bought Together

Today I Feel Silly & Other Moods That Make My Day + Big Words For Little People + It's Hard To Be Five: Learning How to Work My Control Panel
Price For All Three: CDN$ 43.29

Show availability and shipping details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Big Words For Little People CDN$ 14.43

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • It's Hard To Be Five: Learning How to Work My Control Panel CDN$ 14.43

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From Amazon

Jamie Lee Curtis has starred in many movies, but she says that the children's books she has written mean more to her than any of her films. She and artist Laura Cornell have previously collaborated on two bestselling books: Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born and When I Was Little: A Four-Year-Old's Memoir of Her Youth. This time, we follow a little girl with curly red hair through 13 different moods, beginning with silly: "Today I feel silly. / Mom says it's the heat. I put rouge on the cat / and gloves on my feet." Of course, silly soon turns to grumpy and mean... to excited... to confused, and so on. Recognizing one's own mood swings is a developmental milestone, one that some adults haven't yet mastered! Cornell's watercolor illustrations--wildly expressive and energetic--effectively capture the volatility of our redheaded star. Whether she is happy or mad or dancing a solo in jazz, she is always "full of pizzazz," and this book is, too. A clever mood wheel on the last page allows young readers to change the little girl's expression--both her eyes and mouth. This is silly fun with a smart lesson for children from ages 4 to 8. --Marcie Bovetz

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born and When I Was Little may be disappointed in this third offering from the talented duo, which looks at the wide range of human emotions. A dynamic girl describes a different "feeling" per day?13 in all?and the ways in which each manifests itself ("Today I feel silly./ Mom says it's the heat./ I put rouge on the cat/ and gloves on my feet"). Curtis relays her upbeat message ("Moods are just something that happen each day./ Whatever I'm feeling inside is okay!") in verse that is largely sprightly, but doesn't always reflect the changes in mood that occur during the course of the day the girl describes. For example, "Today I am quiet, my mom understands./ She gave me two ice creams and then we held hands./ We went to the movies and then had a bite./ I cried just a little and then felt all right," suggests a variety of feelings other than simply "quiet." Occasionally rhyming couplets take the facile route ("Today I'm discouraged and frustrated?see?/ I tried Rollerblading and fell on my knee"), and the repetitive, driving rhythm doesn't allow the words to soar the way the illustrations do. The puckish artwork, still vintage Cornell, stars a curly red-headed girl whose near-neon surroundings (hot pink, lime green, fiery orange) change in intensity according to the emotion she expresses. A "mood wheel" (for readers to hone in their feelings) rounds out this amiable enough outing that, despite its missteps, may get readers talking about their own emotional swings. Ages 4-8.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd Age Range included Oct. 1 2003
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
Bsically this is a terrific way for children to know they can express any feeling with or without a reason. However, why has Jamie Lee Curtis included wanting a boyfirend or having a crush on a teacher in a book aimed at 4 and 5 year olds? I hardly find that appropriate. Our culture jumps ahead much too quickly as it is. All of the children in our story hour were perplexed (not the book of my choosing for the story hour), and some wondered if they should have boyfriends etc. Forget it - let them be just "little kids" for a while. I returned my purchase. Other books are better.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN book to read to your Daughter March 30 2004
By Julie
Format:Hardcover
I bought this book for my 20 month old daughter after she enjoyed being read "I'm Gonna Like Me" also written by Jamie Lee Curtis. I think this is a wonderfully written book; the sentences rhyme and are rather short so as I read it to her, I can put emotion into my voice with each mood the character is going through. Although I think the words and pictures are a bit too advanced for a two year old to grasp, my enthusiasm while reading this book keeps my daughter very attentive and we can also point out the illustrations together. I will say that the character in the book is a girl and the pages mostly relate to "girl things" like braiding hair, having a boyfriend, going to the movies with her mom and so on. I don't think a boy may be as interested in the book. I personally don't feel offended by Jamie Lee Curtis' reference in to book to the character having a boyfriend or a crush on a teacher. That is just a part of life and emotions girls feel at times and it is addressed in a fun loving way. As a mom who once experience those same things, I feel comfortable teaching her myself about feelings toward boys not relying on a book to educate her. This book can be used to be open up to such discussions. At the end of the book is a 3D wheel of a face and as you turn the wheel the expression on the girls face changes from happy to angry to lonely and so on. Overall, a fun book for both child & parent!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Today I Feel Silly Is A great book! June 3 2004
By Ashley
Format:Hardcover
Today i feel silly is a great book especially for ages 5 or 6. I loved how she took somthing as simple as the way we feel each day and made it into this great book. The illistrations were great because they were colorful and very exciting for everyone to look at. With rhyming words in some parts of the book children will stay interested more easily. Children love the fact that they can realte to the book because they have have felt all of these feelings. I suggest this book for children ages 5-7. It is A GREAT BOOK.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIlly to sad April 1 2004
By Ashley
Format:Hardcover
Today I Feel Silly is a great book. Not only does it keep your attention the whole way through with the funny things happening but also with the colorful illistrations. I enjoyed reading this book because i know that i have felt the same way as the little girl in the story. I like knowing that the little girl could be a real person just telling how she feels. I also like the "How do you feel" wheel in th back of the book, because i know that when i am done reading the book i can use it and see all of the differnt funny faces. This is a great book and i suggest it for little ones.
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars Most of it good but some inappropriate Nov. 2 2012
Format:Hardcover
I find it completely inappropriate that there is one page devoted to having a crush on a teacher. There is also references to having a boyfriend. I was reading this to my 3 year old, I want to develop emotional intelligence. This book is aimed at 4-5 year olds - way off the mark for crushes and boyfriends. Returned it.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful May 9 2012
Format:Hardcover
I also like the "How do you feel" wheel in th back of the book, because i know that when i am done reading the book i can use it and see all of the differnt funny faces. This is a great book and i suggest it for little ones.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute Book! April 1 2003
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I think this book is wonderful for helping children identify their feelings. With each feeling is a situation that children can relate to. The illustration is great!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Names for feelings March 4 2004
Format:Hardcover
In this book, a little girl explains her moods and why she feels that way, all in rhymes. The girl feels alternately silly, joyful, or cranky, and a lot of other moods as well. The situations that put her in these moods are quite believable and real, like learning that she will have sibling, or tattling on a friend. The book is not scary, and the story is engaging. It has about 550 words.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback