When the Tripods Came and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading When the Tripods Came on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Tripods Prequel: When The Tripods Came [School & Library Binding]

John Christopher
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 19.20
Price: CDN$ 14.17 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 5.03 (26%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 1 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
School & Library Binding CDN $14.17  
Paperback CDN $7.99  
Mass Market Paperback, Bargain Price CDN $3.20  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

April 1 2003 Tripods
Experience the beginning of the Tripods’ reign in this prequel to the classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave and Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Shadow Children series.

When it comes to alien invasions, bad things come in threes.

Three landings: one in England, one in Russia, and one in the United States.

Three long legs, crushing everything in their paths, with three metallic arms, snacking out to embrace—and then discard—their helpless victims.

Three evil beings, called Tripods, which will change life on Earth forever.
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Product Details


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

The initial Tripod invasion of Earth seems laughable: armed forces overwhelm two of the giant attackers, and the third simply self-destructs. But when TV stations all over the world begin to broadcast the Trippy Show, the fanscalled Trippiesare hypnotized and flock to Trippy communes. By the time the second Tripod invasion begins, the Trippies greet the aliens as saviors and eagerly don the brainwashing caps provided them. Realizing that they can no longer stay in England and remain uncapped, Laurie and his family journey to Switzerland. When Switzerland falls under the Tripods' spell, Laurie, accompanied by two other boys, flees with his family to a remote spot in the Alps. The small band resolves to devote their lives to fighting the Tripods and thus form the core of the resistance movement that figures in the author's Tripods trilogy. Like those books, this fast-paced adventure explores serious issues of freedom and morality, creating a welcome prequel to the series. Ages 9-14.
Copyright 1988 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

John Christopher was the pseudonym of Samuel Youd, who was born in Lancashire, England, in 1922. He was the author of more than fifty novels and novellas, as well as numerous short stories. His most famous books include The Death of Grass, the Tripods trilogy, The Lotus Caves, and The Guardians. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the series, but I can do without this book Jan. 10 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
First of all, I hate the reprint covers. The covers themselves are silly looking, and the numbers on the side are misleading. I would not read When the Tripods Came until after you've read the entire series (The White Mountains, The City of Gold and Lead and The Pool of Fire). When the Tripods Came is a PREQUAL, and if you read it before the other books, you lose the sense of "what happened to our world" that you want to have when you read the series. So, if you even want to read this book (it's not really needed with the rest of the series; the characters are not the same anyway and the story is only interesting if you want to know what happened to the world, but it is pretty much explained in the other books anyway), go ahead and read it, but you don't lose much by not reading it. (But, as a message to all, don't read this book first! It is not the first book!)
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too April 15 2010
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Something is not right in England.

Laurie's little sister recently started watching a show called Trippies. One day, she disappears. When they bring her back, all she can talk about is peace and Tripods, an alien race bent on bringing peace to Earth. Although they manage to dehypnotize her, people all over start disappearing and showing up with helmets that allow the Tripods to control their brains.

Soon the whole world is conquered by this strange alien race, and Laurie and his family are driven into hiding underneath a hotel in the mountains. Can they find a way to take back Earth with the odds stacked against them?

WHEN THE TRIPODS CAME is a book well worth the read. The suspense and adventure in the story draw the reader in and make them want to keep reading. The characters are believable and the author does a great job of capturing why humanity is the way it is.

Readers who like science fiction, continuing series, and adventure books will all enjoy this read and the others that follow.

Reviewed by: Kira M
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling 'Prequel' May 3 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This is a wonderful compainion to the best-selling series The White Mountains. Very well written, with a hidden moral about what too much television can do to your mind.
Two kids start off in a very modern world, just like the one we live in now. One of the kids younger sister loves a television show called The Trippies. Her brother finds the show very odd, yet nonetheless mesmerizing. After she watches it day after day, and tries to run away, he assumes that there must be a connection between his sister and the t.v show causing all the people who watch the show to go out and worship the 'Tripods'. But what can he do about it?
Like I said before, well written with a compelling and thought-provoking end. One caution: This book does clear up a lot of unanswered question about the rest of the series, but read through the series first. You become a lot more attached to the characters while they try to figure out the mystery of how the Tripods rule the earth and how to defeat them. If you read this book first, you will have a hard time connecting to the rest of the books. The mystery leaves.
Happy readings!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars When the Tripods Came June 4 2000
By Candace
The entire series by John Christopher is well written and we enjoyed them as read-alouds for our children when they were about eleven. They are certainly just as enjoyable as an adult read and contain some startling insights. (Years ago Chicago's PBS showed the BBC television series based on these books which is how we decided to try the books.) Very exciting, rather haunting. Also, for a reluctant reader, the books aren't extremely lengthy and there is plenty of action to encourage the reader to finish the book. I highly recommend this series for the whole family. They stimulate a lot of good conversation over ethics and start youngsters and teens to thinking about how much freedom we actually have. Like the 'Giver', the content is a good neutral starting place for some lively discussion with your pre-teens and older. Also, as mentioned in a previous review, the whole TeleTubbie and Pokeman thing happened AFTER these books were written so for those of us who had read these before, it was a bit jolting almost prophetic, in a sense.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Prequel to a Fabulous Series! April 13 1998
By Plume45
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Although fourth in the series in terms of publication dates, this book is actually set earlier in time than the famous triology, giving us a chance to witness the Invasion firsthand.
We meet all new heroes, of course. This story starts off slowly and seems somewhat bland after the first wave of tripods is exterminated. But gradually we realize their insidious plan to take over the Earth by Mind Control--mass Brain Washing via the media. People--kids as well as adults--start Tripping Out; pretty soon the majority of the population is saluting and chanting: Hail the Tripods! Is this tne end of human civilization?
Young Laurie and his family (lead by the courageous father) undertake a dangerous, circuitous journey to escape the menace to free will in England; they feel that safety lies in distant Switzerland,Europe's Land of the Free. But can the mountain-bred and peace-loving Swiss both human and alien attack? Is the human race doomed as Capping becomes mandatory even in the snowy Alps? This book extolls the virtues of being Human: the right to choose one's own destiny and the inate will to survive. If you have read the triology, Now it all Falls into Place! If you have not, Read This First!
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent sci-fi for young readers.
I initially began reading this book as a suggestion from my partner. After reading a few chapters I realized this book, although a good sci-fi, is definitely for younger audiences. Read more
Published 8 months ago by HappyColour
3.0 out of 5 stars when the tripods came
When the tripods came is about two friends who wake up to seeing a big ship with three legs. A tripod. This is the beginning of the invasion. Read more
Published on Oct. 4 2002 by Dustin Juceam
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful sci-fi
I have not read the original trilogy yet. According to several reviewers, my enjoyment of that series will be curtailed by having read this prequel first. Oh, well. Read more
Published on June 24 2001 by David Bonesteel
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book
This book is very interesting. I would not reccommend just this book, people should read the entire series. I've read this book many times. Read more
Published on April 16 2001 by JRB
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT EXLPLANTATIONS!
I thought this book was well written. Perhaps not as well as the rest of the series, but it holds many good answers to the series that the rest do not answer. Read more
Published on Feb. 1 2001
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Tripods came
A 14 year old boy named Laurie tries to flee England from gigantic three legged machines called Tripods. Read more
Published on Dec 6 2000
1.0 out of 5 stars my book revew
I would recommend this book to someone who likes adventure, suspense, action, science fiction, and series. I liked this book because it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Read more
Published on July 17 2000
1.0 out of 5 stars my book revew
I would recommend this book to someone who likes adventure, suspense, action, science fiction, and series. I liked this book because it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Read more
Published on July 17 2000
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written book for Kids or Adults
This is really a great book. This being said I am not sure that I would have enjoyed this novel quite as much as if I had not read the Tripod trilogy first. Read more
Published on June 20 2000 by Peter Dykhuis
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback