Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Unearthing the Lost Words of Jesus: The Discovery and Text of the Lost Gospel of Thomas [Hardcover]

John Dart
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.



Book Description

Oct. 1 1998 Seastone series
The year is 1945 and along Egypt's Upper Nile River the al-Samman clan discover the greatest collection of early Christian documents ever found. Now for the first time, the entire story of this discovery, from the effort to protect the priceless documents during Egypt's war with Israel, to the United Nations' struggle to release the text to the public, is combined with an annotated translation of the text. The image of Jesus that emerges from this intriguing document is strikingly different from the figure portrayed in the New Testament.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

In 1945, a group of camel drivers from the al-Samman clan unearthed an ancient earthenware jar while digging for much-needed fertilizer. Unwittingly, the drivers had discovered the greatest collection of early Christian documents ever found, the Nag Hammadi library. Among the ancient papyri was the Gospel of Thomas, a collection of over 100 sayings of Jesus purportedly gathered by Jesus' disciple Thomas (the doubting one). Dart, a religion writer for the Los Angeles Times, and Riegert (The Lost Gospel Q), narrate this story of discovery and offer an annotated translation of the Gospel of Thomas. Each saying is explained in terms of its historical and spiritual importance. For example, Jesus' tendency simultaneously to reveal and conceal his message and his identity is reflected, the contend, in the saying, "Recognize what is in front of your face and what is concealed will be revealed to you. For there is nothing that will not be disclosed." In this book, Thomas seems to present Jesus as a sage, the personification of wisdom, cast in the tradition of Solomon or Buddha, a humble man with a powerful message.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
DECEMBER ALONG THE UPPER NILE RIVER IS THE IDEAL time to dig for sabakh. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars For gnostics only... May 26 2000
Format:Hardcover
I have not finished to read this book but so far I love it. The best part is the chapter with the recorded word of Jesus, which I find enlightning. It also makes me sad to realize that humankind has not evolved since then.
One last thing, if you are a religious ( ) (I believe 1000% in the bible...) do not buy with this book, you wiil not understand it.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars The complete unearthing story! Nov. 18 1998
Format:Hardcover
". It contains a very complete story of the finding of GThomas and follows the ms to initial publication. There are photographs and a couple of maps in this first section. The text is done very much in the same style as Borgs recent "The Lost Gospel Q" and it features a few notes by J. D. Crossan. Also by Crossan, a five page commentary at the end called "Paradise Regained", where his emphasis is on the protology of and asceticism in GThomas. This is packaged for the general public but is worth the price for the 8 photographs, 2 small maps, and the complete "unearthing" story.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
106 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The complete unearthing story! Nov. 18 1998
By Paul Miller - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
". It contains a very complete story of the finding of GThomas and follows the ms to initial publication. There are photographs and a couple of maps in this first section. The text is done very much in the same style as Borgs recent "The Lost Gospel Q" and it features a few notes by J. D. Crossan. Also by Crossan, a five page commentary at the end called "Paradise Regained", where his emphasis is on the protology of and asceticism in GThomas. This is packaged for the general public but is worth the price for the 8 photographs, 2 small maps, and the complete "unearthing" story.
19 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For gnostics only... May 26 2000
By Dragos Dobrescu - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I have not finished to read this book but so far I love it. The best part is the chapter with the recorded word of Jesus, which I find enlightning. It also makes me sad to realize that humankind has not evolved since then.

Also, if you are religious (I believe 1000% in the bible...) do not buy with this book, you will not understand it.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xb07b942c)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback