V 1: Complete Songs has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V 1: Complete Songs

Price: CDN$ 14.98 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 8.16 1 used from CDN$ 16.06

Product Details

  • Performer: Craxton; Dorn
  • Composer: Mendelssohn-Hensel Fanny
  • Audio CD (Dec 15 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #273,247 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

A gifted composer of some 500 works, mainly songs and small piano pieces, Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel has been eclipsed by the fame of her younger brother Felix Mendelssohn. Yet her sensitivity in setting the German Romantic poets she loved, principally G

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa38e19a8) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3601180) out of 5 stars Wonderful Selection Equisitely Performed June 29 2013
By Ms. Wysteria - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I like this Naxos recording (Craxton/Dorn) better than the Arte Nova recording (Rao/Gelius) -- Not only for the song choices....which to me are presented more coherently by Opus and then by Poet -- having focused on Eichendorff selections....but also the quality of the performances and/or the recording....they're just "better" to my humble, untrained ears. In the Eichendorff selections and others ....there is a surreal beauty sometimes haunted and mysterious -- tho of course there are those that are simply jubilant.

The opus is a "work" that was presented as one body....not dismembered and strewn about with other parts no matter what the intention was (cf. Shelley). There is a coherence to the Opusuri (yeah, I had to look that one up.)

The Liner notes are informative....but as a weakness, no English translation for the lyrics....which the Arte Nova recording very graciously includes. You will enjoy both recordings even though there is substantial overlap in material....but if you can only get one...

Finally, my "used, like new" CD from "importcds" was in very good condition and liners etc. in English. When I loaded CD the titles were in Asian. No problem, just "edit" the beautiful, incomprehensible Asian symbols with the garish, utilitarian English in your music software.

Look for similar items by category