CDN$ 29.96 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Classical Music Superstore
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 29.95
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: moviemars-canada
Add to Cart
CDN$ 33.58
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: marvelio-ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V2 A Copeland Celebration: Cha

Price: CDN$ 29.96
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Classical Music Superstore.
3 new from CDN$ 29.95 4 used from CDN$ 11.99

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 21 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Sony
  • ASIN: B000050HWT
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #130,146 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Vitebsk, Study On A Jewish Theme
2. Sextet For Clarinet, Piano And String Quartet: I. Allegro vivace
3. Sextet For Clarinet, Piano And String Quartet: II. Lento
4. Sextet For Clarinet, Piano And String Quartet: III. Finale
5. Piano Quartet: I. Adagio serio
6. Piano Quartet: II. Allegro giusto
7. Piano Quartet: III. Non troppo lento
8. Duo For Flute And Piano: I. Flowing
9. Duo For Flute And Piano: II. Poetic, Somewhat Mournful
10. Duo For Flute And Piano: III. Lively, With Bounce
Disc: 2
1. Lincoln Portrait - CARL SANDBURG
2. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: I. Nature, The Greatest Mother
3. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: II. There Came A Wind Like A Bugle
4. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: III. Why Do They Shut Me Out Of Heaven?
5. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: The World Feels Dusty
6. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: V. Heart, We Will Forget Him
7. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: VI. Dear March, Come In!
8. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: VII. Sleep Is Supposed To Be
9. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: VIII. When They Come Back
10. Twelve Poems Of Emily Dickinson: IX. I Felt A Funeral In My Brain
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa4e48c30) out of 5 stars 6 reviews
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4e7f48c) out of 5 stars Terrific vocal talents for Copland's music Aug. 7 2002
By Neal Reynolds - Published on
This second Copland collection focuses on unique talents of veteran performers.
William Warfield lends his voice and his interpretations of Copland's Old American Songs, and he sings them as they were meant to be, not as classical diletantes felt they should be. You have authenticity here.
Martha Lipton likewise contributes an older world charm and charisma to Copland's settings for Emily Dickenson's words.
Carl Sandberg's resonant reading of his own words is worth the full price of this set.
And then the inimitable Oscar Levant's piano treatment of the orchestral pieces...Levant had a wry touch to his interpretations that gave him a voice all his own.
There's much more here, quite a bit that's less than familiar and therefore increases one's familiarity with Copland.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4e7f894) out of 5 stars SANDBURG ALONE WORTH THE PRICE Aug. 16 2011
By gandalfcmk - Published on
Verified Purchase
A wonderful set for those who love Copland's music. Not a good "trainer" CD, however (there are others better for a first introduction): this collection is aimed at the hard-core Copland enthusiast. However. Carl Sandburg's narration of A Lincoln Portrait alone is worth the price of admission. Sandburg is not a "professional" reader, but his performance is sincere and heartfelt. For some of us, this is the best recording of ALP ever made, particularly since Sandburg holds such a cherished place in the Lincoln chronicle. Buy and enjoy.
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4e7fccc) out of 5 stars finally sandburg's lincoln portrait Aug. 16 2001
By Captain Nemo - Published on
For all those like myself who have waited a decade for "A Lincoln Portrait" with Carl Sandburg's narration on CD, here it is finally! Sandburg's heartfelt reading of Lincoln's words is easily the most inspired and inspiring of the legions of others whose voices have been recorded. The orchestration by Kostelanetz also vastly surpasses others. Compare Henry Fonda's reading for example to see a poorly mixed tape where the narrator's voice is overwhelmed by the orchestra.
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4e7f5dc) out of 5 stars Wow! Pretty Good Deal March 12 2001
By Swedish classical music lover - Published on
I was surprised to find two CDs of such quality being sold for the price of one. It also contained many hard to find Copland works.
Vitebsk is exciting. Strings do much of the work here. The music is very unique to any other Copland works. Definitely here a sample of this.
The Sextet is very interesting. The combination of strings and piano is a prefect balance along with the clarinet doing much of the harmony. It is the same song though as Copland's 2nd symphony, the 'short' one.
Duo for Flute and Piano is fun and happy. The 1st movement fluctuates quite a bit in the feeling but is a very nice combination. The second movement is slightly morbid but the feeling of happy hi ho is not lost. The 3rd movement is light and bouncy and can be described as typical Copland.
Lincoln Portrait is powerful. Though I don't see how it fits on this CD has a rarity or a chamber work. It is the besy Lincoln P. I've ever heard though.
Old American Songs and Poems of Emily Dickinson are not that good though. It's a vocalist and a piano accompanyingthe vocalist. The vocalists are not that good and I felt needed to feel the music a little more. Thomas Hampson and Dawn Upshaw made a CD with these songs which is much better (the only problem is that that CD only has 8 of the 12 Emily Dickinson Songs).
Billy the Kid was a nice way to finish off. It's just a few excerpts played on solo piano. It was interesting hearing the piece performed this way.
The recording quality is okay sometimes and kinda slipping other times. Then again, these are classic recordings for the most part. The skill though of the orchestra and soloists for the most part is that of a high quality. I definitely recommend this CD to any Copland fans out there trying to discover more about Copland. It's a very nicely put together CD and price worthy too.
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Verified Purchase
Copland is one of my favorite composers and this three volume set is a great addition. This CD has some pieces that I have never--or rarely heard. As a result, it is a great addition to my collection.