Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Veracini Sons

Price: CDN$ 18.30 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
6 new from CDN$ 18.30 1 used from CDN$ 44.14

Artists to Watch

Product Details

1. Overtura: Largo - Allegro
2. Aria. Affetuoso
3. Paesana. Allegro
4. Minuet. Allegro
5. Giga Postiglione. Allegro
6. Largo
7. Allegro
8. Largo
9. Allegro
10. Grave-Allegro
11. Allegro
12. Allegro
13. Allegro
14. Allegro
15. Siciliana. Larghetto
16. Capriccio. Allegro, E Con Affetto
17. Andante Moderato
18. Largo
19. Allegro Assai

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5 reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Surprise gift July 23 2007
By HSIEH CHENG CHUNG - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I had been listenned baroque music a few days, and gradually know and touch from famous composers ex Bach, Handel, vivaldi, to unknown composers. The latter music they often give me surprise and open my vision of music. For sample, violin sonatas music, these new style beginning during 1600 in italy, and developing until late baroque, we could find some outstanding composers, ex Geminiani, Locatelli and Veracini.
When I tried this CD, I don't know how to explain my feeling, it's very soft, smooth and beautiful. Sounds cheerfully to my heart, full of happiness.
Holloway, as other viewers described, I also had tried some, ex biber, schmelzer, they are all perfect, of course I should add Verachi in my satifying pool.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
By Melvyn M. Sobel - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Quite the inspired eccentric, Veracini; not Bach, nor Tartini; not Geminiani, nor Corelli (even when paying bizarre homage to the composer in the "Dissertazioni"); not Handel, nor Vivaldi. He seems very much an eerie synthesis of his contemporaries, but with a distinct symmetry all his own, and Holloway, the phantasmagoric empath through which Veracini's extraordinary and ethereal works take earthly form via a transmogrification that is both palpable and thrilling throughout. The sonatas, more like cryptic musings from some musical afterlife, are gripping and laden with a metaphysical angst that is nearly indescribable--- as if Veracini sought the transcendent nexus at which music, human existence and sublimity merge. It is all profoundly beautiful and moving, and the performances, full of depth, lyricism and equal amounts of pathos and restrained felicity, are emotionally wondrous. Special mention, too, should be made regarding the superb interplay of instruments, especially the contrast between Holloway's silky-toned violin and ter Linden's deep-throated cello, without which Veracini's sonatas could never attain such a splendid recording.

[Running time: 62:22]
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
If it ain't Baroque, don't fix it (with apologies for the terrible pun :) June 7 2007
By Jason Fisher - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is one of those rare discs that is pretty much perfect. "Pure Baroque Magic", as the previous reviewer said. Like that reviewer, I wasn't familiar with Veracini until this disc. Too many wonderful composers from the Baroque period are overshadowed by their much more famous contemporaries (e.g., Bach and Vivaldi), but Veracini is definitely worth discovering!

The four sonatas on the disc are beautifully written and performed, and the clarity of the recording is top-notch. Holloway seems to channel the spirit of composer-violinist Veracini (think of Yo-Yo Ma performing Boccherini) in his mastery of extemporaneous melodic ornamentation (trills, turns, and mordents -- oh my!), which was usually not notated explicity in Baroque manuscripts but rather simply expected of a capable performer. Holloway is certainly that!

These aren't sonatas in the Classical (and later) sense of the term. Using later definitions, these might have been called trios. But the sonata form in the Baroque period was different. In the Vivaldian form, there were four movements, while in the form popularized by Corelli, there were five -- as opposed to the more common three-movement form in the Classical and Romantic periods. There are representatives of both Baroque forms here, one of which is an explicit homage to Corelli's Opus 5.

Those familiar with the later form of the sonata might also be surprised to see a harpsichord *and* cello here, but the two operate together as a continuo in most of the movements, which is typical of the period. There are occasions, however, where the cello and harpsichord get to "stretch their legs", so to speak, breaking out of the continuo model, as in the lovely opening movement of the Sonata No. 5 in C Major (track 6). Listen for the wonderful tinkling arpeggiation in the hapsichord part, making it sound more like a harp, while the cello part is beautifully spare, harmonically reinforcing the central violin solo.

Veracini also has the ability to surprise. In the liner notes, Holloway calls him "an innovative composer [with] an eccentric personality", and that comes through at many points. For example, in the downward chromatic progression in the Aria movement of the Sonata No. 1 in G Minor (track 2). But while he diverges from traditional harmonic and contrapuntal forms at times, Veracini also delivers passages that are wonderfully illustrative of Baroque character, as in the second movement of the Sonata No. 1 in D Major (track 11), which has the feel of a Bach canon. Think of the final Allegro of Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 3, taken down in tempo, and you'll have a good sense of it. There are also remarkably lovely slower movements, as in the Largo of the Sonata No. 6 in A Major (track 18), which calls to mind echoes of Vivaldi and Albinoni.

So, if you like the Baroque -- and in particular, Vivaldi, Corelli, Scarlatti, and to a lesser extent Bach -- do yourself a favor and order a copy of the Veracini Sonatas.
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Baroque music Dec 26 2012
By TALAL A MAKKAOUI - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Typical baroque music that does not surpass Bach and Vivaldi . It sometimes sound that it tries to imitate them.
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
......not quite... Nov. 19 2007
By A - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
--veracini wrote so many good violin sonatas....so why does halloway record a very early one written for alto recorder...and a corelli sonata?--(indistinguishable from the original)...the one in A major was a later one and a brilliant one....but the rest were kind of ordinary..if not duds--