summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars249
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Board book|Change
Price:$8.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 27, 2003
Story Synopsis:
- A caterpillar eats his way through different foods until he is full and weaves a cocoon transforming into a beautiful butterfly. Charming colorful illustrations of foods along with the fat caterpillar and catchy little holes in the foods where the caterpillar "had his snack" make this book a hit with young children.
Review:
- Eric Carle's classic, "The Very Hungry Caterpillar" has charmed millions over the years with it's simple memorable story, striking illustrations and the gimmicky holes on each of its' pages. To date, more than 12 million copies of this book have been sold in its original, full-sized edition, and mini editions. This beloved tale of science and gluttony has also been translated into 20 languages and counting. Die-cut pages (each page has a hole where the "caterpillar" ate through the food item) illustrate what the caterpillar ate on successive days. Strikingly bold, colorful pictures and a simple text in large, clear type tell the story of a hungry little caterpillar's culinary progress through an amazing variety and quantity of foods. Full at last, he weaves a cocoon around himself and goes to sleep, to emerge a few weeks later as a wonderfully transformed and beautiful butterfly! The final, double-page picture of the butterfly is a joyous explosion of color, a vibrant affirmation of the wonder and beauty of Nature. This story is a hit every time. Carle's bright colors and clever die-cut artwork never cease to entertain even the youngest child, and there is surely nothing in nature closer to magic than the emergence of a butterfly. This is a beautiful, educational and fun book.
Literary Features For Young Readers:
- Simple words appropriate to pre-readers, younger children and ELLs (English Language Learners).
- The predictability of the words and their tie-in with the illustrations makes the book easy for pre-readers to understand.
- The rhythm of the prose makes the book memorable and fun book to read for little people.
- Strikingly bold, colorful pictures tell the story of the hungry little caterpillar in complement with the simple words.
- Eric Carle's art gimmick (i.e. the die-cut holes through the food illustrations on each page) gives small children (and the occasional adult like me!) an extra bit of fun and enjoyment
- The moral lessons of the story are simple and universal: "Don't judge a person by the way they look" and "real beauty is more than skin-deep."
Teaching Tie-ins:
- Counting skills (Foods accumulate progressively)
- The days of the week.
- Nutrition (The best food for the caterpillar is the leaf, not the candy, cake, etc. or why we can't eat chocolate and candy all day long)
- Intro to science and biology:
It is a fun book with its' "holes" that have been eaten through the pages, and become a preschoolers introduction to science/biology when the little caterpillar turns into a beautiful butterfly.
- Shapes (foods)
Possible Projects:
- Food or nutrition mobiles and other related projects.
- Art collages in the style or Eric Carle using torn tissue and other media.
- Simple life cycle science projects (posters are life cycle mobiles)
- Caterpillar art activity: creating caterpillars out of an egg cartoons.
- As a preschool and kindergarten teacher, I had classes perform simple plays for young children based upon this book.
-----------------------------------------------
I highly recommend this charming little book for younger children and ELLs (English Language Learners).
Review by: Maximillian Ben Hanan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2003
Story Synopsis:
- A caterpillar eats his way through different foods until he is full and weaves a cocoon transforming into a beautiful butterfly. Charming colorful illustrations of foods along with the fat caterpillar and catchy little holes in the foods where the caterpillar "had his snack" make this book a hit with young children.
Review:
- Eric Carle's classic, "The Very Hungry Caterpillar" has charmed millions over the years with it's simple memorable story, striking illustrations and the gimmicky holes on each of its' pages. To date, more than 12 million copies of this book have been sold in its original, full-sized edition, and mini editions. This beloved tale of science and gluttony has also been translated into 20 languages and counting. Die-cut pages (each page has a hole where the "caterpillar" ate through the food item) illustrate what the caterpillar ate on successive days. Strikingly bold, colorful pictures and a simple text in large, clear type tell the story of a hungry little caterpillar's culinary progress through an amazing variety and quantity of foods. Full at last, he weaves a cocoon around himself and goes to sleep, to emerge a few weeks later as a wonderfully transformed and beautiful butterfly! The final, double-page picture of the butterfly is a joyous explosion of color, a vibrant affirmation of the wonder and beauty of Nature. This story is a hit every time. Carle's bright colors and clever die-cut artwork never cease to entertain even the youngest child, and there is surely nothing in nature closer to magic than the emergence of a butterfly. This is a beautiful, educational and fun book.
Literary Features For Young Readers:
- Simple words appropriate to pre-readers, younger children and ELLs (English Language Learners).
- The predictability of the words and their tie-in with the illustrations makes the book easy for pre-readers to understand.
- The rhythm of the prose makes the book memorable and fun book to read for little people.
- Strikingly bold, colorful pictures tell the story of the hungry little caterpillar in complement with the simple words.
- Eric Carle's art gimmick (i.e. the die-cut holes through the food illustrations on each page) gives small children (and the occasional adult like me!) an extra bit of fun and enjoyment
- The moral lessons of the story are simple and universal: "Don't judge a person by the way they look" and "real beauty is more than skin-deep."
Teaching Tie-ins:
- Counting skills (Foods accumulate progressively)
- The days of the week.
- Nutrition (The best food for the caterpillar is the leaf, not the candy, cake, etc. or why we can't eat chocolate and candy all day long)
- Intro to science and biology:
It is a fun book with its' "holes" that have been eaten through the pages, and become a preschoolers introduction to science/biology when the little caterpillar turns into a beautiful butterfly.
- Shapes (foods)
Possible Projects:
- Food or nutrition mobiles and other related projects.
- Art collages in the style or Eric Carle using torn tissue and other media.
- Simple life cycle science projects (posters are life cycle mobiles)
- Caterpillar art activity: creating caterpillars out of an egg cartoons.
- As a preschool and kindergarten teacher, I had classes perform simple plays for young children based upon this book.
-----------------------------------------------
I highly recommend this charming little book for younger children and ELLs (English Language Learners).
Review by: Maximillian Ben Hanan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2002
Oh my goodness! I love this book sooo much! It's one of my most favorite books of all time! I've loved and read this book since as long as I can remember. Eric Carle is one of my and I'm sure a lot of other people's all time favorite authors. His books are all so bright and fun. I like how this book has fictional and factual information. For instance, it tells how the caterpillar starts out in an egg, then eats, geting fat, then spins itself a cacoon, turning into a butterfly. The fictional part is that it says how it eats through all of this junkfood such as: cake, pie, ice cream, a lollipop, ect. That part right there is what makes it so fun. It's not every day that you hear about a caterpillar eating all of those kinds of things. I think that the pages are set up so cool. There's holes punched through all of the things that he eats so that it really gives you the feelig that he really ate through it. This book makes children excited about reading because it's so much fun. I think that this is one of the best books out there that you can find. Find out for yourself how great it is by reading it with your children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2000
This is one of my all-time favorite children's books. One sunny day, a caterpillar pops out of an egg. He is very hungry and begins searching for food. Now, many of Eric Carle's books have gimmicks--the tactile web in THE VERY BUSY SPIDER and the chirping in THE VERY QUIET CRICKET, for example. The gimmick in this book is that the caterpillar eats holes through all the food, holes that are actually punched into the pages of the book. It's a good gimmick, actually. Also, many of Carle's books teach conventions--telling time in THE VERY GROUCHY LADYBUG and animal sounds in THE VERY BUSY SPIDER, for example. This one teaches the days of the week. On Monday, the caterpillar eats this, on Tuesday he eats that, and so forth. Very cute. Eventually, he becomes a fat caterpillar. He then spins himself a cocoon, where he rests for two weeks. And when he emerges...well, you can guess the results. It's a wonderful story. Best of all, the text is very simple as are the illustrations, so the book will appeal to toddlers as well as the pre-K and kindergarten crowd. In fact, it may appeal more to toddlers, because the story is so very simple. I know I read it as a kindergartener. I loved the holes but found the story rather boring. I read it to my two-year-old this spring, however, and he went nuts over it. The days of the week were lost on him, but he was fascinated by the caterpillar turning into a butterfly--he had no idea! Can't tell you how many times we read it. We also re-enacted it, crawling on the floor and eating, spinning ourselves into cocoons, and popping out with fluttery wings. In fact, he was so taken with the caterpillar-to-butterfly phenomenon that I ordered some caterpillars (I used "Insect Lore"--they are on-line--but I'm sure there are lots of other places to get them). We read THE VERY HUNGRY CATERPILLAR at each stage of their development and then right before we released them as butterflies. It was the highlight of our spring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2003
This is a sweet little story about a caterpillar who becomes a "beautiful butterfly." My 16-month-old daughters got this book around their first birthday and love it. It really holds their interest which is very much not the case for many longer books. The artwork is simple, yet fascinating to young children (and their parents as well). Little fingers poke at the holes in the food and my girls love the shorter pages because they're easy for them to turn. The pictures and story help babies and toddlers learn to identify simple objects (moon, sun, leaf, caterpillar, butterfly, etc).
We read this book along with several others every night as part of our bedtime routine, but this is the only book I have yet to get tired of even though I have long since memorized it. It's also the only book that holds my daughters' attention almost every single time. It's a great addition to any baby or toddler library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2003
Beginning as an egg, the little caterpillar soon begins his forage for food. As the caterpillar searches for food and tries to satisfy his hunger, Carle combines the days of the week and counting so that little ones are learning as they follow the hungry caterpillar. On Monday, he ate through one apple - and there is a hole in the apple! On Tuesday, he ate through two pears - and there are holes in each of the two pears...and so on and so forth. Finally, after continuously eating various foods throughout the entire week, the little catepillar has a stomach ache and eats through a leaf and feels better. Then he spins his little cocoon and becomes a beautiful butterfly. The colors are bright and add to the beauty of both the caterpillar and the butterfly. The wording is very short and simple so little ones aren't distracted or bored. A wonderful addition to any library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2002
I bought this book for my cousin when she was just 3 and a half. She loves to see and hear the story of the caterpillar that keeps eating and eating. She loves the way the caterpillar was so hungry he seems to have eaten right through the pages of the book.
That is not just a feature that makes the book one more enjoyable, but helps in cognitive development and the concept of object permanence. Because she is able to count along with the all of the things the caterpillar eats, and they are always on the page she understands the concept better.
Because this is a board book, it is durable enough to handle the abuse that toddlers can put a book through.
Why 4 stars?:
Eric Carle has created a masterpiece that will last through the generations. The features of this book cannot be ignored and so, it belongs on the bookshelves of parents and caregivers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We are huge fans of Eric Carle and all of his works. This board book is a welcome addition to our growing collection. The illustrations are simple and artistic at the same time, as is the text. Unlike all of the other Carle books we've owned so far, this one actually has a single linear narrative that spans the entire book. It is also written entirely in prose, so some people who enjoyed his rhyming books might be a bit disappointed. This book also features a fun and unusual formatting - several pages vary in length, and they feature the small holes through which the caterpillar has presumably burrowed. This is innovative, but sometimes it can make it tricky for the small hands to turn those pages - our toddler is still getting used to this. However, the small annoyances are nothing compared to all the fun that we all get out of this beautiful little board book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2002
I admit, this was and is one of my all-time favorite board books for the very young. I do recommend the hardcover version, only because it will be well-handled if your children are anything like mine were. They will be compelled to stick their fingers in the holes left by that peskily hungry caterpillar, who eats his way through everything in sight!
The caterpillar's face is just captivating. I love it. And he eats, and he eats and he eats...and at the very very end, he becomes a beautiful butterfly! It's just the best illustration of metamorphosis in the world. But I have to warn all scientifically oriented parents out there: My two children were singularly UNimpressed with the butterfly and the fact that the caterpillar had become this beautiful creature! They liked him just as he was! Go figure, right? For whatever reason, they--and I--adored this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2002
This was one of my favorite books when I was younger. It has very bright colors and that makes the book more enjoyable. It is about a baby caterpillar that gets very hungry and eats so many things. On one day, he eats a lot and the next day he eats more and that keeps happening for a week. Then on the last day of the week he eats so much that he feels like he will be very sick and he takes a rest then makes himself a cocoon. The caterpillar is inside the cocoon for quite a while and gets a good rest then when he comes out he's a...
I enjoy reading this book it is a very good book for kids because it has good illustrations and colors. It is also something that really happens in real life. Caterpillars are really like what they say they are in the book. I would rate this book a 5 because this is a really good book. I would suggest that you read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse