Violin Concerto Much Ado ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Concerto Much Ado Abou

Price: CDN$ 14.91 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 7.88 2 used from CDN$ 12.42

Product Details

  • Performer: Quint; Orquesta Sinfonica De Mineria; Prieto
  • Composer: Korngold Erich Wolfgang
  • Audio CD (June 30 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0027DQHI2
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #172,544 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Much admired today as a pioneer of film music, Erich Korngold was a precociously talented composer of concert and chamber music, opera and stage works, as his Schauspiel Overture, written when he was only fourteen, shows. The phenomenal success o

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9e55aedc) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9f7ce9a8) out of 5 stars Naxos does it again... July 10 2009
By Laszlo - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I grew up during the time when this concerto was considered "not cool" or "too schmalzy". There were hardly any recordings made of it. But I could not care less. It is a marvellous concerto, and it makes your heart melt as most of Korngold music does: melodically and harmonically.
This recording is a blockbuster! Quint is spectacular (what pure tone!), the Mexican orchestra is first class (as is its conductor) and the recording is to die for: amazing sound! And all this at NAXOS price. Wow!
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d808078) out of 5 stars Philippe Quint, Carlos Prieto, Orch Sinf de Mineria: Korngold V Cto, Overture, Suite: To the manner born Readings, Excllnt Sound Jan. 4 2010
By drdanfee - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I'm coming to this disc, fresh from being bowled completely over by Renaud Capucon with Yannick Nezet-Seguin conducting the Rotterdam Philharmonic. I still hold that release in five star esteem, and this one, too, as it turns out.

Once upon a past time, Naxos was interesting as an innovative label, but wildly variable in quality. You could find reams of unheard and less often heard music, but the performers might be anything from inspired to dutiful. So Naxos was a pick and choose affair for canny customers in the know. Now, however, the label has released so many clearly outstanding discs that its catalog must be tipping towards high excellence, period. Add this release to the winners; it easily stands out as a Naxos high mark. News arrives just now that this disc is nominated for a 2009 Grammy.

Quint plays a 1723 Strad (Kiesewetter), on loan from Clement and Karen Arrison through the Stradivari Society. The loan of this stunning instrument says a lot in itself. Quint was born in Russia but trained in the west, including his being in passing a Juilliard School student of the famous Dorothy Delay. He is brimming with musicianship and star quality. Oodles.

In the first opening notes of the Korngold concerto, Quint and the band demonstrate alert engagement with the color and gestural sweep of this music. The reading is more expansive than not, risking rubato and swagger more than the utterly deft balancing act that Capucon and Nezet-Seguin pull off for EMI Virgin disc. All to the good. Nobody actually falls off the musical fences into the stock silent film score character mugging that has dogged this music as a persistent shadow reputation. The busy, modernist chromatics are transmitted as sparkling lights, not extra handful of glitter hastily pasted on. Tempos are set, then paced beautifully. The Mexico City band rises to the Korngold occasion, confident, persuasive. The players are not just accompanying Quint, but rather are musically integrated with him into the eloquent concerto whole. The slow middle movement is precisely the high moment it was meant to be, then the finale last movement takes off with robust theatrics, again ever so finely judged.

The band gets to show off in the Schauspiel Overture. It was written when the composer was only fourteen years old, so of course it fails to demonstrate the savvy maturity of the later violin concerto. Yet, yet, yet. Carlos Miguel Prieto and the band serve it all up, handsomely. Their art is partly the art of not trying to take this youthful work more seriously than it can be heard to be; if Hollywood film composers later exploited similar colors and gestures, we must strictly recall that they are indebted to Korngold (including the fourteen year old who wrote this overture), not the other way round.

After thirteen minutes or so of German prodigy promise, a listener is happy to return to the Suite the composer worked out of his music, incidental to a performance of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing as given at Vienna's Schonbrunn Castle in 1920. We are yet again, off and running full tilt into the more mature composer's magical realms. A five minute overture with some dazzling woodwind writing is followed by four additional character pieces. Listeners new to this suite may hear it as a rehearsal of familiar film score attitudes; but real history again reverses the order of our musical influences. This Much Ado music was 1920, years before the Korngold scores for Captain Blood, Robin Hood, King's Row. Before - Korngold came to America or Hollywood.

Bravo, all concerned, Bravo Naxos. Five stars.
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9df060fc) out of 5 stars Philippe Quint just fabulous March 13 2010
By black gorilla - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I bought this CD because the violinist (Quint) was in Florida at a symphony series we caught and I couldn't take my eyes off him. He was just great. And, you knew he would be when he first brought the bow to the strings and produced that most wonderfully exquisite sound. I've listened to this CD quite a few times and never get tired of hearing it.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9f7ced44) out of 5 stars Enjoyable recording. One of my favorites Nov. 12 2014
By William Graf - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Most excellent. I am not knowledgable about classical music, but I love this CD. It continues to sound better with each listening.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d5b5324) out of 5 stars Five Stars May 18 2015
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A masterpiece! Buy this cd now.