CDN$ 60.12 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Concerto Import

Price: CDN$ 60.12
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
2 new from CDN$ 60.11 3 used from CDN$ 56.33

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 9 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Vox (Classical)
  • ASIN: B000001KBG
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Vn Con in D, Op.35: Allegro Moderato
2. Vn Con in D, Op.35: Canzonetta: Andante
3. Vn Con in D, Op.35: Finale: Allegro Vivacissimo
4. Vn Con in e, Op.64: Allegro Molto Appassionato
5. Vn Con in e, Op.64: Andante
6. Vn Con in e, Op.64: Allegro Non Troppo-Allegro Molto Vivace

Product Description

About the Artist

Among the world's outstanding violinists is Aaron Rosand, whose great art has left audiences spellbound in the United States, Europe and other parts of the world. He carries on the traditions of two distinguished schools of violin playing, having studied with Leon Sametini, a disciple of Eugene Ysaye, and Efrem Zimbalist, a student of Leopold Auer. An active performer since his recital debut at the Chicago Opera House at the age of nine, Rosand has appeared with the major American and European orchestras under such distinguished conductors as Rostropovich, Reiner, Kondrashin, Steinberg, Leinsdorf, Bernstein, Skrowaczewski, Slatkin, Maazel and Blomstedt. His many recordings, which have received critical acclaim, include the complete Beethoven, Brahms and Bach sonatas, numerous concertos, and 19th-century Romantic masterpieces. In addition to performing and recording, Mr. Rosand is currently The Dorothy Richard Starling Chair in Violin Studies at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa09e21f8) out of 5 stars 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0a6606c) out of 5 stars Good recording that is cheap Jan. 1 2002
By Thomas Philips - Published on
This is a very good recording for the price range. His Mendelssohn is almost exactly as I like it. A little bit more speed in the first movement would be appreciated. He drains every bit of emotion from the first movement. I love the way he holds the notes in the cadenza of the first movement. I still haven't found anyone else who does that. Heifetz comes close in his recording with Charles Munch. The second movement id one of my all time favorites. The double stop passage in the middle is simply beautiful, but I don't think he gets every note. Still, it is beautifully played and the movement flows like water. In the third movement, there is a section where the violin goes up in thirds. Almost everyone slurs that passage, but Mr. Rosand does not. It is really weird. I believe it is supposed to sound like a flock of birds taking of into the sky. But hey, that's me. I prefer the third movement played by Heifetz.
The Tchaikovsky is very well done, and he goes at a nice brisk tempo. The first movement seemed a bit odd, but that was because I am used to hearing Heifetz play it. Heifetz plays a slightly truncated cadenza in the first movement, and made some other changes which make the music flow better. I don't really like the second movement, but I think it will grow on me. It has a very mysterious and haunting. The third movement is pretty good, although I believe that Heifetz played it better. He gets a bit scratchy in some really slow romantic melodies. I don't really like that. It seems like a Russian folk song that isn't supposed to be very heavy. I have to say that this recording ties with Perlman's recording. There are some slightly scratchy notes, but hey, it's Tchaikovsky! One isn't supposed to play Tchaikovsky perfectly.

Look for similar items by category