Violin Concertos has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Concertos

Price: CDN$ 15.50 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
25 new from CDN$ 7.51 2 used from CDN$ 14.43

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Performer: Cologne Co, Müller-Brühl Daskalakis
  • Composer: Tartini Giuseppe
  • Audio CD (March 27 2007)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000MRP1W8
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #85,610 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

The music of composer-violinist Giuseppe Tartini bridged the baroque and classical periods. His 135 violin concertos are filled with dramatic emotion, expressive nuances and harmonic subtleties. The fast dance-like outer movements demand considerable virt

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9cb253d8) out of 5 stars 7 reviews
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bf7bfc0) out of 5 stars Some Fine Tartini June 25 2007
By Ross Kennett - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Giuseppi Tartini was born and worked in nothern Italy for a long period ending with his death in 1770. He was a virtuoso violinist and composer for his instrument, highly regarded in his time but almost forgotten until recent times. Before this revival almost the only Tartini one heard was "The Devil's Trill", one of his very many violin sonatas. He wrote some 135 violin concertos, L'Arte Del L'Arco have undertaken the mammoth task of recording all of them on period instruments.
This CD from Ariadne Daskalakis with the Cologne Chamber Orchestra is a modern instrument performance, I usually prefer a period instrument one, but that has not inhibited my enjoyment of this recording.
Two of the concertos here are recorded for the first time, but that is no surprise when there are 135 of them and only about fifty have been recorded. Tartini's violin concertos seemingly always follow the pattern of the outer movements being lively allegros with the second slow movement being lyrical, solemn, perhaps melancholy, and usualy aria like, often almost for solo violin.
I have to admit I had never heard Ms Daskalakis before now, but I find her a very accomplished performer ; the Cologne Chamber Orchestra has been Naxos's "house orchestra" for 18th century music for years, and they have many fine CDs to their credit. Together they perform with a certain grace and professionalism, the outer movements dance along nicely framing beautiful slow movements.
A year or so back Archiv released a wonderful CD with the title "Concerto Veneziano" with Giuliano Carmignola and Venice Baroque playing two late concertos by Vivaldi, and one each by Locatelli and Tartini, the Tartini was D96, the second concerto on the CD we are discussing here. Carmignola's is easily the best Tartini I have heard, Daskalakis is not too far behind.
If Carmignola is a five star performance, then this one should get less, 4.5, but one is not allowed half stars, 4 would be mean, so 5 it is.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bf7f030) out of 5 stars Great sound !!! March 10 2012
By zerosykess - Published on
Format: Audio CD
It really is mindblowing how great the sound is from Naxos cd's !!! The musicians, conductors, and sound production are continually first class !!

Tartini was the supreme violin virtuosic and consummate composer, adept and matchless in his skills! If you like Vivaldi you will really like Tartini, probably even more afterward, as Vivaldi music seems like a primer for Tartini.

When you decide to step up, look for Giovanni Guglielmo and the L'Arte Dell'Arco label recordings for all 135 of Tartini's violin concertos. They are not cheap, but they are the best.....if you are a classical music cognoscenti.

Good day !
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bf7f468) out of 5 stars THE VIOLIN CONCERTOS THAT ROCK~~~!!!! Dec 30 2013
By Michael A~~~~ - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
For me this is an obscure artist but I loved every minute of this disc that touched my soul deeply~~~!!!!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bf7f450) out of 5 stars Commendable Album June 12 2013
By Ryan O. - Published on
Verified Purchase
These select works by Tartini are excellent listening and make a great addition to anyone's collection. They where performed professionally and recorded with more than satisfactory quality.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bf7f918) out of 5 stars Five Stars Aug. 9 2014
By juan - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A unique selection of concerts. Magnificent