Violin Sonatas has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Violin Sonatas Import

Price: CDN$ 23.56 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 2 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
30 new from CDN$ 9.86 5 used from CDN$ 7.19

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 10 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Universal Music Group
  • ASIN: B00000INVO
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Son: I. Allegretto Ben Moderato
2. Son: II. Allegro
3. Son: III. Recitativo-Fant
4. Son: IV. Allegretto Poco Mosso
5. Son: I. Allegro Vivo
6. Son: II. Intermede: Fant Et Leger
7. Son: III. Finale: Tres Anime
8. Poeme, Op.25 - Kyung Wha Chung

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa2f60048) out of 5 stars 1 review
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3885e70) out of 5 stars Passion, intimacy, beauty, poetry Sept. 5 2009
By Passionate Eclectic_Collector - Published on
Format: Audio CD
César Franck's sonata was dedicated to the Belgian vioinist virtuoso Ysaÿe, who bequeathed us a handful of wonderful old recordings from the early 1900s. The sonata is innovative in its recurring themes across the movements, and has an intimate quality never really captured by the recordings I have heard from Russian violinists. Kyung Wha Chung and Radu Lupu are sublimely gifted and underrated musicians, who capture the essence with astonishing beauty and some passion, playing in perfect partnership. Both are oustanding virtuosi who deny that epithet, preferring to be more modestly remembered for the musicianly qualities of their music making. Well, that's OK with me, but I just wish their refreshingly uncynical talents were more widely appreciated.

They play the Debussy Sonata excellently, though I find this wonderful piece falls under the shadow of the more profound Franck.

The only reason to buy this disc, rather than the superior coupling with the Ravel Introduction and Allegro (with Ossian Ellis and the Melos Ensemble), must be because you want to hear the intensely poignant Chausson Poème. Kyung-Wha Chung plays the Poème wonderfully, with ravishing pathos, an excellent recording and my favourite (though I often listen to Milstein's recording). At the time of writing this, Chung's Chausson can otherwise be obtained coupled with her stunning best-ever performance of the Saint-Saens 3rd Violin Concerto.