Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Virtuoso Timpani Concertos

Peter , Dresden Philharmonic Co , Various Audio CD

Price: CDN$ 16.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Variazione; Allegro
4. Marche De Timballes
5. Moderato
6. Adagio
7. Allegretto
8. Allegro
9. Andante
10. Presto
11. Un Poco Allegro
12. Menuetto
13. Vivace
14. Largo E Piano
15. Menuetto
16. Bouree
17. Air; Andante
18. Gigue
19. Allegro Con Brio
20. Menuetto
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  4 reviews
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable music of an unusual sort. Oct. 22 2005
By D. Brott - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I purchased this CD on a whim because of the fun thought of hearing timpani as a solo instrument. You know, the sort of CD you anticipate listening to just once, except to share with others as a sort of joke?

But the CD has been a real delight with a lot of listenable music.

The opening and closing pieces are by Georg Druschetzky (apparently a famous timpanist of his time). Both are of a typical classical-period style with enjoyable melodies - especially the "Concerto per sei timpani", which even my fifteen year-old daughter agreed was "kinda catchy".

Of course the most fun comes during the various cadenzas (cadenzi?) throughout the CD, where you just grin at the whole idea. But again it comes off well.

My favorite tracks are #16 (Bouree), and #18 (Gigue), both of a baroque Sinfonia by a guy named Johann Chistroph Graupner. These are engaging dances by any standard. I found myself wondering if the Bouree was inspiration for some Wild West type Hollywood music? Surely this repertoire doesn't get out much -grin.

The orchestra, soloist, and recording all struck my ears of good quality as well. But the real joy was from hearing and enjoying a new ensemble. If that sort of thing excites you, you won't be disappointed by this CD.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual music that's kinda enjoyable Jan. 28 2010
By Gadgester - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
The timpani pieces presented on this CD belong more to the novelty works category than anything else. If you take out the timpani part, all sound like nameless classical music you may hear in an elevator or when put on hold. The timpani usually just double whatever the orchestra is playing. (No wonder Beethoven is credited as being the first guy who actually freed timpani from simply doubling or accomplanying and gave the instrument its own nondispensable role in orchestral works.)

The biggest problem with listening to this CD is, you can get tired pretty quickly from all that booming from the timpani. It's like all of a sudden you get a sinus congestion. So I'd advise listening to one work at a time, with plenty of break between the pieces.

The timpanist, A. Peter, does a very fine job, but the Dresden chamber orchestra feels disinterested and bored most of the time. Of course, I probably can't really blame the musicians because, for the most part, the music is pretty boring. The virtuoso timpani passages add colors and excitement, but at the end of the day, this is something I can't fall in love with.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual music June 5 2013
By Harry E. Graham - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful disc. Very, very unusual music. We were at the Cleveland Orchestra and they performed the Fisher. Thus, we wanted a recording. There is 75 minutes of baroque music on this disc, featuring timpani. If you like baroque music you should consider purchasing this record.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual recording - Nov. 28 2011
By nonstopjoe - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
but, rather, a well-done and entertaining CD which is good listening while reading a book. It'll likely not replicate anything in your musical library.

Look for similar items by category